We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful spot”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Enjoy spectacular views from the garden Kitchen of the Old Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Enjoy spectacular views from the garden
Kitchen of the Old Barn
Enjoy the views from the sunny terrace
Sitting area of the Old Barn
Your 'Back Yard'
Enjoy breakfast on the terrace
Fresh eggs for breakfast
Surrounding gardens
Help yourself to our veggie plot
Lots of fresh tomatoes in summer time from the veggie patch
Garden views
Views from the cottage
Surrounding gardens at the property
Summer in the garden
Views from the cottage
Plenty of fresh herbs and veggies to pick
Pick your own fruit
Enjoy some local cheese with our home made cherry chutney
More from our veggie garden
Famous medieval town of Sarlat, a short drive away
River nearby
Nearby Roque Gageac
Nearby flea market
River views
Local market in our village
Fabulous fresh produce every Sunday in the village
The cheeseman at our local market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
veedee36
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Did not live up to its web site blurb!”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Though pretty to look at from the outside these premises did not live up to their internet hype. The owners seemed distracted by the new premises they are building in another village nearby.We stayed 3 weeks, it was a test of my culinary skills to produce a meal with the lack of kitchen equipment provided.The kitchen badly needs re-organising, there are no cupboards or shelves only a bookcase,, the kitchen equipment has seen better days, i.e one saucepan with lid, 2 others without, & 4 worn frying pans. There were 2 large ceramic baking dishes, far too large for the microwave and no other dishes to use in the microwave.A good washer (no instruction book) but nowhere to dry clothes.No wardrobe or drawers in bedroom,only a hanging rack, change of linen had to be requested several times & then some of it was not ironed I could write a book.Our expectations were high because of their advertising, it just didnt happen. No herbs or veggies from the garden, the friendly hens reduced to 2, who appeared not to be laying. Can opener didnt work, knife would not cut bread, need I go on?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly dog
Liked least: Tiny shower with clinging curtain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Hello. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. I am sure the weather didn't help, as it rained pretty much every day that you were here, which is very unusual for this part of the world in spring. I would like to clarify the points you raised in your review.
Our kitchens are designed to enable guests to prepare simple meals during their stay. There are 4 shelves and a separate work top with a further 2 shelves. The kitchen is equipped with a 4 ring gas hob, a microwave, fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. There is a 3 pan Ikea set and a larger pan that previous guests had requested for boiling pasta etc. There are various plastic bowls to be used in the microwave. The larger bowls you mentioned are serving bowls, not designed to fit in a microwave.
If you had let us know you were having difficulty using the washing machine, we would have been happy to explain it to you. Previous guests had never raised this as a problem, so we did not think an instruction booklet was necessary, I will be including that in the house book from now on. We feel that the clothes maiden you used to dry your clothes on during your stay is sufficient, it is large enough to hang a full load of washing on. A washing line would only block the fabulous view from both terraces.
The bedroom has 2 large shelves for storing clothes and a large hanging rack with hangers. Clean linen is provided every week, as detailed in our house book, all linen except towels and fitted bottom sheet are ironed.
The weather this year has been unusually wet, so my veggie patch is a lot slower to start than normal, unfortunately this is out of my control. As our hens have free reign of the garden for a lot of the year, they may lay their eggs outside of the coop. If you had let us know you couldn’t find any eggs, we would have been happy to fetch you some. The same applies to any kitchen equipment that you were not happy with. If a problem is pointed out to us we are more than happy to replace or repair anything straight away. But we can only do this if you communicate a problem to us during your stay. The inaccuracies aside, I do feel that your review is very unfair. Not once during your time with us did you ask for help with anything or let us know that you were not happy with any of the facilities. As you can see from our other reviews and the fact that so many of our guests chose to return to us year after year, we are always on hand to help and offer our guests advice and support when asked.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Thank you for writing about your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the peace and quiet. Thanks again. Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Teresa T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Old Barn”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Old Barn is perfect for two people, very clean and well presented with everything you may need. We received a lovely welcome of wine, homegrown tomatoes, homemade vinegar and eggs from the chickens. It is in a great location, peaceful, lovely views, it feels away from it all but is actually within walking distance of the village and there is so much to see and do on a short drive, only 4kms away are Rouffignac Caves, a slightly longer drive, 40 minutes or so will take you to Sarlat and surrounding area. Steve and Karen thoughtfully left books and information on the local area which was very helpful, Steve also gave us some useful tips on kayaking on the Vezere River and French wine, both of which were very enjoyable! Last but not least we had a lovely daily visit from Monty their puppy. A lovely holiday in a beautiful part of France and an ideal place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for writing about your stay with us this summer. You packed a lot into your week, there is so much to see and do in the area, you did well for a week !! We are happy to know you enjoyed the fruits of our garden too and eggs from our lovely ladies. Thanks again. Warmest wishes Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iDecimus
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Delighted again”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

"We recommend this pretty cottage to anyone needing tranquillity, relaxation and access to the services of a nearby village Rouffignac St-Cernin. The owners Karen and Steve always present it in spotless condition and it is well equipped. The views of the surrounding farmland and chateau take you a million miles away from your normal life. From the value aspect, the cottage ranks well for us.

After our third visit in four years we can honestly say that it is our preferred first stop in France. Proximity to the many beautiful areas in the Dordogne make this cottage a must for us. Many facilities are within walking distance. The area is very safe and the people welcoming.

We recommend the cottage to singles/couples looking to get away from busy places."

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for writing about your THIRD stay with us. That alone is such great feedback for us. We love that you get where we live and appreciate it in the same way we do. Even after all this time living here, I never tire of the views and the surrounding area. Its a pleasure to host you guys and share our world with you. We'll see you again soon we hope. K&S
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet W
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great base for a solo traveller or couple.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This rural property is down a country lane about a mile/ walking distance of the small town with all you need. It is compact but perfect as a place to unwind and enjoy the lovely scenery or to explore the region. A vehicle is essential. The wifi is much improved so stable and reliable.
The hosts live on site, are friendly but not intrusive. They have a wealth of information on the area and happy to help with any queries you may have. There is a folder in the property full of leaflets on local tourist destinations if you like to plan your trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good price and location for a solo traveller.
Liked least: The shower room is tiny but perfectly functional with plenty of hot water.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for writing about your stay. Over the years we have tried various ways to get the wifi working as well as possible and this year I think we finally nailed it, with a new and very good booster system. This means both cottages have good signal strength all the time now, even outside on the terraces too. We know this is important for guests. I would agree, a car is an important part of the trip, although there are lots of lovely walks and rambles in our close vicinity, to get the very most out of a trip to the Dordogne a car is a must. Thanks again. Kindest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing