We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“another great holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Cottage

Bedroom with American King Sized Bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with American King Sized Bed
Kitchen and Living Area Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Bedroom with American King Sized Bed
Kitchen and Living Area
Dining Area
Glass Of Wine On The Terrace
Your 'Back Yard'
Enjoying the View With A Good Book
Winter Views
Fresh eggs for breakfast
Splashing about in the pool
Enjoy breakfast on your terrace
Nearby Roque Gageac
PYO from our veggie plot
Nearby river views
Garden views
Fresh tomatoes from the veggie patch in summer
Summer in the garden
Pick your own fruit
More from the veggie garden
Lots of fresh herbs and veggies for you to pick
Views from the cottage
Enjoy some of the local cheese with our homemade cherry chutney
Fresh produce at our village markets every Sunday
The cheese man at our Sunday market
Nearby river views
A local flea market in summer
Famous medieval town of Sarlat, a short drive away.
More from our Sunday market
Garden surrounding the property
Garden surrounding the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
den-welfo...
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“another great holiday”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have had a great holiday and rest (just what we needed) Like you both we are always busy at home. This is a great location and we did around and visit many other places we didn't get to last year. Tillys jam is great well worth trying and we are ooking forward to trying the sweet chili sauce. We hope she can raise enough for her trip. Good luck with the barn conversion in Plazac. Hope to see you all again soon. Mary and Dennis

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
2 reviews
“A relaxing stay in the heart of the Dordogne”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just come back from a holiday at Sunset Cottage, this is my second trip, I was here last year too. As a keen cyclist the area is perfect, lots of great bike routes. The cottage is well situated for exploring the area. It is exactly as described and has everything one would need for a week or two. I also enjoyed a lovely Thai meal prepared by Karen, I understand she will be offering this service to future guests, so I can certainly recommend this.

The cottage is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a good value for money base to explore the Dordogne. I will be back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the cyclingheart of the Dordogne
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. So many lovely places which have been mentioned before. We thoroughly enjoyed the canoeing. The cottage was wonderful with a lovely large bedroom. We will miss the peace and quiet and of course the beautiful sunsets. And of course Monty - such a character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet & the view.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you Martin for writing about your stay. It means a lot to us that you took the time to leave a review. Its always lovely to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves, had a chance to relax and unwind, enjoying the location and all that the Dordogne has to offer. I know that you said you hoped to return for another visit in the future. So hopefully we'll see you both again some time soon. Thanks again. Kindest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörn K
1 review
“tiny romantic retreat”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Hi Steve, hi Karen, thanks for letting us stay at your place in Rouffignac. It was a pleasure to have gorgeous sunsets for free every night, to watch the cattle and to pick some tomatoes from the garden. Thanks for all the tips we got for Perigord noir. The place just fitted to a couple like us. Give Monty, your lovely retriever, a big hug.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you Jorn for writing about your stay. I know Monty missed you when you left, he loved his playtime with you. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your 2 weeks with us, 1 week in one cottage, 1 week in the other. And its lovely to know that you enjoyed the Perigord too. Thanks again for taking the time to write about your holiday. Warmest wishes from France.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arniboy
lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What can we say. When we arrived you are totaly blown away by the location. WOW. Then a little later the cracks start to appear. Shall we begin with the access the only way to get to the cottage was across a grassed area that at the time of our visit was covered in all the rotting plumbs that had fallen of the tree that stood by the door. They make realy nice jam if you collect them. It was not posssible to leave you sticky shoes on the threshold because Steve did warn us that their fantastic dog Monty collected shoes and left them in the local cow field ( we discovered that he did the same with washing to). Hows about investing a little time with a spade and some gravel?
Ah the bathroom door, would not shut because Steve had used MDF as the door frame and it had soaked up the over spill from the shower??? Hope you didn't blame us for breaking it (see other 1 star review.
Now what do you use a Dresser for in a kitchen, let me think? Ah yes storing kitchen utensils and crockery. Oh not you don't you use it for storing huge piles of tourist brochures. In some cases 3 or more duplicates. The crockery and utensils you store on open shelves where the numerous flies (Remember the cow field) Walk all over them, making it essential that you wash everything before you cook or eat.
Remember the flies those were the ones that hadn't been trapped in the numerous spiders webs dotted around the property.
Now to the bed room,I have to say the bed left me speechless, or rather the mattress. THE SMELL. Clearly the mattress has never had a protector fitted and has never been renewed on a seasonal basis. I woke up in the middle of the night thinking that I was sleeeping in a Tramps bed. In 30 years of traveling the world and sleeping in countless hotel beds I have never come across any thing less hygenic and more disturbing.
We turned the mattress ourselves after the first night, so you might want to turn it back and put your nose to it Steve.
Oh Steve where we were brought up we were taught the it was bad manners to interupt people when they were eating a meal, having said that thank you for finding and passing back the keys we lost.
Oh when a dvd player breaks go and buy another one you don't ask your other guest to give you the one out of their room.
Guys you have brilliant location but you need to keep the investment in time and money up.
In short lovely location poor maintenance,professionalism and cleanliness.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Gosh, where to start? I think maybe you would have been happier on a city break. To clarify, this is the countryside, yes we do have fruit trees and lots of grass, and yes the fruit does fall off and land in the grass too. Yes there are a few flies and the odd spider (of course we remove them every week but they will always come back). The kitchen is designed to be a French country kitchen, open shelves and old dressers, most people think it’s quaint. (It is clearly photographed in our advert too)
I’m sorry that the tourist brochures were in your way, we leave them in the cottage as people on holiday generally like to look at places of interest in the area.
I must apologise too for disturbing you to hand back the keys that you had dropped in the garden, we thought you might be worried where you had left them and want them back ASAP.
We have now replaced the faulty DVD but in an emergency, if one set of guests are not planning on using theirs that night and the others are waiting to settle down to a watch movie, it seems the most sensible thing to do in the short term. (I suspect you would have had more to say if we had not managed to find a replacement for you at 7 o’clock in the evening).
I will of course check the mattress protector (there is one on the bed) as it may need freshening up, thank you for pointing this out, it’s an easy fix and will be addressed ASAP. But mattress aside, to summarise your review, it seems you were not happy with grass, fruit trees, tourist brochures, the odd spider/fly, the fact that we returned your keys to you at the wrong time and that we replaced the DVD player on the spot for you.
As owners we are advised to keep our responses professional, but the points you have raised are making that quite a challenge this time. (Grass and fruit, really ??) So to any future guests reading this, I can only apologise if I don’t sound 100% professional this time. As hosts we are always happy to listen to any feedback guests may have and when we can, try and improve our service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing