We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle Searle Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle
Searle Lounge
Searle kitchen
Dine in Style
The Searle's stylish Bedroom
Lots of Space
Drift from bed to garden on warm summer days!
Rhayader: market town and gateway to the Elan Valley
Mountain Bike Centre, Rhayader
Penycareg dam after rain
The beauty of Penycarreg Lake
Castle Mound, Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Sledging in the Park
Rhayader by Nature
Waterfall in Rhayader
The splendour of autumn in the Elan Valley
Carreg Du Reservoir
Canoe on the Wye in Rhayader
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely short break in The Searle in October. Everything about this cottage is superb. Although we arrived early Elaine was with us within 5 minutes to welcome us and show us around the cottage. The tour guides and information books were extremely useful, and the welcome tray with tea, coffee, milk, welsh cakes and wine was very much appreciated and enjoyed.

Everything in the cottage is as described on the website and it has been sympathetically converted to a very high standard. We loved the split level with the steps from the kitchen to the lounge and the bed has to be the most comfortable we have ever slept in on holiday.

We visited the Elan Valley dams, Llyn Clewedog (via the scenic road), Llyn Brianne (the 4 in 1 S-bend was an experience), and Devil's Bridge where we ate in the little tea room next to the car park. The menu here is a bit limited but the food and service we had was excellent. Our last visit was to the Gigrin Farm Red Kite Centre at feeding time. What a spectacle!! This had to be the highlight of our holiday.

We loved everything about The Searle, from Elaine's warm welcome, the excellent standard of amenities and comfort in the cottage. it's location and the added advantages of a café with excellent food and a well-stocked mini-market close by.

Definitely the best cottage we have ever stayed in - we will be back, hopefully for longer next time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property is perfect
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Searle Cottage. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always very gratifying to get such positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1davie1
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious Mid-Wales Cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What a sublime cottage this is.
We were met by the owner Elaine who made us very welcome and showed us round.
The welcome tray was much appreciated with tea, coffee, milk in the fridge, some welsh cakes and even a bottle of Merlot wine.
The information provided covered everything from all appliance instructions, walks, drives, doctors, vets etc. etc.
The decor and furnishings were all to a very high standard.
We can throughly recommend this property and have since booked another week in December.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our Searle cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the welcome tray. Thank you too for your positive comments - much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thingbat
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay amongst the hills and valleys of Wales”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are still holidaying as I write this review. We surely don't want to go home. The cottage is set beneath beautiful rolling hills. You don't have to go far to be in the most beautiful countryside. There's so much beauty around you haven't got enough time to visit it all. The Elan valley is beautiful. We played golf at Llandrindod Wells and the views were spectacular. The drive on the B4560 through the brecon beacons especially from Bwlch to Merthyr Tydfil is absolutely spectacular and is voted one of the top 10 drives in the world by national geographic. Come and stay here the cottage is absolutely lovely and the owner extremely welcoming. You wont be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Searle cottage and for posting such positive comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found much to see and do. We really do live in such a beautiful place and enjoy sharing it with our guests.

Very best wishes

Elaine
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Cars...
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Retreats Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This Cottage was superb, We had a really lovely break there and the warmest welcome that we have had from any place that we have stayed which says a lot. The cottage has everything you need and we did not feel short of anything. There is a very well stocked shop at the side and cafe /restaurant. We had some good walks from the door so the car did not have to move. There are three steps from the kitchen to the lounge which were not a problem till after the nine mile walk we did then they tested the back of our calves but that is not a problem just a laugh . We highly recommend this cottage and will be doing to all our friends and Family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Searle Cottage and pleased also that you were able to do nice walks without using the car. We are very lucky to live where we do and get pleasure from sharing it with our guests.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for making such positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style, comfort , facilities.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Searle cottage and for giving such positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes - there are some lovely walks and we are lucky to have them close by - especially the one to the rear which leads directly to the banks of the Wye.

We very much look forward to seeing you again at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing