We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Retreats Heaven on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle Searle Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Searle Lounge is cosy yet spacious with dining for four.
Vulcan Lodge - Searle
Searle Lounge
Searle kitchen
Dine in Style
The Searle's stylish Bedroom
Lots of Space
Drift from bed to garden on warm summer days!
Rhayader: market town and gateway to the Elan Valley
Mountain Bike Centre, Rhayader
Penycareg dam after rain
The beauty of Penycarreg Lake
Castle Mound, Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Sledging in the Park
Rhayader by Nature
Waterfall in Rhayader
The splendour of autumn in the Elan Valley
Carreg Du Reservoir
Canoe on the Wye in Rhayader
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeanCarso...
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Retreats Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This Cottage was superb, We had a really lovely break there and the warmest welcome that we have had from any place that we have stayed which says a lot. The cottage has everything you need and we did not feel short of anything. There is a very well stocked shop at the side and cafe /restaurant. We had some good walks from the door so the car did not have to move. There are three steps from the kitchen to the lounge which were not a problem till after the nine mile walk we did then they tested the back of our calves but that is not a problem just a laugh . We highly recommend this cottage and will be doing to all our friends and Family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Searle Cottage and pleased also that you were able to do nice walks without using the car. We are very lucky to live where we do and get pleasure from sharing it with our guests.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for making such positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style, comfort , facilities.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Searle cottage and for giving such positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes - there are some lovely walks and we are lucky to have them close by - especially the one to the rear which leads directly to the banks of the Wye.

We very much look forward to seeing you again at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NeilBaker
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Cottage next to the River!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Great cosy cottage with everything you need for a self catering stay. First class here with little extras like welsh cakes, wine and milk - nice touch! Great for our dog too. Will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy Atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing Really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a positive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Searle. We are only in our second year of trading so feedback from customers is a very useful tool for evaluating our service and facilities. The Searle is a very popular cottage due I think to its unusual design, space and cosiness. I look forward to seeing you again at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBush
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An Amazing Beautiful venue”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at the Searle Cottage, and it was amazing, the hospitality shown by the owner Elaine and staff was incredible, everything was very nice and it was like a home for home but much better. The living area is very smart, attractive and comfortable, with a very powerful and lovely shower, and The Best nights sleep we have had in so long.

They provided a cot, as we travelled as a family (2 adults and 2 infants under 1). This cottage and the venue is beautiful, we would fully recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review; thank you too for your positive and encouraging comments - they are much appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay but are sorry that your new baby was unwell. I do hope recovery was swift once you returned home. Perhaps we may see you again some time in the future. Good luck with your studies!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so comfortable
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Searle. We very much appreciate the positive comments you have made. Yes - we really are lucky to have the river so close by which is very useful for the early morning dog walk! I'm glad you felt the shop, post office and café nearby to be of benefit. Guests find it especially useful for their morning paper and odds and ends they may have forgotten to bring with them. We very much look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.

Best wishes

Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing