We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Campagna Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Filomena

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the house which has the sun most of the day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
The front of the house which has the sun most of the day.
View from the living room through the French window onto the patio and to the pool.
The main bedroom
The original part of the house, cool and quiet.
En-suite
House bathroom
A cool and quiet nook
The covered terrace
Aperitivi at sundown. Salute!!
The pool at night.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Michele Salentino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roisin F
Ronda, Spain
2 reviews
“Campagna Stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Really lovely villa. Great to have pool and air-con.
Very good location for all nearby sights. Lucy and Ian very helpful.
Only downside were mosquitoes and garden rotovation day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2018
Sadly we can't control the mosquitoes, these are a problem all around the Mediterranean area, we did provide citronella candles and advised on using anti insect sprays.

The rotovation was a one-off event, usually this takes place in June, before our holiday lets season. We did provide the contractor who did the rotovation with a key for the gate but he didn't use it and instead woke you up early to gain admission to the land. We will not be using him again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thephanto...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-located villa with fabulous pool, facilities and grounds.”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a 2-week stay at Villa Filomena. The house is bigger than we thought from the photos. I went with my wife, my two children (7 & 5) and my wife's parents. All the bedrooms are a great size with air-conditioning and full black-out shutters. The master bedroom has a dressing room & en-suite and the other two bedrooms share a nice big family bathroom with a washing machine. The kitchen rooms are really nice and big too and we had everything we needed for the self-catering meals. We used the Weber Gas BBQ loads and only ever ate outside as the temperature was so nice. The pool area is fabulous and the pool is a great size and a lovely temperature. We spent every other day, all day, by the pool on the sun-loungers (able to escape under the parasol or pergola for shade if needed). I needed to work for some of the time so the wifi was a great help (and a decent connection too). We never used it, but there is a large flat-screen TV and DVD player for those that night want it. The almonds and figs from the trees in the garden were delicious too and we received a lovely welcome pack including bread, wine, olive oil etc. There is a folder with loads of information on places to visit, best beaches, best restaurants etc. There are plenty of places to eat in the local town which is a 25 minute walk or 5 minute drive. The people who manage the check-in and check-out were really nice and helpful and we would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a holiday in sunny Puglia!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gradahels...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a wonderful break for 3 weeks joined by two single friends it was just perfect”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

VILLA FILOMENA San Michele Salentino Puglia

Villa Filomena provides the perfect base to explore Puglia and the beautiful heal of Italy. Set in over two acres of olive groves, almond trees and gardens. This property of character is spacious, very well appointed, picturesque and a comfortable home. Particularly impressive is the large secluded swimming pool and terrace which helps make the villa an ideal place where one can “chill out” if sightseeing is not so high on the agenda.

The villa is within 5 minutes drive of the little rural town of San Michele Salentino where one can find a host of local shops and restaurants. Within an hours drive one can encompass a wide range of pretty villages, towns and places of historical interest and of course the beautiful Adriatic coast line.

Villa Filomena is a holiday home that more than meets the expectations gained from the descriptions given by the friendly owners Neil and Maria.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry B
Saint Brice Sous Foret, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You'll love Villa Filomena !!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Filomena is well located in the center of Puglia. It's easy to reach the Adriatic or Mediterranean seas, the caverns of the north or the south coast.
The villa is well equipped for 6 people with large rooms, modern bathrooms, very good bedding, modern kitchen, nice terrace and a lovely multicolor swimming pool.
It's a peaceful place to rest and the villa manager is very nice and available.
The owner is very well organized and keep the contact from the booking up to the end of the vacation.
Really a lovely place to be recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the multicolor swiming pool !
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments Thierry. It's great to know that we have got it right, especially with the swimming pool!! Villa Filomena is very peaceful but still close enough to town and other major tourist favourites for you to enjoy both peace and quiet and a bit of hustle and bustle if you want it. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely well-equipped villa with beautiful pool in Puglia southern Italy”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderful two week holiday at villa Filomena in July 2016. We were a family group of five spanning late teenager through to recent retiree. All of us had an excellent holiday. The villa is newly updated and the west-facing pool is lovely, secluded and set amongst olive trees. It is large enough to allow swimming of lengths as well as for relaxing and cooling off. We used the veranda for all our meals and cooked on the BBQ a few times. The villa is situated in a quiet residential area and is very well equipped. The kitchen and utility areas are large rooms as is the living room with its smart TV and DVD player. The WIFI was fine but as you would expect for rural Italy not as fast as we are used to in the UK. The ensuite and family bathroom are new with modern fitted shower units. We appreciated the air-conditioning units in all three bedrooms as well as in the living room as some nights were particularly hot. The villa feels safe with a modern monitored alarm and electronic gates. Maria, the owner, could not have been more helpful and provided a lot of useful information so that we made the most of our stay. Andrea provided local support, greeted us when we arrived and helpfully showed us around the villa. The shops in San Michele were fine for all daily food needs and are just a few minutes drive away. We enjoyed some lovely days sightseeing and eating out in this beautiful region of Italy. We all came away thinking that we would want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing