We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded tropical paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kudat, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rich B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Secluded tropical paradise”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just a three hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Kota Kinabalu lies this secluded and utterly enchanting holiday escape. We spent a fantastic weekend enjoying the peace and quiet of this tucked away corner of Borneo. We had the beach to ourselves and the South China Seascapes viewed from our private balcony were breathtaking. James, the owner, had sent us excellent directions and on arrival we were greeted by Jetol, the helpful and engaging local manager. The chalet itself is beautiful. It's very well appointed and tastefully designed. We chose to order a takeaway meal on our first evening which Peter, our friendly night watchman, collected for us and we had a couple of beers and ate at one of the beach restaurants a short drive away the following night. The Hibiscus Beach Retreat offers the perfect base for relaxing and for exploring the beautiful, undeveloped Tip of Borneo. Snorkelling, paddle boarding and cycling can all be enjoyed direct from the chalet. We loved it so much that within a day of returning home, we booked ourselves a longer stay in the Christmas holidays. Hibiscus Beach Retreat will be the highlight of many a holiday and our stay was no exception.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: We were happy with every aspect of our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place ”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had an absolutely amazing weekend stay at the Hibiscus Villa. Very relaxing setting with essentially a stunning private beach and beautiful villa to stay in! The staff were very friendly and helpful with and queries or requests we had. Would highly recommend a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The most amazing beach Holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wow what an amazing place to stay. Jetol was such a great host and answered all our questions and gave us so many ideas about what to see and do in the local area.
The beach is all yours except for some local fishermen and some friendly dogs. The surf is warm and fun! There's a great little cafe one beach south called The Secret Place Cafe. We had a beach BBQ under the stars with Roby, Lilly and their 7 children. Make sure you visit and support the locals!!
The hut has all you will need - espresso machine, books, board games, stocked fridge, mosquito net and a comfy bed. James was great to deal with and provides accurate directions from KK. I'll be back for sure.
Thanks again Jetol!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private beach!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldunne87
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect honeymoon spot”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Review for James

The directions were easy to follow and Jetol was waiting for us when we got there making it all very simple. The initial view as you come out of the bush to the house and the beach was breath-taking. James's team supplied everything we needed so all that there was to do on the first day was pack and order food from Tip Top Restaurant which was kindly delivered. The beach is stunning and the sunsets unworldly. We stayed 11 nights and spent our days swimming, snorkelling the reef, sunbathing and reading books. It was hot. We did take a few excursions to the nearby attractions but this beach in itself is the best attraction and you barely ever have to share it with anyone. Strongly recommend this house - we came for our honeymoon and it was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. You have to see it.
Liked least: At the end of our stay we had to leave and return to the real world and dumb stuff like work.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timkony
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection in Paradise”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Absolutely stunning. Every wish catered for. Spectacular sunsets. Very friendly staff and locals.
Be nice to Jetol & ask him to take you on the mangrove tour. His local knowledge & very friendly, helpful personality made the break that much more special.
Various types of wildlife, we saw a pair of kingfishers several time a day, some sort of eagle, several squirrels (including some black ones), and what may have been otters.
Heard monkeys nearby. Saw a wild orang utan on the drive to Sepilok!
We are going back, just as soon as we can save up ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything ;-)
Liked least: nothing ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing