We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lilliesleaf, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

this was our third trip to Dimpleknowe, again idyllic views from the lounge window even when covered with snow. The cottage was a bit chilly at first but nothing that wasn't overcome with the open fire roaring. would recommend this to anyone who enjoys country pursuits or even just relaxing in quiet countryside. Jane is an ideal landlady, and will do anything to make your stay a happy and pleasant experiance.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin g
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So, so. Good for wildlife. Pricey to heat”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage is quiet and calm, most things work, and there are certainly lots of birds and animals. If you like short walks, the golf course is very good (although if I were a golfer I might see it differently). The pictures clearly show the golf course from the rear windows but there's nothing to be seen anymore, just a large unkempt hedge entirely obscuring everything. A great disappointment. There is not a lot to see nearby. It is pleasant enough but if I have to drive only 20mins, or only 60mins and so on, I could stay anywhere.

Is it comfortable? It's OK but a little grubby in places with some cracked kitchenware. An OS map of the area would not go amiss, nor a (lounge) table big enough to put it on, nor a welcome pack on any table. Only one bedroom gets any sunlight and although there are technically 2 washbasins, they are best for Lilliputians.

But over and above all this, once the sun goes in and summer ends, it is oh so cold. What passes for heating is a selection of primitive convector (not storage) heaters, and each and every minute is chargeable. So light the fire, great. After an evening, there's no logs or coal but the owner will sell you more. There are trees just everywhere so where is the logstore? The headline rate of this cottage is average, wifi included, but it will cost you a fortune if you like it warm when it's chilly outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Golf course to wander on
Liked least: Primitive heating, almost all chargeable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to address some of your points of concern.

Due to the winter of 2013/14 being exceptionally wet, it was not possible for our contractor to cut back the hedge. Also, due to bio-diversity and environmental impact on wildlife etc. we are prevented from cutting the hedge back during the spring/summer season. The hedge has now been cut back to the level you see in the featured photographs.

Dimpleknowe is set in a quiet, peaceful rural location surrounded by farmland within easy reach of several historical Border towns with various outdoor activities and historical/cultural attractions nearby. The previous comments from our visitors indicate that they are very happy with our location and the surrounding area with plenty to see and do. We do feature a green file/welcome pack in the cottage detailing several local attractions and activities which also includes an OS map. Both the coffee table and the extending kitchen table both allow room to view maps. We are unsure as to how you did not notice the file in the cottage, but do sincerely wish that you had requested further information if you felt you did not have sufficient details of the local area.

No other guests either side of your visit had any issues with any of the kitchenware or cleanliness. We have inspected the kitchen and cannot myself find any cracked kitchenware. Again, it would have been very helpful if you had brought this to our attention and we would have remedied any issues.

The washbasins have always proved satisfactory for all other guests. The en-suite washbasin is compact but is adequately functional for most requirements.

The heating is dated but very effective and provides thermostatically controlled instant heat and can be timed. Whilst these are not necessarily the most economical of heating systems, we find them highly flexible and efficient in heating the cottage. We are currently looking into updating the heaters to a more economical system.

Again, we thank you for your visit and your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clegan1go...
Blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“super cottage,clean,quiet”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very good cottage,very clean,everything you could possibly need,quiet,wi-fi very useful,Jane very pleasant,dog enjoyed freedom to roam on golf course,bird table very interesting,woodpecker,chaffinch,and large variety of other birds,within easy reach of Selkirk,Hawick,Jedburgh,Kelso.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another superb break at Dimpleknowe”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our third stay at Dimpleknowe and the cottage was as comfortable and inviting as ever with everything needed for a relaxing break . Ideally located with access to Hawick or Selkirk within a matter of minutes (and Edinburgh within the hour) and yet a real "get away from it all" feel. So much to do and see for those with an interest in the history and/or culture of the Borders. Excellent holiday accommodation for our family ranging in age from 9 to 86, together with a young dog for whom exercise on the adjacent golf course was a godsend. I am sure that we shall be back again before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location, very comfortable, fully equiped, and in good order! Perfect for families with dogs, quiet and relaxing with beautiful views! 10 minutes from nearest town( Hawick) with plenty of good bars/restaraunts, centrally located for further exploration of border towns nowhere longer than an hours drive with plenty of historic sites to visit. All in all thoroughly recommended 5 stars all round.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing