We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 564
USD 413
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Hotel(Newport)
USD 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 115
USD 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Inn Hotel(Newport)
USD 118
USD 98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
304
206
88
30
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
206
88
30
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeat and fishlamb shankmain buildingscallopsroman ruinspateone way systemon displaysunday lunchcrevettesmain coursetwo coursesbooked a tablecar parkstaff were attentivelovely atmospherethe blue room
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I just wrote a review (son’s 21st celebratory meal) and think I forgot to apply a star rating, so here it is!

We finally got together having booked earlier in the month, only to have to cancel, as our son and daughter couldn’t travel back, due to the snow.

We love it here, the service is always friendly and efficient and the staff are kindly. The choice of food and drink is wide enough for anybody, which all told, makes it value for money.

Always helpful too, when they order a taxi for you, as it always comes swiftly.

Great stuff, thank you.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank markprice2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend. We had a fantastic stay. Absolutely everything from the hotel, the staff & the surroundings werr great. The building is historic and has been converted brilliantly. The staff were fantastic. It was a busy weekend, the bar staff worked through it with no problems & always had a smile on their face. The food was great. As a manager myself & my husband a chef, being here was just lovely. Everything ran smoothly from the service provided to fresh products & ingredients. My husband & I are thinking of leaving a large city. Not only would we return to visit but also a great place to work.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank welshceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely evening in a great place. Starters were the chorizo & I had mussels, both really nice. We both then went for fish, hake & black bream. Black bream was delicious, oven baked in salt then filleted in front of me, had it with new potatoes & Mediterranean roasted veg, outstanding! The staff were all helpful & attentive. Can't wait to go back!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I loved my stay here. Peaceful location, beautiful furniture in the room, soft mattress, a 'real' key! Loved the character and age of the place. Lovely colours throughout. Although the menu is geared towards meat and fish eaters, I had a tasty vegetarian meal, in the restaurant, in the evening. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. The whole place has a romantic feel, and I shall be returning when I get the opportunity:).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed here for one night in March. Upon check in we were upgraded to a suite up the main staircase from the restaurant. The room was lovely with great views over the gardens and then open countryside. The restaurant looked great but we didn't eat there as we already had plans. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erylthinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews