We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Santon Cottages

View to the rear of the fells including great gable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the rear of the fells including great gable
Living room with ample seating, log burner and sat tv
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
View to the rear of the fells including great gable
Living room with ample seating, log burner and sat tv
Large kitchen with lovely views
Kitchen leading to the dinning room
view from the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santon Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is beautiful and had everything needed. The owners left some lovely little touches (Cava/ biscuits) perfect for children - we had a curious two year old with us, garden is fully secure and baby gate on the stairs. Ideal for larger parties 4/6. Open plan dining and kitchen that has wonderful views.

Lovely cosy lounge with log burner and a great selection of books and games for evenings in.

Beds were lovely and comfy, a great couple of nights sleep was had by all of us.

Perfect location for Ravenglass, Eskdale Railway, Muncaster Caslte and owl sanctuary, Wastwater, Scafell Pike and Stanley Ghyll force.

Great for families, couples, young children, walking parties, cyclists. We will definitely rebooking in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passenger...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable with lovely views”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location: quiet, easy access to western Lakes, good pub nearby, and beautiful views in all directions. Also very clean and comfortable with all the mod-cons one could wish for. We had a wonderful stay and the weather was good, too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra D
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Owner cancelled our booking one month before rental”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this property three months prior to our holiday for a family of six, plus a dog. We paid the deposit and David O'Grady confirmed our booking very promptly. On the appointed date, our credit card was charged in full for the balance, the owner confirmed receipt and wished us a happy holiday. One week later I was emailed late in the evening, exactly one month prior to our departure for the summer holidays, to tell us the owner has cancelled our booking due to double-booking. We await a full refund. Never have we been so let down in many years of private reservations, unceremoniously dumped, and with little hope of finding anything else. These sites run on trust and integrity; if you value these, please consider alternative accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
crazyfors...
indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in the perfect location”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

One Santon cottages is a spacious, clean, fully stocked house that is in a great location in the Lake District. We stayed there for four days over Easter. We were a party of six, my parents, my husband and I, and our children. We particularly liked that the house has everything that you need, with many extras that the owner provides. This included a fully stocked kitchen with every cooking implement you could need, a bookshelf with many games, books and DVDs, and a fully stocked wood fireplace. We also really appreciated the location of the cottage. It is a five minute drive away from the Bridge Inn, where we ate an excellent and very reasonably priced dinner two nights. It is also very close to Scafell Pike and spectacular hiking. And it is very close to the seaside, where we spent an afternoon exploring the beach at low tide. We really liked that it is not as crowded and "touristy" as Windermere and the east side of the Lake District.

David is a pleasure to deal with. He responds quickly and gave us information that we needed without being intrusive. We would highly recommend this house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing