We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
113
91
33
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
91
33
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig johnsouth wingdetox programjohn's restaurantbackground musiccomfortable roomspersonal trainingfamily rooma lovely stayorder foodget away from it allfree kayaksstray dogsbreakfast was includedquiet locationhutsea
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

On a 8 week tour in Thailand the Lipa Lovely was the only accomodation which wasn't a four or five star rating however out of all the places it's the one I reflect on most warmly. It's a very pretty underdeveloped part of the island which was why I sought it out. The European hosts are friendly, practical & helpful & all the staff serving in the bar restaurant were enthusiastic to please. The bar restaurant really does justice to its beachside location, it's casual in appearance but the food is wonderful. Whilst I love Thai food eventually the European palate hackers for something else & the menu here catered for that with the addition of Tapas plates & reasonably priced wine alongside traditional Thai food & local beers. Breakfast has buffet style with particularly lovely homemade jams, good coffee & a selection of hot & cold food. Again a very relaxing experience where we felt we could linger & enjoy. The extremely high standards of food & service are maybe at odds with the rather basic chalet style accomodation but for the overnight rate it reflects good value for money & makes a stay for families affordable. It's a lovely environment, feels very safe & looked after, you find yourself unwinding. I cannot fault the accomodation for the money, the rooms are clean & well equipped just a little dated & due to this the bathroom can appear grubby but it's just wear & tear. If the owner vest in upgrades this will come at a price & raise the overnight stay so be careful what you wish for. Lovely Lipa gave me good times, happy memories & a good photo album. Thank you, I hope to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, General Manager at The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Rachel
Thanks for your great review and we are happy your enjoyed your stay here at Lipa lovely . Be a pleasure to see you back again on your next holiday here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We stayed here for 1 night, booking at last minute. The resort is about 10-15m drive from the port (paid 300baht for 2 people in a private cab, which we had to barter down).

On arrival we were given refreshing blueberry welcome drinks and taken to our (upgraded*) room. Room was clean with a large bed, good air con and beach towels provided. Water, snacks and fizzy drinks are also given in a complimentary mini-bar, as well as basic toiletries provided.

Resort is quiet and relaxing, right on the beach. We ate at the hotel restaurant as we couldn't find many places close by in the dark. Stood on the beach and watched an incredible thunderstorm occurring out at sea.

Breakfast was simple but tasty (cooked breakfast on order, continental buffet, juices), especially the unusual flavors of the home-made jams (strawberry and mint for one).

We felt very well looked after and I would stay here again for a quiet and relaxing stay. There is not a huge amount in terms of other venues super-close by which means that the resort feels really tranquil. Personally I think I would get a bit bored after a few nights, and would probably venture to other areas of the island. This still really is a great option for a bit of calm and 'doing nothing' during traveling.

* Low season so the resort was quiet. (We were upgraded on most of our stays in June)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no_superman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

This resort is on the rather undeveloped West side of the island in the bay of LipaNoi . Lipa Noi is a long narrow stretch of white sand, some of which is swept daily by the staff of the hotels and resorts facing the sea , some of it isn't and is a bit wilder with leaves and seaweed etc. But its a lovely walk (maybe 2km?) and very little in the way of people selling you stuff.
It's very untouristy - no loud clubs or bars - one little shop (when it opens) and a few great restaurants within walking distance. The resort is a mix of bungalows around a very well maintained tropical garden and 2 swimming pools and thatched beach bungalows spread around the "north" end set underneath palm and other trees.

Our beach bungalow was just perfect for us- about 20 steps from the warm sea and white sand, surrounded by palm trees, birds, little cute lizards, plenty of shade if needed, choice of sunbeds. Inside our bungalow was a huge bed facing the sea to the west out of patio doors and windows and the wonderful sunset, a large sofa, air conditioning, mini fridge, kettle, TV (with a slightly random selection of channels but we didn't go on holiday to watch TV ) excellent free wifi, big bathroom with bath, sink, shower, lashings of hot water. Every day the rooms were swept and cleaned and beds made. The staff were charming and helpful: from Kate on reception to the lovely Meaw and Joe serving in the restaurant to the super smiley breakfast chefs.

We really enjoyed breakfast - good choice of eggs any way you wanted, bread, croissants, home made jam, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cooked bacon, chicken sausages, beans etc even stirfry was offered. Oh and the freshly made pancakes

We ended up eating most nights in BIgJohns restaurant at the hotel which was right on the beach - great choice of cocktails and happy hour from 4-7 made them even more affordable.
The Thai food was great, especially the seafood - save yourself for one of the seafood sets one day - definitely enough for 3 ! Although there was choice of western food too we never tried it (we were in Thailand!)
Just outside on the road there are other a bit cheaper (but very good - no view though ! ) options for Thai food and also you can walk along the beach to several other hotels and beachside restaurants.

Just along the beach from the resort is a private wedding venue - so we had the treat of watching 3 weddings from afar while we there - I got to oooh and ahh and share the fireworks and lanterns.

The other side about 100m away is the NIkkiBeach club - which looked fun if you fancied a posh night out - big pool beds and swimming pool DJ - their beach party on the Sunday sounded like great fun ! I'd been missing my Zumba classes being away so was able to have a little sunbed boogie. Music all off by midnight though and was very faint the rest of the week when the breeze blew our way.
Oh and my oil massage in the beach hut was amaaaazing !

If you want to do anything after 10pm .... this isn't the place for you! The restaurant shuts at 10 or earlier if no customers but as you have a fridge you can always take stuff to your room. We were asleep by 10 pm most nights - but awake at 7am with the birds - sat outside with a coffee or had a paddle or swim. We were there 6 days - we hired a car one day just to see what were missing - frankly were fairly horrified by the likes of Chaweng and Lamai - but can see why the youngsters would love it.
One little eyesore - between the north and south wings is an area that looks like it's begun to be developed but is also full of rubbish - its mostly fenced off but a section isn't and its not nice to walk past - felt a bit eery at night

Had a thoroughly wonderful relaxed time at this lovely resort.

Room Tip: We loved the beach Bungalows - but the garden view rooms all looked great too and all but a stone's throw from the sea
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Boostie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guya150, General Manager at The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing excellent comment regarding your stay at The Lipa Lovely resort.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Look forward to welcome back you at The Lipa Lovely.

Warmest Regards
Guya Emanueli
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

We had booked to stay in a sea view bungalow but on arrival we were upgraded to a beachfront bungalow which was amazing and led straight out onto the very quiet and peaceful Lipa Noi Beach.

The accommodation was very clean and comfortable apart from the lack of basic things like towels and toilet roll. You are only given one bathroom towel per person - there are no hand towels either so you have to go and hunt a towel down after washing your hands. There was also only half a roll of toilet roll which went pretty quickly (used to dry hands as no towels!!) and no extra rolls stored in the room - there is also no phone in the room to call reception and it was a bit of a trek from our bungalow to go and ask for more!!

The beachfront bungalows are quite "outdoorsy" lots of wildlife around and in the roof. We had to inform the reception about a swarm of wasps/bees that suddenly appeared out of our roof as we were sunbathing, there were hundreds flying around so we had to go inside whilst the "Janitor" came and sprayed about 10 cans of bug spray around the roof! This then must've disturbed the lizards that were living up there as they were banging about across the ceiling until late at night!

The staff are nice but I wouldn't say they were very friendly. At the restaurant it felt as though we were a burden to them. They couldn't wait to clear the tables and on our first night we were given our bill before we had received our dessert! They also put the shutters down whilst we ate dessert and switched the lights off. This was all before 10pm and the restaurant wasn't due to shut until 10pm!! On the second night we went for dinner earlier so we weren't so much of a burden to them and at 8.45 they started clearing all the tables around us outside ready to close so we skipped dessert and took our beers back to our bungalow!

A couple of things to be aware of before booking this place:

If you're looking for a peaceful retreat - don't book to be there on a Sunday - the resort next door has a Sunday Brunch which is basically a massive pool party with banging music from midday until about 7pm so if you are in a bungalow you can hear thumping beats and people screaming/laughing all day! Sounds like it was a good party though!!

Also there are quite a few negative reviews about security - the place seemed pretty secure but as the bungalows have lots of sliding Windows (to give you an amazing view of the beach) we found that some of them weren't locked when we first checked in. I don't think that this is something that people check so I would make an effort to check them regular as they are easily opened from the other side.

Other than the above it is a stunning location, it has great wifi and the food was ok.

If you're looking for somewhere to escape that is quiet and to get an early night then this place is perfect! (Apart from Sundays)

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guya150, General Manager at The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016


Dear guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Lipa Lovely Resort.

Sorry for the lack of basic things in the room,usually we always provides towels (for the shower and for the beach)and soap,shampoo,conditioner and 2 rolls of toilet paper..there was maybe a mistake,we apologies for that!
About the restaurant thank you for let me know I will speak immediately with the staff and make sure that this things not happen again.
I will share your comments with our team.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,
Guya Emanueli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We travelled as a family unit to attend my daughters wedding. We booked a combination of rooms & bungalows and everyone was extremely pleased with both the value and the accommodations/amenities! Very clean, lots of extras (daily complimentary bottled water, & snacks) fantastic breakfast and super engaged and friendly staff. We chose to eat at Big John's Restaurant for the majority of our meals due to the value, excellent service and delicious menu. Prime beach location, beautiful sunsets and all in our group agreed we would all stay here again if we return to Samui. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank eventslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guya150, General Manager at The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Guest,thank you very much for your wonderful review!
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us,it was a real pleasure have you here.
We really hope to welcome back in Samui at the Lipa lovely with all your family and your friends.

Best regards
Guya Emanueli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews