We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big John Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big John Restaurant”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband, myself and our two young daughters recently spent a week in Koh Samui. For two days we rented a car and explored the quieter west coast as we were staying on the east coast.

My husband and seen the restaurant mentioned in Lonely Planet so we pulled in one quiet week day for lunch and were really pleasantly surprised.

We appreciate quieter, less frequented locations and this suited us perfectly. The restaurant is set furthest from the road in a very large open area, covered, facing the ocean. It's a low key place, absolutely, but so welcoming.

We were the only guests there at that time but the staff could not have been nicer not more enthusiastic. As is most often the case in Thailand, they were wonderful with our children, and although they chose a western option, the freshly crumbed fish fillets were delicious.

We had an amazing prawns curry with some of the best, freshest, sweetest prawns we've ever eaten. It really was a lovely meal.

They also have a small shop that they opened for us to browse and we bought some gorgeous hand painted fabric bags as well as a cotton dress I love, all really well priced.

If we visit Koh Samui again we would rent a car again and just go where the whim took us and this would definitely be somewhere we'd visit again, and hopefully discover more just like it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victoria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    87
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
71
82
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed a couple of days and found the hotel to be very relaxing and quiet right on a very empty beach. All rooms very good quality and clean with aircon. Good food at BigJohns. Service for drinks was a little erratic but seems they were understaffed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I went during 'off' season as I kept on being told by any of the staff who did actually speak English. Between the general disregard for me as a paying guest because I was the only one staying there and the loudness of noisy workmen I felt slightly cheated. The beach is beautiful and I am kind of sad about how it could have been.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We came in from the US tired, and it was really nice to wake up to the ocean virtually right outside our room. One advantage of coming to Thailand during low season was the great rates, and choice of beachfront rooms. The restaurant had a nice menu with lots of Thai stuff to try, and tasty. There was some construction next door, but only lasted a day, with the rest of the time really peaceful. I am extending our stay, as the rates are really great for this type of place during this time of year. Last year we stayed up in Chaweng, which was really a rat race, and I wish we knew about this area before. I finally finished a book I had been reading for a few days. Man, the sunset was amazing, another thing you don't find in Chaweng. Cheap and plesant enough to hang out at for a couple of weeks. Great hassel free walks along the beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aerobraking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We picked the Lipa Lovely after contacting the hotel,as we had seen some bad reviews about the resort,they informed us all the problem were sorted out.We arrived at 2 pm,to find out that both sides of the resort had building work being carried out.by this we mean bulldocher digging up trees and flatting land about 3 feet away from our room.
We complained at reception,but they would not help us and said it was only during the day,it was from 7.30 am to 5.30 pm ,also they would not give us a refund.The room we had was very old,with huge gaps in the widow frames where everyhting got int othe room.The sheets were very damp and the shower was cold.We complained for 3 days and then just checked out and moved to Nathon.If you like to live on a building site,this hotel is for you,if you want a holiday goes somewhere else.We felt let down as the hotel had lied to us about everything we had asked/

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank headmasterlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipa Noi
0.3 km away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
12.4 km away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
510 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Valley Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
410 reviews
12.2 km away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#46 of 187 in Bophut
1,519 reviews
11.6 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort

Property: The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort
Address: 95/70 Moo 2, Lipa Noi, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly The Lipa Lovely Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Lipa Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Lipa Noi
Price range (per night): $54 - $253
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the West Coast of Koh Samui, which offers stunning sunset views with our beach front location. Our beach is quiet and suitable for swimming and playing on the sand. Ideal for travelers seeking tranquility and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lipa Lovely Hotel Lipa Noi
Lipa Lovely Hotel
The Lipa Lovely Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lipa Noi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing