We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence
WEST MIDLANDS
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have just returned from staying 10 nights here.
DONT stay here if you have kids,as there is nothing for them to do, and no organised activities.
DONT stay here if you want bars and restaurants on the doorstep, and things going at 100 mph.
DO stay here if you want peace and quiet on an outstanding beach, which sees wonderful sunsets.
We had a garden villa, which was enormous.A jacuzzi, shower, loo, twin basins were outside at the rear. Covered with a slatted roof and the sides filled in, it was completely private.
Out in the front garden was a plunge pool. sunbed,table and chairs and private massage area. All set amidst tropical plants and flowers.
Inside the 2 twin beds were enormous, satellite tv,dvd,tea/coffee, minibar, complimentary fruit and water daily.
Drinks were a bit pricey, but there was happy hour every day 5 - 6.30 when beer and cocktails were half price. The restaurant also served up complimentary snacks at this time also.
Breakfast was amazing. After swimming 20 lenghts of the fair sized swimming pool every morning, smiling faces were always ready to greet us "Sawadee Kai" and a coffee latte with no froth was soon perfected.
The onsite spa was a little disappointing as I only saw 1 person having a massage for 1500 baht, when they were on the beach everywhere for 250-400 for the same.
The hotel arranged for us to hire a scooter as We wanted to explore the island, but always wanted to come back for the peace.It was more than if you booked off resort, but at least you knew you were hiring something road worthy and not being ripped off, and at £5 a day was well worth it.
We have hired scooters before so these roads were no problem after having ridden in Goa. But much concentration and carefulness should see you ok.
Chaweng and Lamai are places to avoid if you like the solitude. McDonalds, Burgerking etc should give you a clue.
The hotel also booked taxis for airport etc.
We also enjoyed free wifi during our stay. Not always available, but 90% I would say,
Overall, we found nowhere nicer on the island that looked better for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COOKSWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    109
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
81
316
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

What can I say about the week we spent in Sunset beach resort? It was AMAZING, a lifetime experience. Six of us have travelled to Ko Samui after 4 days in Bangkok, and we could not find words when we arrived. The hotel, the staff and rooms have been really-really fabolous! We have been welcomed by the general manager Chat, who was very friendly and caring throughout our stay. We have received welcome drinks and some information about the hotel and the surroundings.

Rooms
We had 3 sunset rooms next to eachother on the upper floor, all of them with jacuzzi, big bed, two washbasins, television, dvd player and balcony. The rooms were spaciuos and clean, also equipped with air conditioning, which was very useful. The balcony has looked over the pool, the palmtrees and the sea, we liked it a lot.

Staff
They were really friendly, always at our service. We have received 4 bottles of water (0,5 liter each) every day, and fresh fruit: mango, lichi, dragonfruit, banana for free. They have always made up the bed and changed the towels during the daytime, and they have also prepared the bed for the night at the evening: they placed nice flowers on the pillows. The receptionist have been always very nice and helpful: special thanks to them as well.
One of our friend has celebrated her 30th birthday there, and we have ordered dinner to the beach: it was magnificent! She has received a nice birthday card from the hotel, signed by the whole staff, and a small cake with candles, while the general manager, the receptionist and the cook have been singing 'Happy Birthday'. It was unforgettable.

Swimming pool and beach
While the hotel was almost full house, there was no crowd in the swimming pool or at the beach at all. The pool was heated and clean, about 12 sunbeds on both sides, and there was a bar at the side, so we could drink cocktails while sitting in the pool. The beach was as on postcards: huge palm trees, white sand, and clean water, we really liked it! There have been also about 12 sunbeds on the beach, and waiters brought you whatever you ordered.

Restaurant
The restaurant has been also great: nice view, very friendly staff. The breakfasts have been terrific: 5 types of fresh juices, hams, cheeses, warm dishes (precooked and freshly made as well), more types of bread, mueslis, jams. We have also had dinners here: soups and currys have been really delicious!

Surroundings
You should keep in mind, that the hotel is on the west coast, quite far from the nearest villages. I think, when someone choose a hotel, first he/she should investigate where is it exactly and does it match with his/her needs. Therefore I do not really understand those people, who were writing: 'it is far away from everything', 'it is on the middle of nowhere', etc, because the location and the surroundings are not kept in secret, if you are smart enough, you can find these out. So we did not have problem, since we have appreciated that our beach is secluded, no hawkers come to you to sell useless things, no dogs, etc. and our hotel is a boutique hotel. We have gone to Chaweng once, we have booked 3 trips in a travel office, and a minibus came every time to pick us up at our hotel and they also brought as back after the trips. Moreover, there is one restaurant (I-Talay Nasai Garden) in 5mins walking and another (Five Islands) in 12mins of walking, all of them are very good. You should find out what you really want and choose a hotel accordingly. The only negative point is taxi is very expensive (mainly compared to Bangkok), we went to Chaweng for 200THB/person in a minibus.

In overall, the hotel was a perfect choice for 6 young people, who spent 1 week on Ko Samui relaxing, swimming, snorkelling, diving, hiking, eating out, watching marvellous sunsets.
Many thanks for the whole staff who also made our holiday very precious and amazing.

Room Tip: If you want to have great sunset view, choose the sunset rooms on the upper floor (1st floor), or ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Nora28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nijmegen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed there in feb 2012 for three nights. We booked a sunset room but there was some work in progress in the hotel next door (although we haven't heard any work at all during our stay) so we were upgraded to a garden villa. Spacious room with one jacuzzi in the garden and one in the open air bathroom. Only 20 rooms in the hotel, so it had a very personal atmosphere. Nice and comfortable swimming pool. Free cold bottles of water on the beach. Our first evening, we were all invited for a cocktail/wine party from the manager on the beach. Amazing sunset made it all perfect. Very friendly staff. Good restaurant. Hotel is on the quiet west side of Samui, but imho so much nicer than Chaweng, unless you like partying more than environment. We used the free bikes to see some of the surrounding environment. Sea on that side of Samui is calm. No good reef for snorkeling anymore unfortunately but easy access to Ang Thong. If going back to Samui I'd choose the sunset beach resort and spa again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner and i chose this place specifically to relax and be away from the main part of Samui. It was an amazing resort with everything we needed. The staff were always so helpful and attentive. The sunset rooms were perfect with the most amazing views. Food and drinks were plentiful with really reasonable prices. The beach didnt have seaweed and was cleaned darily as was the pool and grounds. Always smiling staff made us feel so welcomed! Will definitely recommend to friends and we will stay again! Thank you for making our week at Samui memorable!!!

Room Tip: Sunset rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaS213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We've just got back from an amazing honeymoon in the Sunset Beach Resort. We stayed in one of the beachfront Villas. From the moment when we arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff, the manager and some welcome drinks our stay was perfect. The staff are very friendly and are very helpful. Our room was amazing, with a private garden and pool that looked directly onto the beach. The beach was really quiet and clean, and you can get your cocktails delivered from the bar straight to your beach sun lounger. We had dinner one night on the beach which was great, and were able to change the set menu to suit us (i.e. we were vegetarian).

The bathroom of our villa was outside, which took a bit of getting used to, but I quite liked having a shower outside in the morning, but its not for everyone. Compared to the other side of the Island, this part is very quiet and I would say suitable to couples and people looking to chill out. I would recommend getting a hire car to get about, but taxi's aren't too expensive. We went elephant trekking, which I would definitely recommend.

Overall, this hotel was great and was perfect for us for our Honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair-Mackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
14.4 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
709 reviews
19.7 km away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
478 reviews
14.2 km away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
11.0 km away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,990 reviews
12.0 km away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Property: The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price range (per night): $59 - $328
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing