We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”
Review of Am Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Am Samui Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Taling Ngam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Great place to stay for a relaxing break. Beautiful scenery and setting. The staff were all friendly and went out of there way to assist with anything we asked. Luckily we stayed in one of the two glass beach huts right next to the beach with fantastic views. I highly recommend visiting even if its just a couple of days. We stayed in over many places in our 5 week holiday and this by far was the best place we stayed.

Room Tip: They have two glass bungalows on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    56
    16
    11
    16
See reviews for
41
64
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Me and my wife stayed at am samui resort in feb 2012. Here is what we retained from our stay. First, we strongly agree that there is not a better hotel location on the whole island, taling nam otherwise known as the virgincoast is a unspoiled beautiful quiet beach far from the polluted touristy areas. We enjoyed a beach glass panoramic bungalow allowing us to enjoy spectacular sunset and unobstructed view of the five islands! WE haven't seen such beautiful bungalows and location at this price in Thailand. ADjacent to the resort are two five star restaurants: Five islands, a minute walk, is delicious and the sunset view from the intercontinental hotel around 6 pm are not to be missed. Hotel staff were really kind. Breakfast was good, but we were not amazed by the restaurant. Rooms were cleaned everymorning while we were having breakfast and that was nice. The beach setup with tables in the sand, the swing, the Hamac were wonderful. The water was clean, and the sand fine and soft. Sunsets were outstanding. Drawbacks: Restaurants in the area are limited, my wife and I haven t been able to figure out why the bedsheets were so uncomfortable. It might be the sea humidity (the room is 10-15 meters from the sea) or the sheet material but we didn't sleep well during our stay (worst sleep of our trip). Overall, because of the price we paid, for the fantastic bungalow, we give this hotel a 5 stars rating.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for bungalow A-2, outstanding view and more private than bungalow A-1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_R007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and me were deeply unsatisfied with the expensive and mediocre food they had. Their bathroom smelled of septic and the fungus was all over the concrete construction. You also had to throw your toilet paper in the rubbish bean next to the toilet as in Greece. In addition I think they had asbestos as material in the roof of the bathroom. The beach looked very nice, but it was so shallow that you would have to go hundreds of meters into the sea to even get your knees wet. Therefore we had to use their small, but nice pool to get a swim. Their surrounding neighbors where very poor and they often burned their garbage and wood that made a bad smell over the area. I would not recommend anyone going there for the money that we spent on their expensive services. In addition to the ridiculous high prices in their restaurant, they charged you another 17% for services. Just to give you an Idea, 0.33L Singha beer costs 115baht at their hotel, which is three times as much as at Seven Eleven. Remember that for just a 100baht more per day in accommodation, you can get a 10 time better experience at Florist Hotel, which were our next destination. They do rent mopeds at Am Samui for 250baht that is quite convenient, but remember that normal price is 200baht per day. In other words Am Samui is not worth the money.

Room Tip: Garden view is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

A gem in Koh Samui. It's very quiet, beautiful and nice place. The owner of Am (her name is Am) and the employees of the restaurant are very nice. If I am to be critical of something, it must be that we never got an extra bed for our child, even though we asked for it for several days. I felt ignorant and annoying. We have stayed here on two occasions when there is a romantic and peaceful setting. We've been to Koh Samui 9 times and tried the hotels throughout the island. This is a small tax if you are looking for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

In first line, I should say that the trip was in 2009 and there´s a chance that they increased the sevices quality since then. Once I posted the same review about this place, formerly known as Wiesenthal resort when "Am Samui" didn´t exist in Tripadvisors base. I´m not often complaining and that I really like warm hearted places, even if they´re spartan. But listen:

We got interested in this place after arriving Koh Samui by the Songserm ferry boat and dropped near Lamai Beach where we directly fled from. Before being brought to Lamai, we were told about this hidden gem called Am Samui Resort (formerly Wiesenthal and run under Swiss management). After seeing the horror of touristy and overcrowded Lamai beach, we decided very fast to get picked up by Am Samui`s Suzuki Trooper...

The bungalow ("Superior Beach Front Deluxe") was the best value directly attached to the (closely) clean beach with brutally good views of the sunsets directly oin front of us. The five islands opposite of Koh Samuis West coast did the rest to complete the perfect image. The area as itself lies in midst of a palm vegetation on a beach stripe which is free of any mass tourist industrialization. It is a perfect hideaway compared to Lamais or Chawengs "horribly" crowded coasts. The calm is really the best thing You get there and the sunsets and the beach and so on... though the way into the sea is terribly stony (except one small corridor which wasn't)...

After a different and not very Thai style welcome (with a Coconut welcome drink but without the smile You`re awaiting) we were led to our beachfront bungalow. They offered us to cut 10% off the price when we stay longer than a week, so with lowering the prices on motorbike rentals by 20% if more than a week.

The staff was kinda nice but looked very bored or frustrated or whatever. There was a daily room service which cleaned the floor, removed the sand carried in by us and so on... the mains were done but no doubt about removing all the former worm cocoons hanging on the bathroom walls and ceilings. As well as cleaning such common things like the toilet or the mirrors... they didn`t, but they had a whole army of staff (which mostly took care of the nice garden or cleaning the beach by collecting stones and so on...) Thank god I didn`t walk into one of many bottle shards I saw... which they didn`t really remove.

The restaurant staff wasn`t really friendly, seemed lazy all the time and forgot this and that daily when we ordered the breakfast: WHICH WAS THE WORST ON EARTH! Is it worth to call it breakfast or shamelessly put togehter food pieces in mini portions?
One day we got a nearly raw egg, two half slices of the cheapest cheese, tho three day old baguette pieces and one jam (but where to put the jam on?!?!?!?!?) .... The muesli or what they called it was full of bugs and the second one too after the first complaint. After we spoke a serious word with the owner the case lightened up for the next morning (and they even asked us for a second instant coffee - by the way they had a coffee machine but they very rarely used it). The morning after the bread portions got smaller again and they saved on everything again. So if You can choose, bring Your own breakfast with You =)

And if You complain, be sure that the whole village will talk about it which really pissed us off! This isn't the way of treating guests in a good manner... nowhere in this world! Saving is good, but not on the wrong things!

The "resort" offers a few motorbikes to hire, but check the tire pressure and the brakes first... we had our small problems with it...

All in all it's a great place with a very basic service offering the very worst breakfast (which is the reason that we didn't even think about having lunch or dinner there - Use Pada's bar instead, which lies a few minutes away in the village and You'll do anything but crying... it's the BEST place to eat Garlic Chicken and Green Curry and so on, hehe)!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pansenfrucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taling Ngam
4.7 km away
Nikki Beach Resort Koh Samui
9.5 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
12.1 km away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Centra by Centara Coconut Beach Resort Samui
0.6 km away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
0.8 km away
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Samui Resort

Property: Am Samui Resort
Address: 39 Moo 3, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Taling Ngam
Price range (per night): $43 - $173
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Am Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Am Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Samui Resort Ko Samui/Taling Ngam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing