We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great French getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vingt-Deux

Our much loved cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our much loved cottage
Charming living room with comfy sofas, log burner and 42' television Master Bedroom with vaulted beamed ceiling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Our much loved cottage
Charming living room with comfy sofas, log burner and 42' television
Master Bedroom with vaulted beamed ceiling
A cosy corner for reading
Sociable open plan living area
Log burner for cooler months
Cuisine!
View of kitchen from the galleried landing
Dining Kitchen
Bedroom 2 with vaulted beamed ceiling.
Upstairs Shower room
Stairway to bedrooms and shower room
Fully enclosed garden with 10ft summer splash pool, (June to September) ideal for cooling off!
Flora!
Bienvenue!
No.22 at night
Interior Decor
Joyeux Noel
Fields surrounding No.22
Playground at Sauze Vaussais Plan d'eau, near the crazy golf and seasonal snack bar.
Market day in nearby Sauze Vaussais (Saturdays)
Meeting the locals at Vallee des Singes - 20 minutes from No.22
Pretty river at Ruffec with seasonal kayak hire a lovely restaurant and cafe (20 mins from cottage)
Boat trip to Fort Bouyard and Ile D'aix from La Rochelle
Saint Martin - Ile de Re .
Verteuil-sur-Charente with pretty riverside restaurants and chateau open to the public
St, Macoux lake with water slide, play area, snack bar, picnic areas, and shaded parking
Fun at Futuroscope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Maire-Levescault, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerrie C
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great French getaway”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in December 2012

A very enjoyable Christmas & new year spent here, it is definitely a place where you need a car, the facilities were very good, especially if you had children, it seemed as there was lots of toys etc to keep them entertained (we don't have any).

Mandy was very helpful on booking and sending information, you couldn't have asked for more, prompt and efficient.

There was plenty of places to walk the dog, we found an English speaking vet in a nearby village who was great with us and the dog! And we even used the bikes to take ourselves into town a few miles away.

Given that we were there over a quiet period, wireless internet would have been great, but we did find a nice cafe in town that offered that along with some good breakfasts.

Overall a very enjoyable time and I am sure in the summer it would be even better when the sun shines for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrerz
1 review
“Beautiful French cottage”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We recently stayed in this beautiful cottage. The cottage is so luxurious are party of four didn't want to leave. Cooking in the very well equipped kitchen. Sitting in front of the log burners playing board games. Idyllic !!! A very French village with beautiful scenery. Best bike ride. But close enough to the supermarket to pop for all your necessities. The local village with the English fish and chip van is so close your chips are still hot when you get them home. Homemade pizza from the same village pizza van. Was amazing ! Spent the whole day at future scope the theme park near Poitier was well worth the money. The cottage is everything you need for a true French holiday. We had such lovely weather we sat in the garden in our sleeveless t shirts drinking wine. In October !!! What more could you ask for.
Mandy the owner is very efficient and will organise a lovley hamper ( we per paid ) for your convenience on arrival. Ours was a life saver as our flight was delayed. Everything you need and more!!! Well done Mandy for a beautifully excited holiday let. We had the best time ever! We all hope to return very soon.
Kind regards Tina, stuart, Angela and Peter.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart g
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful stress free get away. Very beautiful French cottage.”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We would like to thank Carl and Mandy for the stay at their beautiful cottage.
We were greeted by a lovely hamper (paid for in advance) this was an excellent service. (didn't have the hassle of trying to find somewhere to eat after getting off the plane).We cooked and sat and chatted in the beautiful fully equipped kitchen.
The cottage is beautiful. From the luxurious bedrooms to the comfortable couches that went on forever.
Each afternoon the sun shone making the garden at the cottage the most relaxing place to sit with a glass of wine.
In the evening we sat in front of the cosy log fire playing board games. How idillic!
Towns nearby such as La Rochelle and Poitier are lovely.
Even though the cottage is situated in a picturesque french village, the supermarket, is minutes away, making it the ideal location.
We went to Future Scope an amazing theme park nearby. We spent the whole day there.
If you don't feel like cooking, the nearby village has an english fish and chip van and a pizza van you can watch your pizza made from scratch. Delicious !!!
We were really sad to leave the cottage we had a totally stress free, relaxing holiday. We would have no hesitation to return, or to recommend it to other travellers. We hope to return very soon. Mandy and Carl really have paid attention to detail. Well done for providing a beautiful place to stay to explore the french countryside.
Thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was amazing. location ideal. Booking procedure excellent.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2012
Your kind comments regarding the cottage are greatly appreciated. I know the cottage came recommended to you and I am so pleased that No.22 lived up to the expectations of you and your party. I hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsoflo...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little gem in beautiful rural France”
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here in early September with our 21 month old daughter - it was quite simply our best family holiday yet! The cottage is absolutely stunning both inside and out (and we are fussy!!) It is as every bit as beautiful as the pictures and Mandy's attention to detail is second to none. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed, and at home. It is really well equipped with everything you might need (except pool towels - so make sure you take some) - a large garden/courtyard area with a plunge pool and loungers, a BBQ, outdoor seating, bikes (and a baby seat) plenty of books, DVDs - and 3 boxes of toys and books (including outdoor toys) for our little girl! The bathroom even included all the toiletries we needed for our daughter, a baby bath (although we didn't use it) and - much to her delight - a potty! The location is very rural and quiet, however the nearest supermarket and small town is 5 mins in the car, and the location is actually really well placed to explore surrounding France in any direction. We visited the Vallee Des Singes (monkey forest), Zoodysee animal park, Chef Boutonne Saturday market, Poitiers, La Rochelle and Ile de Re (stunning) and beautiful Bordeaux (approx 1hr45 but worth every minute in the car!!). We came home feeling refreshed and relaxed - but sad it was all over! Thank you to Mandy for being so incredibly helpful and kind from the moment of booking and throughout the holiday. We would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful place and these fabulous hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and luxury, homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Family Summer Holiday in this very beautiful part of France”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just arrived back from a really relaxing family holiday in this a very comfy and home from home french cottage in rural France. The weather was glorious and we were thankful to cool off in the pool every day! There is so much to do around the area with something for everyone. The local village is great for your daily supply of baguettes and croissants (especially if you cycle there you have would certainly earned one!) Luckily we were there when the local brocante (like our car boot sale) was on and picked up quite a few bargains. The whole family ( 4 young adults and 1 teenager plus parents) all enjoyed The Valley of the Singes (valley of the monkey's) were you can get up close and personal with these gentle creatures and a visit to Puy du Fou (1hr 45mins drive) is a must . It certainly knocks Disney into a cocked hat! The bird show and the night show is not to be missed, you can get discount if you book online before you go. A day out at La Rochelle and Ile de Re was very enjoyable (16E to cross the bridge) . We enjoyed a return visit to the Aquarium (a request from my youngest son now 15 who was 3 last time we were here) still as fascinating!. Then over the bridge to Ile de Re and an afternoon on the beach. La Rochelle is lovely for an evening meal by the harbour. One of our highlights was a visit to E"panvillers a chateaux 20 mins from No22 , were for 5E each we were given a fascinating tour by the Swiss owner of his collection of board games. At the same time a complete European history lesson was thrown in. We finished our fortnight by going to The Mad Hatters Music Festival. This is a local restaurant run by a charming and welcoming english family, (they also serve Sunday lunches and afternoon teas). Every year the 3rd weekend in August they host this music festival with some great musical talent, open mike sessions BBQ and buffet. Staying at the cottage you really feel part of the community and we met some lovely people.
We came back relaxed, rested and enriched by our experiences. When can we go again?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the cottage is well placed for visits and attractions but you can still feel away from it all!
Liked least: THe fact that i couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing