We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Little quiet lane
through to living area
Bathroom
bedroom 1
bedroom 2
bedroom 3 (bedroom landing)
owners stables
neighbours
Broglie
Duck family in Le jardin aquatique in Broglie
Orbec
Monet gardens (1 hour drive)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Broglie, Eure, Haute-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Emma M
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Stables last week and had a very peaceful, relaxed time. The Stables was equipped with everything we required for our stay. We saw Fabienne on the first day, but then she kindly left us to enjoy our holiday, having left lovely touches such as fresh flowers, chocolates and wine. I would agree with previous comments that the accommodation is probably more suited to a family rather than 3 couples as the twin room is at the top of the stairs and you have to walk through it to access one of the doubles. However, for us, a family of four with children of 11 and 9, it was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent a glorious two weeks in the sun at the fabulous setting of The Stables. The pictures on Trip Advisor simply don't do it justice. If you are looking to base yourself in Normandy and visit the nearby towns and attractions the Stables is a must. Fabienne provides a heartwarming welcome. The small attentions to detail, like fresh flowers, wine and chocolates on arrival were great touches. Bath towels, tea towels, coffee for the machine make it home from home. Top marks for your fabulous countryside Gite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puddles12...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely rural retreat”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Stables was a wonderful place to stay for our week in France. The house is very well equipped with everything you could want and a fantastic garden surrounded by fields full of horses. The weather was amazing, it got up to 39 degrees one day and we barbecued every night and sat outside with a wee glass of wine listening to the birds and animals. Fabienne was a very good host and left us to enjoy our holiday. The local area is really beautiful and full of amenities including a great wee supermarket in nearby Orbec. We did lovely trips to Beaumeznil and Vendeuvre houses and to Pont Audemer for the market and a wonderful day in Honfleur which is picture postcard pretty.
My one request would be a fan in the bedroom as it was very hot under the combed ceiling but we were in a heat wave! We would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful rural holiday cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage and a lovely area. We had a great holiday. Keeping it absolutely to the point, here are some important things to know that weren't mentioned in any of the other reviews:

One of the bedrooms (the twin) is open to the stairwell, which is itself open to the whole downstairs (so it can be noisy if you're in bed and others are up) and also is the only access to one of the double rooms, so this cottage suits one big family better than, for example, 3 couples.

The kitchen and bathroom are some of the best equipped and best I have seen in a holiday cottage, with plenty of hot water, neat and clearly new installations, and all mod cons - dishwasher, fan oven, 2 coffee machines, microwave, freezer. etc.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia2220...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful holiday setting”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Stables is a fantastic holiday gite, settled in a small and peaceful rural village in the French countryside. Fabienne is the most perfect host and the gite is extremely well equipped, with everything that one could need for a holiday. Our children loved feeding the donkey and horses and playing with the three mischievous kittens! We would recommend The Stables to all and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: There wasn't anything!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing