We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house what you would expect being near a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Duncannon Beach springtime shot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Duncannon Beach springtime shot
View of Beach View development with tide out Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
Duncannon Beach springtime shot
View of Beach View development with tide out
Sitting Room
Slade Harbour (5mns drive)
Duncannon Beach Winter short 2
Arial view of Duncannon Fort
Entrance into Beach View
Hook Head Light House (5mns drive)
Duncannon Beach evening shot
Duncannon Beach evening shot 2
Duncannon Beach Winter shot
Back Garden
Duncannon Harbour evening
House front
Slade Castle (5mns drive)
Dusk view from Duncannon Harbour
Tall Ship passing through Duncannon Harbour
Upstairs double room
Upstairs triple room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Duncannon, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
orlagh97
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house what you would expect being near a beach..”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

House had all we needed easy kept tidy especially with two teenages . house small but it was a holiday house and near the beach.we found ourselves all together in one roon at night quite strange with teenagers but great fun a good family bonding . Close vicinity to great tourist attractions and a brilliant beach. Sorry if we left lots off sand behind but never left the beach . On our last night went a walk on beach there was a man on the beach playing a trombone how lovely. Also great chowder soup in local bar. Will definitely be returning. X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear that you had such a lovely holiday. Sounds like you fell for the charms of Duncannon and took away some lovely memories. We look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,
Sharon and Philip Gaynor (Owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fjb1976
Claremorris, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and scenery but house needs a major revamp.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house is ideally located in a central position in town and within a stonesthrow of the fantastic beach and local amenities,however upon arrival we were disappointed as we were expecting a more spacious property as it claims to sleep 6,this is possible but the living space is extremely cramped.The decor could do with a major overhaul and the furniture could be changed as the tables and chairs were rickety and the couch was to say the least filthy,the last thing you expect to do when you land is have to clean the house,the floors are tired looking and had sand on them from the previous occupant,the house isnt particularly child friendly as no stair gate, and no safety latches on fire windows as we found out when one of our children was talking out it and there was nothing to stop her falling out,on saying this the owners have more than catered for children(boredom) with games/DVD's,buckets and spades and various kids stuff and the equipment is as described but calling the rear patio a garden is a little economical with the truth,Only for the kids enjoyed their holiday i would've been more upset as the house didnt do it for our holiday but the weather and location did!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review, which we appreciate you making. We do try our best to ensure you have a pleasant stay and enjoy your holiday as much as possible. Thankfully, you seem to have brought the good weather with you, which is always a bonus!

In regards to the property not being as spacious as you expected, I did make it clear in advance of your stay that although the bedrooms have ample room and can actually sleep up to 7 people, we are limited to 6 in the living area (seating space, etc.) For a party of 3 adults and 4 children, there would have been limitations, which is why we specify 6 as our maximum occupancy.

The garden/patio of our holiday home (as per photo) is equipped for outdoor dining and whilst small,I'm sure you'd agree that the superb location with access to the beach and the large green area at the entrance to Beach View more than makes up for this.

I was not aware of the dining table/chairs being rickedy, however, we do have floor protectors underneath the legs so it's possible one/some of these have come off, causing this, so should be easily rectified. We recently had the interior and exterior completely re-painted and replaced some of our appliances, furniture and bedlinen, etc. so I regret that you feel that the appearance lacked in some way.

Regarding the couch being dirty, both of our sofas are leather, with zero damage or stains, so this is obviously a cleaning issue, as is the sandy floors. Cleaning fees are included in our prices, so we do ask our guests to notify us immediately if any aspect of the accommodation is not up to standard, so we have an opportunity to rectify this with immediate effect. As we provide direct contact numbers for both of us and our caretaker, Rose, who also looks after the cleaning, I'm disappointed that no contact was made at any time during your stay to advise us of these issues.

In regards to child safety, we did, at one point, investigate the possibility of getting child locks on the windows, but were advised that it was against best practice for fire safety regulations. We do not state anywhere in our property description that we include a stairgate. However, we certainly would have made every effort to provide one, had we known in advance that you required one.

We take all of our guest reviews on board and we do regret that some of your expectations were not met. However, I have no doubt that had we been made aware of these issues during your stay, the majority of them could have been easily rectified and I would stress the importance of communicating with the owners/management as early on as possible for any future holidays.

With Regards,

Sharon & Philip Gaynor
Owners.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 18 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location, close to large safe beach and good facilities in Duncannon.
Liked least: Overall cleanliness of the property, in need of a thorough spring clean.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for your valued comments, which we appreciate you taking the time to make. Our priority is to ensure that our guests have as enjoyable a stay as possible, as we appreciate that holiday time is precious. We advise our guests to notify us immediately, if they find any aspect of our home is not up to standard, so we have an opportunity to rectify this and ensure complete satisfaction with our accommodation.

We have recently given our holiday home a complete makeover and made various improvements, which we trust our guests will approve of. We have let our home again this year for the summer season and so far any comments received from guests have been very positive, with repeat bookings already requested for later in the year.

Sharon & Philip Gaynor
Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing