We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant little tea room”
Review of Village Green

Village Green
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 13
Cuisines: Deli, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Super little cafe perfectly located in the heritage village of Eyam in the Peak District. We bake gorgeous cakes and cook tasty savouries 7 days a week for you to enjoy, using fantastic local produce. Our coffee is Fairtrade, organic and rainforest certified but above all is expertly made and tastes great, and we do our bit to maintain the superb environment we are in by recycling and encouraging less packaging for our take-aways.So pop in before or after your walk, or if you're really organised phone ahead & order a posh picnic, crammed with goodies to enjoy on your walk. We'll happily fill your flask with our gorgeous soup on colder days.Free wi-fi is available, there are treats for your four-legged friends, so join us at VG for a warm welcome and a spot of heritage on the Eyam trail. Finalist in the Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards Tea Room of the Year 2012, Cafe of the Year 2013. Awarded Peak District Environmental Quality Mark 2013 Free Wifi
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch after walking round Eyam, very pleasant staff and good food. A very quaint little tea room, not that big but very nice.

Date of visit: October 2017
2  Thank andyhK6327AV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

After hiking around Eyam, we stopped in Eyam for lunch. The staff was friendly and the food was very good (I had the bacon brie wrap). The cafe is nice with plenty of seating.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DWoollyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Called here for a drink and some cake on a Saturday afternoon, the staff were very pleasant and the cakes were lovely, but sadly only one gluten free option for my partner, which is a shame as the tea room opposite have at least 8 !!. A tad expensive for what we had but very nice all the same.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Derbyshireflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara P, Owner at Village Green, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review; we have 2 lovely gluten free bakes on every day - our great taste award-winning double chocolate brownie & our fig & orange cake.
Our sandwiches & toasties can all be made with gluten free bread; our fresh soups are gluten free as is our beef chilli & lentil dhal.
We also developed a lovely vegan tray bake so that there is something for everyone!
If you have any favourite GF recipes please get in touch and we'll try them out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is a traditional cafe in a characterful part of this wholly historic and characterful village (Eyam). Spotlessly clean especially the toilet to be found around the back. Handy front outside eating/drinking area with pleasant views.

Not cheap here but then again you won't want more than one coffee as they're huge - and quality products.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Delicious and varied breakfast menu e.g. Avocado on toast with poached egg.
Really delicious teas too - mine was apple and mint which I could have drunk all day.
Lovely to sit outside in the sunshine and enjoy the village green goings-on.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank NicciBonfanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Green also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Calver, Hope Valley
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Village Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing