We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
Large living room with Morso stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large living room with Morso stove
South west facing garden The Station Master's House is detached & there are no internal steps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Large living room with Morso stove
South west facing garden
The Station Master's House is detached & there are no internal steps
Beautifully furnished throughout
Large kitchen with granite tops & separate dining room
Centre island & vintage poster art
Walk in shower wc, one of 3
Dining room seats up to 8 persons, doors to kitchen & living room
Bedroom 3 can be a 6' double or a twin.
Master bedroom with The Station Master's safe
Entrance hall with piano
King size beds in the en suite mater bedroom & bedroom no.2
Porter's scales in The Station Master's House loggia
Fishermans cabin available for hire on the nearby River Nith
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sanquhar, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Greer L
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just got home after staying in this house. It was the best self catering property I've stayed in. The rooms were decorated to a high standard and the bathroom was to die for. Although it was a big house it was cosy and warm and the trains passing were not a problem. The kitchen was well equipped too. We also had good views and some super sunsets. It was a good base to explore the area from Dumfries, to Moffat and beyond and also up the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth S
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“I was Station Master Sanquhar for the week :-)”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Half Term in October spent in rainy Scotland. But the weather did not put us off and managed to get out and about by car and train.
The house has been done up to an excellent standard with the bathroom and dining area getting special praise. The whole house has been decorated with railway memorabilia with a piano in the hallway for those that can play. The trains that roll past are part of the fun, but run to an irregular timetable and your day has to be planned to perfection is using the train, especially to going into Dumfries or Gretna Green.
Best keeping doors locked even whilst your in the property as an occasional tourist tries to use the house to buy a ticket.
Note that the railway is home to freight trains during the night (again sporadic), but once the first one has woken you at 0100 in the morning you get used to them.
The town of Sanquhar is small but the bakery and butchers have friendly staff. Sanquhar is also home to worlds oldest working post office (300 years old!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quirky and different
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice F
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous property to stay in”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in August 2012

This review is being written two years after we stayed here for a week, simply because it wasn't on TripAdvisor back then and I couldn't work out how to get it added.

We were looking for somewhere that would be suitable for a person with limited mobility (and an elderly arthritic dog); The Station Masters House fitted the bill because it was all on one level and all the doorways were wide enough to accommodate a wheelchair. It was a complete bonus that it was so well-decorated, so comfortable and so well-equipped.

The photographs already on here are just as I remember it. Large rooms with lovely furniture. You don't feel as if you are in holiday accommodation - it feels more as if you're looking after a friend's house while they're away, if that makes any sense.

Sanquhar station was closed in the 1960's as part of the Beeching cuts. Although it re-opened in the 1990's, the station buildings no longer belonged to the railway, hence this building becoming a holiday home. If you look at the website (http://www.sanquharstation.co.uk/) there are some pictures of the renovations being carried out, bringing it up to the very high standard it is now.

Yes, you did read right - the station is open! Trains go past! But you honestly don't really notice them as the sound insulation is excellent. Our bedroom was on the platform side, and we weren't disturbed at all. Plus, we travelled there by train from the Midlands. Going there via Glasgow, and on the return straight to Carlisle then changing for Birmingham. I don't think I've ever had an easier journey to a holiday destination. No lengthy and expensive taxi ride; just cross the bridge, enter the code to get the key, find the kitchen and get the kettle on.

And a very lovely kitchen it was too, as spotless as the rest of the house. And you'll love the bathrooms. I preferred the one with the roll-top bath (separate shower) plus there was also a shower room that was fully accessible - very handy. Big comfy couches to sink into in the living room. In other holiday homes, I have felt quite cramped - not a lot of space to work with, nowhere to put your things, not enough cupboard space, so that you're living very 'cluttered'. This is not the case here - the rooms are large and airy, there's a cloaks cupboard, plenty of wardrobe space, a garage to store bikes - I seem to remember a cupboard in our bedroom formed from the space that the station safe had occupied! It's easy to 'live tidy' here, which adds to the comfort and tranquility.

It's a short walk down to the High Street, where there's a Co-Op and other food stores, pubs and a cafe, so no need to drive if you're just going into Sanquhar itself. Lots of other places are reasonable drives from here too.

In short, this was a great place to stay and one of the best holiday cottages I've ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space. Lots of space.
Liked least: Could have done with a pole to raise the washing line up a bit.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Place!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd visit to The Station Master's House and we love it! Being dog owners, we travel a lot in the UK, mainly renting cottages and this is the first one where we have felt completely at home.....enough to unpack properly. Everything is comfortable, sofas, beds, chairs.....the bathrooms are spacious with room to move in the showers, so often they can be cramped or over baths. All the rooms are a proper size, with all home comforts. In fact, I would be happy to live there. The scenery around is fantastic and it's a great base for seeing the Southern Uplands of Scotland. The town folk are all very friendly, as in fact they all are in the local vicinity. There's a 'fine dining' hotel in the town that is worth trying, the food is amazing. The trains that pass by are not in the least disturbing, by the time you have heard it and registered it, it's gone. Perfect place for train people, but equally good if you have absolutely no interest in trains. We definitely plan to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
577PaulC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury Self Catering Acommodation in Sanquhar”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

“We stayed at the Station Masters House in Sanquhar for 1 week early in July 2013. We found this property with it’s features and facilities to be exactly as described by the owners website, so won’t repeat all this detail other than to say that it’s large property with spacious rooms, all renovated and finished to a very high standard. We sound the sofas and beds to be very comfortable (we are particularly fussy about beds when we stay away from home). As you would expect if you have reviewed the pictures of the property it features lots of railway memorabilia – we thought this excellent detail really helped remind of the former use of the house and establish appropriate ambience.

The property is located adjacent to Sanquhar Station which has a number of stopping train services – we also noted a number of slow moving goods trains passing through the station. We made use of our family railcard to take the train and travel into Glasgow for the day during our stay. We didn’t find ourselves being disturbed by the trains and if they interest you then the location is excellent.

This was not by any means our first visit to Scotland but it was our first visit to this area. We left thinking that we only touched the surface during our 1 week stay and there’s lots more we could have done - we have certainly left some places to see on our next visit.

We found Peter the owner to be very helpful (although we didn’t actually meet face to face) sending us very detailed information about the property, surrounding areas and places to visit with some personal recommendations on eating out in the area. Peter was contactable by phone / e-mail throughout our stay. As a final comment I should also say we found the included broadband service to be excellent – essential for a 15 year old these days!”

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Quality and Size of the Property
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing