We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
252
99
39
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
99
39
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarkwright suitewedding venuewedding breakfastfriendly hotelmatlock bathevening meallarge roomlarge partythe ground floorpeak districtlovely groundsold housethe main houseroll top bathfamily roomshower roompoached eggs
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

My aunt and uncles wedding anniversary meal for the family . We were made to feel very welcome from start to end . The meal was lovely the service very good for saying it was a large party . The staff were very accommodating . This was our first visit and will definitely visit again hope to stay over next time . Thank you Alison House

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jayne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed there this weekend and it was lovely. A very dog friendly establishment. Nothing too much trouble. Very central for exploring Matlock and Bakewell and then a bit further to Buxton. I highly recommend a visit to Bakewell again lots of dog friendly places to eat and The Heights of Abraham a must -again Dog friendly
Food at the Alison was very tasty and reasonably priced and the breakfast which was brilliant - I recommend the full English. The room was lovely and we had a kitchen and separate lounge area. Dogs were allowed in the bar for dinner and breakfast. The staff are warm and welcoming and even though we visited in the most awful snow ever it didn’t dampen their spirits. Pictures of our trip available on Teddy’s FB page Teddys Touring Tales.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at the oaks which great for us and the dogs. The food at the hotel is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is truly dog friendly and there are lovely walks in the extensive grounds and surrounding areas. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susie-Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We visited Alison House for a short break, taking along our Labrador Adam. On arrival we were all given a warm welcome by the staff, a small booking error was quickly rectified and we were soon shown to our cottage which was attached to the main house. The cottage was well equipped, with kitchen, bathroom (with shower) lounge/dining area and ample sized double bedroom. There are TVs in both the lounge and the bedroom. There is WiFi in the cottage that works well. A welcome tray awaited us with tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. We had booked in for breakfast .....right choice.....the breakfast was delicious with fruit juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a choice of cereals. Next came a cooked breakfast, with everything available to suit individual taste. The cooked breakfast was followed by toast, with a choice of jams and marmalades. Tea or coffee was served throughout.
All in all a very pleasurable visit, friendly staff, lovely accommodation and delicious food. We have booked again for April.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Stayed her for one night on business based on Trip Advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. The staff were very friendly from start to finish and the food and the room were very good value at £60 B&B. The only constructive criticism I'd offer relates to heating in the room I was in (4 I think) (i) it really could do with a heated towel rail or radiator in the bathroom, because it is freezing in there. I put a portable heater on facing into the bathroom but guests shouldn't have to do that (ii) staff should remember to turn up the radiator in the rooms in cold weather when guests are due to arrive - again the room was very cold when I arrived because the radiator was turned down to off. To finish on a high note though the dinner was also very good - I particularly enjoyed the pork belly and the cheese and biscuits was so outstanding that I tweeted about it at the time!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews