We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
439
102
18
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
102
18
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaurora bubbleaurora zonereindeer farmice fishingcross country skiingfrozen lakemain buildinglake inarinorthern lightsprivate saunarussian borderexplorer packagedog sleddinghusky safaricamp firespecial thanksgreat fun
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Nellim Wilderness Hotel for 4 nights and it has been ha day down the best place we have ever stayed.

The hotel is lovely, rooms are spotless and food is great. I cannot articulate just how beautiful this place is. The scenery is stunning, literally everywhere you look there are breathtaking views. The last 4 days have felt completely surreal.

The real highlight for us was the excursions. We were blessed with the aurora on 3 days out of 4 with one spectacular display on the second night. This will be a night we’ll never forget, watching the aurora dance and light up the sky from the frozen lake, then on to our cosy teepee to chat around the campfire with a warm berry juice. It was perfect. We did 2 aurora camps, snowmobile aurora chasing, husky sledding, the reindeer day (incl. snowmobiling, a trip to the Russian border, Nellim church, lunch by the campfire and ice fishing) and snowshoeing. We loved every single one of them. It’s hard to choose a favourite.

The guides were all exceptional. Special thanks to: Toni, Anthony, Emmi, Johnny and Pim. They were lovely, great company and so knowledgable. They went the extra mile to make the trips as special as possible for all of us.

Thank you so much for helping us create memories that will last a lifetime, experiences which we’ll never forget and for giving us the most magical few days. We are heartbroken to be coming home, so much so that the first thing we’ll do when we get home is to book our return trip for next winter!

See you soon!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Keeleigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We were the end of the year night and incredible experience.We chose a cabin to sleep in, and the surprise was pleasant, since it was comfortable, wide, beautiful, well decorated, good air conditioning ... perfect.With the price of the hotel we paid the food of the 31st, the dinner and the breakfast of the 1st of January.As the food, as the dinner, or the breakfast of the following day, free buffet, infinite amount, buenisimo everything ... without words.The location of the hotel in the middle of the forest, without noise, spectacular. If I go back to Finland, I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

To all the staff of the Hotel Nellim, thank you very much for everything, for your clothes, when your bags were missing, for the friendliness, the attention, for having everything always impeccably organized.
One day we will meet again.
From the azores Carlos Rebelo

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CRebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This hotel is something else; it is not only the well-maintained facilities but the service, the tours,warm people and of course, the northern lights.
We took a flight from Helsinki which was about 45 minutes, when we landed, it was pitch dark, and at that point we knew that our adventure was already begun. The Hotel driver was waiting from us right outside the luggage claim and in less than 5 minutes we were on the road.

Once we arrived, the front desk received us, provided the hotel information, tours schedule and room keys. We spent less than ten minutes with her and that was enough for us to have already felt like home. Really, these people are the best.

The room was outstanding; I think they were recently renovated because we smell fresh paint in the hallway. Everything was super clean and very cozy.

We were a little bit afraid of the food because of the culture difference, but WOW the food is really good, my husband and I, we are not picky so we ate everything and we were really please

Now, the most important part of the experience is the tours. The tours guide, they are super kind, friendly, and respectful and will always be checking you out just to make sure that you are okay and having fun. The dog sledge is really awesome although super cold; your feet might be frozen by the end of the ride but is worth it. Aurora hunting & Reindeer farm, those are in snowmobile which is super fun. In both tours you will be able to explore the area see the highlight of the village and if it is during the night, you will have a chance to take photos, so bring your camera.

All of the tours are in group, everyone was super nice. Also, since the tours last couple of hours do not worry about getting hungry, the tours always bring food (Yes, there will be campfire).

Unfortunately, we were not able to see the light in any of the tours, BUT in our last night, while staying in the aurora bubble, the sky cleared and we were able to see the lights dancing in the sky. We forgot how tired we were from the Reindeer farm tour and how cold it was, it was just magic. We barely slept that night because we did not want to miss such a beautiful view.

I would recommend the aurora bubble for just one night. Although the view is amazing, it does not have a shower and it's pretty small.

Finally, thanks Wilderness Hotel for such amazing experience. We have too many things in our bucket list to come back for the next holidays but I know we would come back some day. It has been on the most amazing experience in my whole life.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We went from 11-18th Feb and stayed in the more basic rooms. Right from being picked up at the airport to going back to the airport, everything went very very smoothly.
We enjoyed all the activities and the guides we had were very helpful, knowledgeable and very hard working....they just don't stop!
It does help if your a slightly mad family who loves to have fun like we do ( teenagers in tow....16 and 17 and us oldies at 43 and 47). We also met another family who were just as bonkers so tis livened up some of our excursions. Make the effort to go a little crazy.
The Reindeer day was our favourite mainly because it was all day and we drove the snowmobiles to a few different places.
All the activities are fab but we loved just sitting around a camp fire chatting to the guides and fellow travellers eating home made soup and hot chocolate.
We were very unlucky not to see "The northern lights" as it was very cloudy at night. BUT it did not spoil our trip and although this is what we booked it for, we experienced so many new things and made such fantastic memories for our family.
A special thank you to Lotto who went out of her way to find me a christmas gnome that they were out of stock of.....but she managed to get one in the night before our early flight. They def go the extra mile for you.
The food is great, Buffet style( fussy teenagers were ok, one daughter struggled a little but there was always something she could eat)
Wifi is ok in the main lodge but don't rely on it. To be fair both my girls were pleased to have a break from social media. But I managed to upload photos every day so pretty good.
Def book the husky safari, reindeer day, aurora camp and aurora by car.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews