We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five Words: Can I buy the cottage?”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Roullett

Chez Roullett
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chez Roullett
Chez Roullett Mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Chez Roullett
Chez Roullett
Mezzanine bedroom
Mezzanine bedroom with views across the valley
Sitting room with door to your private terrace
The view from your kitchen window
Your private south facing terrace
Your own private terrace and garden
Dining on the terrace with views across the valley
Wonderful views towards the Pyrenees
Your own private heated Swimming pool
The church in Castelnau Montratier 8 km away
The Pont de Valentré in Cahors,the capital of the Lot. 20 km away
The square in Montpezat de Quercy 4 km away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castelnau-Montratier, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Uschi-Urs...
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Five Words: Can I buy the cottage?”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We traveled for the last five years to this area and stayed in very different gites. This was one of the best gites we ever stayed.

The gite: It is clean, modern, spacious - has all the tools/gadgets you need (kitchen utensils, basket for the pool with pool towels, television, books etc). The gite is decorated very tastefully (nothing tacky and overloaded). The bathroom ie shower cubicle is huge and makes a nice change to small dingy showers you would normally find in gites like this.

Surroundings: The owners build a separate pool for the guests which is even better and closer to your gite. The views on the terrace (both pool and gite) are outstanding and it is peaceful and quiet.

The next village where you can buy food is less than 10 min away by car, cycling might be tricky as it is very hilly. We walked/strolled around the gite and discovered hidden corners and seen some amazing wildlife.

Next bigger town: In Cahors (ca. 30 min drive) you will find absolutely everything what you need: Intersport, supermarkets, nice clothes shops, restaurants, entertainment etc and 'medieval buildings' for those who want some history - especially the bridge.

Overall - we can thoroughly recommend this little hidden gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie H
1 review
“Fantastic little place! Great location and superb gite.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an amazing time on holiday here. The gite is great, everything you would need and private. Views from the balcony are fantastic. Pool was really good. Lots of privacy and nice decking for sunbathing. Local villages are very picturesque. So peaceful. We have both come away very relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
560Lisa
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing place to honeymoon”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was a return visit having stayed at Chez two years ago and it certainly lived up to the wonderful memories we had of 2012. The gite was as immaculate as last time, the furnishings were all pristine - we were certain we were this seasons first guests (it turns out we weren't!) The gite is thoughtfully and extensively equipped, the views are simply to die for and our hosts, Steve and Gaynor, have perfected the balance of extending their warm hospitality whilst at the same time allowing guests the freedom to enjoy their surroundings in absolute privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location which offered complete peace and tranquility.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Memorable"”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Chez Roullett is situated in a stunning location and is very tranquil and peaceful. The gite has recently been renovated to a high standard by Gaynor and Stephen who live on site.

The accommodation was superb, very spacious, beautifully designed in great taste and with attention to every detail. It was also spotless. This is not the cheapest gite in the area- but it is worth every penny. It has a lovely elevated terrace and the pool was great to relax in. Top all of this off with the most wonderful hosts. They are truly inspirational, they have done a great job in transforming the property and are always available when needed but never imposing. Both are very knowledgeable of the area. We can highly recommend this cottage especially if you're looking for a romantic, peaceful, gentle place to spend a break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMcI
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful, tranquil cottage with private pool”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed here last July on our mini-moon and couldn't fault it in the slightest. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind after our wedding. The warm welcome received from Steve and Gaynor and their attention to detail in the cottage was very much appreciated. They were completely unobtrusive but very approachable with queries or advice on what to do in the surrounding area, and generally a lovely, friendly couple.

The cottage itself is idyllic, the décor is beautiful and it was more than comfortable and spacious for the two of us for our weeks stay. We loved having meals on the balcony overlooking the stunning French countryside. The pool is a fabulous plus, and is extremely well maintained and decked out - it was very much needed in the 28+ degree heat we had!!

We did hire bikes (which Steve kindly organised) however we ended up being far too lazy to use them! The countryside is stunning. The nearby towns of Castelnau-Montratier and Montpezat de Quercy are lovely, and have great restaurants. We also visited Rocamadour, Cahors and Saint-Cirq Lapopie (a must-see pretty village), each manageable as half-day trips.

I wouldn't hesitate to visit Chez Roullett again, and would definitely recommend it as a peaceful getaway location. We have wonderful memories from our stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the pool
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing