We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent. Prefect place for holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Barranco View

House and pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and pool
Alfresco dining and drinking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
House and pool
Alfresco dining and drinking
Shower room
View from the sunlounges towards mountains
The pool
Baza Lake
Baza lake hot springs pool
Mojacar Beach
Garrucha beach
Imagine floating on this lilo with a drink and a book!
The patio
Local walks and scenery
Local castle
Cabo de Gata
Alhambra in Granada
Natural swimming pool nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Oria, Province of Almeria, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Agnes R
1 review
“Excellent. Prefect place for holiday.”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a great time at the Casa.This is a perfect location if you looking for a calm and relaxing place to stay. The cottage is fully equiped. Owners Heather and Pete are very friendly and carring. We will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace and views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Thanks Agnes, glad you enjoyed yourselves, we try to help our guests get the best from their time here. Looking forward to seeing you again next year for a spot of stargazing! Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baturnbul...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A rural retreat”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

After an amazing zig zag drive of 5 km, finding this tiny hamlet where the gite nestled amongst towering mountains was a wonderful surprise. .The owners Heather and Peter provided everything to make our stay comfortable. They were unobtrusive but available and had a wealth of knowledge about the area. The gite lacked nothing and having the heated pool was a great asset. Great mountain walking area. We returned to UK very rested. Definitely would recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The silence
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil H
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Deep down relaxing, proper friendly rural Spain”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first visit to this area of Spain and we would most certainly recommend the comfortable Casa and its location. It is ideally suited for relaxing by the pool (either in the sun or under the passion flower covered arbour or exploring the heart of rural Spain.

The Casa (or should it be TARDIS) is very comfortable, larger than you think from the photos and very well provided in things you might need (as well as those you will need). There are plug adapters for UK plugs, a cool box for when you go shopping, the list goes on.

From the moment we first made our booking to the time we left, Heather and Pete made sure we felt welcome and that we had plenty of information to get to do what we wanted with the minimum fuss and maximum enjoyment.

The most obvious case that comes to mind is that we expressed a wish to visit the Alhambra Palace in Granada. They made sure we knew that we needed to book our tickets in advance and the best times to book the tickets for. This meant we avoided queuing with the possibility of not getting in, and that we did not get cooked in the heat of the day! If you visit the Casa, we'd heartily recommend the Alhambra Palace. It is well worth the drive (2 hours each way along mainly clear motorway).

The local area has plenty to see and loads of good walking (ask Pete and he will recommend a suitable walk to suit what you want to do - as well as the helpful information sheets and guides that are in the Casa). The local tapas is good, the Saliente Monastery being very good indeed (you also get an interesting drive there).

You can also eat really well if you are self catering. There are markets in the local area most days. The produce is brilliant and is really well priced. The butcher in Oria is really good and well priced. He has a helpful translation sheet just to the left as you enter the shop.

We did go to the sea on one day, it was a surprisingly easy 1 hour 15 minute drive. We went to Garrucha and had a very nice paella. It was on this drive we saw our first eagle soaring gracefully in the clear blue skies.

And one final point we found that worked really well is that the Casa is about 1,000m up. This gave us very warm (nice) days and cooled down so we could sleep comfortably at night without having to use the air conditioning in the bedroom. It also gave very good night skies, the only light pollution was a full moon.

We'd like to say thank you again to Heather and Pete who helped so much in giving us the help to enjoy our holiday to the max while giving us the space to really feel the tranquility and space that this area provides.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Lesley
Pilar de la Horadada, Spain
1 review
“Superb location for a relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful spot in a valley,surrounded by mountains. So quiet. If you want to walk,swim,chill out yet drive out and about (,the coast is just over an hours drive),this is the place to be.La Casa is very comfortable and 'mine hosts' -great. This is the real Spain!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cannot fault the property , location or hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing