We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway for rest and relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
The mill at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars. This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The mill at sunrise
night sky (January 2015) Check for meteor showers on google for breathtaking nights under the stars.
This is our chemical free and beautiful natural swimming pool.
The master bedroom
beanbags for hiding away with a book
double bedroom
the snug
DVD and Books in the lounge and staircase to the master bedroom.
The swimming pool
a favourite spot for breakfast
just swimming here is a unique experience...
Sunset on the mill
our favourite dining area
The BBQ at sunrise
just one place to curl up with a good book
The front door
the swing
the outhouse - its's just where we store stuff.
more milky way
spectacular night skies
The milky way
Springtime is so colourful
Autumn
early morning walk
Zambugiera
nearby lake
the drive
The gate guardian
not a bad spot for breakfast
November 2009
Spring sunrise
Th sand terrace
morning after a November storm
evening by the bio-pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ourique, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Petal05
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
Reviewed 24 December 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Sadly did not live up to expectations, despite the undisputed fabulaous views, arrived to encounter building work and instead of the pool as promised ; a paddling pool surrounded by building rubble. Interior very basic, damp and lacking in comfort. Have travvelled the world over and happy to go rustic but encountered cheap Ikea furniture that had seen better days. Owner slow to respond to complaints.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grep_7
England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway for rest and relaxation”
Reviewed 11 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
7
people found this review helpful

We recently spent 12 nights at the mill, and were completely satisfied with everything. The location was the main attraction, as it offers total peace and tranquility, whilst providing all the home comforts you will need. However, there was plenty to explore and see during our stay, mainly the coast, but also some great lakes if you don't like swimming in the sea. The local cuisine is fairly basic, consisting mainly of pork and fish, but every meal was well cooked and full of flavor. The perfect break if you want to unwind and soak up some sun. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, seclusion, facilities.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineL...
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Magical Stay at Tranquil Windmill”
Reviewed 31 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Just spent 2 amazing weeks at the windmill in the Alentejo with husband and two 15-year-old twins. We all loved the place, The mill is equipped with everything needed for a fabulous holiday: kitchen equipment; beach stuff for the kids; sun loungers; pool; loads of seating areas to follow the sun; books; DVDs. Everything necessary for an excellent holiday. Great beaches are 40 minutes away. The views from the mill are unspoiled in all directions. The place is so quiet, which for us was a welcome break away from the rush of life at home. We would definitely go back one day for another chill-out break. Great restaurants too within 5-10 minutes' drive. Everything you could want in a holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location (very peaceful) and the mill itself
Liked least: Distance to supermarket (20 minutes' drive)
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottie00...
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can't beat it!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This is the best place we've been to for complete seclusion and quiet,without feeling isolated.Plenty of facilities nearby,but we loved being there so much we spent most of our time at the mill.Inside and outside everything is just right,and the views are amazing. It was perfect for us as a couple (and places for couples are not often that great,with limited space and privacy) and would also be superb for a family holiday or friends sharing,as there's so much space. A lot of thought has gone into making the mill a great place to be,and it is our number one for that reason.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annasofu
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking location”
Reviewed 30 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We were guests at the Mill for 2 weeks and loved it, although we had intractable problems with the photo voltaic electricity supply which forced us to rely entirely on the generator and to finally cut short our anticipated 3 week stay by one week.

We are world travelers and the Mill is one of the most engaging places we have ever stayed in. The amenities are simple but quite adequate. This area of the Alentejo (Ourique - Odemira) is exceptionally unspoiled and lovely and green in the springtime, with the hills and fields carpeted with wild flowers.

We recommend the Mill to those looking for isolation, peace and quiet, and don't mind fueling wood stoves in cooler weather. A special place, but not for everybody!

Anna and Michael from Ottawa, Canada.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing