We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous stay at Ajoupa Villas”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 Ajoupa Villas

#5 Ajoupa Villas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
#5 Ajoupa Villas
Front view with pool Main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
#5 Ajoupa Villas
Front view with pool
Main bedroom
View from main bedroom
Second bedroom
Upstairs hallway looking into the second bedroom
Living room
Living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room
Dining room
Pool area
Front gates
Looking over the pool at the villa
View from the side of the house
Garden next to the house
Pool
Deck chairs infront of the pool
View from the sea
Sunset from Ajoupa Villas
Local Batts Rock Beach
One of the many beaches in Barbados
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fitts, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LizaCtori
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at Ajoupa Villas”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Ajoupa villas for 2 weeks in July/August 2013 and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The house is perfect for a small family (we are 2 adults with teenage children). It was clean, in great condition, is well provided with a good kitchen, and very comfortable. Importantly, for our children it has a pool (shared with 13 other houses, but rarely were there many other people in it) a great beach close by and WiFi access! We hired a car for 5 days over the 2 weeks as Barbados is easy to get around and we wanted to see the very different Atlantic coast. Having said that, the buses that run along the coast were frequent and fun to be in. The west coast is tastefully developed and in my opinion, as the most beautiful beaches, some very undeveloped and others with a bar or two provided. The local beach is the former, and we were lucky enough to come across large turtles swimming around as we snorkelled along the reef there. There are plenty of resturants and bars a short bus drive or walk away. The closest bar, which is a 5 minute walk away is part of a good Italian restaurant where you can just have drinks, and it is lively and good value particularly between the 4-6pm happy hour! The locals are incredibly friendly and we never felt unsafe, unlike on some other islands.
Ajoupa Villas is a great option for those who want to experience an expensive island on a smaller budget.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the balcony watching the sunset
Liked least: Lack of TV as its nice to watch even the local news.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chris3101
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just come back from 11 nights at 5 Ajoupa Villas. First of all Barbados is amazing with white sands, turquoise sea, beautiful weather and lovely people. This villa which is part of a small 14 villa gated complex is not in a touristy area which is fantastic. Its a very short walk to the road to pick up the fabulous yellow reggae buses and also to the beach. Jordans supermarket - which is well stocked is about 5 mins walk away. I will say that food is expensive, the locals told us that it had doubled in the last 2 years - almost everything is imported. Bigger supermarket in Holetown, a short bus ride away that even stocks essential waitrose stuff!!! There is very easy acces to all the island by the buses - not to be missed is Fish Fry night at Oistens and we got the bus from the the nearby road straight there. We did hire a car for 2 days to see the interior and I would advise doing that from the UK as we had real problems getting one once we were there.

Back to the villa. It is set in the most beautiful grounds and has a lovely shared pool right outside the front door. We were met by the lovely Manager Monica who showed us everything and even booked our return taxi to the airport. It is well furmished with a complete kitchen with washing machine and dryer and everything you need. We did eat in a few times as eating out can be dear and we were glad of the full size cooker. There is air conditioning throughout - a must. There are 2 lovely bedrooms. My husband and I slept in the double at the front and had gorgeous views of the sea. The other bedroom at the back is a twin. Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers and there is a safe in one of the rooms. There is a full size bathroom with a really good shower. The sheets and towels were changed halfway through our stay and the villa cleaned. The other residents were mainly the other owners so we had lots of tips from them but there is a lot of info in the villa.

Loungers are provided for pool side use too. We loved it so much we are planning to go back next year.

We got to know the locals on our walks to/from the beach - so friendly - everyone asking if we were enjoying our holiday and did we like the island. They are so proud of it and quite rightly.

Roz the owner was so helpful througout the booking process and even emailed us the week before as she was on holiday there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not in a tourist area and the setting
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hagglers visiting property to sell you food
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BeachandR...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“viva barbados !!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

loved the location . great little house. really enjoyed our stay. local bar Wendys is great for watching the sport and staff where friendly weve even sent them a Everton shirt for the bar. Roz the owner was a pleasure to deal with and we would highly recommend this villa to any of our friends x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very homely
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing