We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maison Berchon

Maison Berchon - a classic French townhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison Berchon - a classic French townhouse
The south-facing pool with rolling safety cover View from the table-tennis table towards the pool's Roman steps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Maison Berchon - a classic French townhouse
The south-facing pool with rolling safety cover
View from the table-tennis table towards the pool's Roman steps
Roses and flowering bushes surround the sunny pool
Spacious first floor double bedroom.
Spacious double under the eaves
The first-floor bathroom
Top-floor walk-in shower
Part of the well-equipped kitchen
The cheerful dining area
Comfy sofas in the salon
The stunning Bearnaise staircase
Modern stairs leading to the games room
Games room with garden access
Private garden with barbecue
View of mountains from a bedroom
Henri IV's château in Pau
Carnival time in Nay
Happy crowd at Nay fetes
The parade of floats at Nay fetes
The stunning backdrop of the Pyrenees in winter as seen from the Gave de Pau in Nay
Park next to Gave de Pau in Nay
The sandy beach at Baudreix
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nay, Bearn, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Bonnie B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely home”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful time in this lovely, spacious home. Tony and Yolanda were very responsive hosts: very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The pool area was beautiful. We also appreciated the many other diversions for kids: foozball, ping pong, board games etc. Location was also excellent. The house is about a kilometer from downtown Nay-- a typical French town with a lively center surrounded by several cafes. We really had a great week here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Bonnie Thank you so much for your comments. We greatly enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing and well-equipped1”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I stayed for a week with a group of friends and would definitely recommend it. The house is beautiful, spacious and extremely well-equipped, and Tony and Yolanda are brimming with local knowledge and suggestions of things to do, even if we didn't often venture farther than the pool!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miss_pall...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a lovely French village”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic, well equipped house in the quiet, relaxing setting of Nay. The pool and garden provide an environment perfect for relaxing. Nay itself is a lovely little town to have a look around, I recommend visiting the market. Overall, a lovely stay at Maison Berchon - thank you Tony and Yolanda.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelBug...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely big house, close to Pyrenees and very friendly & helpful hosts”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely old house, with modern bathrooms, a delight to stay there and the spiral staircase was beautiful. The pool was a bonus that we used nearly every day as it was so hot. It was a home from home, from handy basic ingredients in the kitchen, to the good supply of books and games. Great hosts, very friendly and helpful about local sites, restaurants and activities. The extensive welcome pack was useful to save visiting a supermarket immediately. Free wifi was helpful. Nay itself was very quiet at night with a very limited number of restaurants but the hosts had mentioned this in the property description and they had good dining suggestions in the slightly wider area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Limited evening dining / entertainment in Nay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat-Ingra...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large well-appointed house with nice pool”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family in August 2014 as part of a larger holiday. The hosts Tony & Yolanda were extremely welcoming and looked after us well while we were there. The booking process was efficient and they were flexible on dates when our return flight got mysteriously cancelled. The welcome pack that Yolanda provided was extensive and very useful, as we arrived just at the onset of a massive storm! The house itself is on 4 floors including the basement, so quite a lot of stair climbing, but it meant we had plenty of space particularly with the 2 bathrooms. The kitchen had pretty much everything that we needed, all the appliances worked well, and was one of the better rental kitchens we have stayed in. Outside, the pool was very nice and Tony did a great job of keeping it clean and perfectly chlorinated without being too much. In my opinion, the garden could have done with a bit of major tree and shrub clearance. I felt it was rather overgrown, and whilst this meant it was certainly private, it felt a little claustrophobic when in fact it was a very large space. I also think we could have done with a few more sun loungers, given the house is supposed to be able to house 8 people. Apart from these small niggles, we thought the place was very nice, and our hosts very accomodating. Nearby, within a 5 minute walk was possibly the best boulangerie in France! I thought all croissants tasted the same until I tasted these and the bread was fantastic! The nearby small town of Nay is nice enough but doesn't really offer much tourist appeal. There is a market but it is a "locals" market, so fine if you need a broom handle but not if you want a cheesy bracelet to remember your holiday. Restaurants were lacking in Nay too - 2 came recommended but one had turned into a burger bar and one was shut during the holidays. Slightly further away is Pau which has much more to offer and we went there a few times for dinner. There is a zoo nearby which we loved, Lourdes is short drive away and a trip into the Pyrenees is a must and a 45 minute drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The rest of the garden
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your thoughtful review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Maison Berchon and the varied attractions of the region.

Our aim is to offer the best possible experience for our guests – so, we take seriously even minor concerns, such as your ‘small niggles’. To date, nobody else has made the same or even similar observations – but we’ll canvass previous holidaymakers to find out their views.

As you say, Nay’s market is very much a local one, which is part of its charm. On Tuesday mornings, in particular, the market offers a fabulous range of fresh produce from the region – but there are also stalls that sell various gifts from traditional woven baskets and bags to handmade craft items, including children’s clothes and hats, scarves and jumpers made from local wool or farm-produced honeys and jams. I agree that souvenirs such as ‘cheesy bracelets’ are not much in evidence – but you can easily find the equivalent in Lourdes.

The recent and unexpected change to a burger cafe of the best-regarded Nayais restaurant has been a disappointment - though it’s fair to say that the burgers on offer are at the gourmet end of the spectrum. However, within less than a 10-minute drive (much closer than Pau) you can eat well at a number of restaurants in Lestelle Betharram, including the excellent Vieux Logis and the O Quatre Saisons, which guests have recommended – while five minutes takes you to the Lac de Baudreix lakeside restaurant, where they serve delicious food at both lunchtime and in the evening.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing