We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Little Place - Fantastic Hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Pine Cone in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FlyPig
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Little Place - Fantastic Hosts!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at the Pine Cone whilst on a short motorcycling break in the Cairngorms. The accommodation was very comfortable and warm - however, the sense of welcome provided by Mati and Bill was even warmer still! I arrived on my first day absolutely soaking wet, and Mati could not have offered more help to get me dry and settled - Bill even drove me to Tescos and back to avoid me having to put all my wet things on again!
The Pine Cone overlooks a well-kept garden and the woodland space below is quite enchanting, making me want to have a wood of my own! Banchory is a great little town with plenty of interesting shops and cafes.
My only small gripe would be about the doors on the kitchenette, which do make a good job of screening the sink, hob and fridge off. However, when using the kitchen, one seemed to be always moving the folded doors around to get to the fridge and then the sink. Maybe a blind would be more practical.
I would recommend the Pine Cone to any solo traveller or couple who want a quiet place to stay with lots to do nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: Thee kitchen doors
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Simon - thank you for your encouraging feedback and suggestions which we will consider. Hope that you may be able to stay with us again . Regards Bill and Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris359
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect countryside retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed a recent wonderful stay at the Pine Cone - a perfect, tranquil retreat with its own woodland at the end of the garden. The accommodation was very attractive, comfortable and cosy. Matti and Bill, our hosts, were so welcoming, friendly and helpful and extremely hospitable, providing plentiful provisions for breakfast, as well as tea and coffee etc. for their guests. We cannot recommend the cottage highly enough and hope very much to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your encouraging feedback. We would be delighted to welcome back any time in the future. Kind regards Bill and matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrot...
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay!! ”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently stayed for 3 nights at The Pine Cone and we found this to be a great little place for stay. Bill and matti were very welcoming and accommodating. Self contained kitchen, good size bedroom and living area. Great location too, including your own little parking space! Definitley recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Andy - many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and delighted that you were here on what was the warmest day in 2016. Kindest regards Matti The Pine Cone at Pine Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin W
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal and well looked after by our hosts”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely time staying at the Pine Cone. Bill and Mattie looked after us very well, even to the extent of supplying non-dairy mild and marg for these two vegan travellers. We had a mix up over payment and Bill and Mattie were very understanding and patient while we sorted it out. We'd definitely stay here again and recommend it as a bas for anyone exploring Deeside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Colin many thanks for your kind words- it was a delight to welcome visitors from New Zealand even if one had an Irish lilt! Enjoy the rest of your trip.regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyalla...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Bill and Mattie were lovely hosts who made my stay so comfortable and welcoming. The attention to detail made to make guests feel relaxed and at home is evident and I would definitely recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a holiday in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the excellent hosts
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing