We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sheila M
Ayr, United Kingdom

Doesn’t live up to the pictures and promises on the website

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 July 2022via mobile
Rooms cluttered. Bathroom floor not clean and covered with several rugs. Unnecessary toiletries but no shower gel.
Did not get offered ‘bubbly’ on arrival as promoted on Website.
Scottish breakfast very generous but bacon poor. Pancakes and peaches - far too sweet and pancakes hard - certainly not to my taste.
Dinner was offered , ordered in advance as required but in arrival it transpired that clerical error meant no dinner was available so we had to drive to the nearest town to find a restaurant.
I’m sure the owners are trying very hard but just not to our taste.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
10.4 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.2 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Villa
  • Vio.com
9.8 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.8 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
10.9 km from Bogenraith House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Self catering villas set in stunning Royal Deeside setting.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
13.0 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
16.8 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
11.1 km from Bogenraith House
Bar/Lounge
  • Agoda.com
15.5 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
23.6 km from Bogenraith House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Banchory
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
61
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit home from home fantastic weekend countryside setting lovely boutique her mom scottish breakfast fantastic hosts early check b bs spacious room poached eggs marilyn accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

We stayed at this really lovely boutique hotel ..
Marilyn and her Mum were without doubt the very best of hosts ..
The room was very comfortable..with everything provided..
I can see why this establishment has been awarded 5 stars by TripAdvisor..very well deserved xx
Yvonne and Ian Burdon ..

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yvonnebQ3963VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2022

Marilyn and her mother were excellent hosts. House beautifully decorated and furnished. We enjoyed the excellent breakfasts, with a big variety of choices.
Good choice for evening meals. A unique place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 933alastairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2022

We really love this place! Situated on farmland with a beautiful garden and frontage, Bogenraith House is a grand, well-appointed manor that's run by a mother and daughter team who have literally thought of their guests every need!
It's homely, quirky, clean, well-maintained and each room is decorated in it's own style.
Marilyn and her mother, Nen, provide everything to make your stay as comfortable as it can be. Right down to a pampering facial mask, face-washer (a hard thing to get nowadays!), top-sheet on the bed and single-handedly the MOST fluffy towels we've ever had the joy to use!
The bed is comfy, the shower very roomy with a strong pressure, the view out the windows are perfect! The sunset was awesome....
We ate a well-priced 3 course dinner in the dining room upstairs which was superbly cooked by Marilyn and happily served by Nen.
Marilyn is a busy, well-travelled singer/entertainer so she knows what it takes to create a home away from home.
We highly recommend this fantastic stay!

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank frankettey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2022 via mobile

We had the loveliest stay with 2 great hosts at a beautiful hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms where spotless, warm, beautifully decorated and the food we ordered was delicious. Everything catered to making our stay as comfy as possible and it was. Highly recommend boganreath house, it was an absolute delight from start to finish.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stay682907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marilyn Duncan, Owner at Bogenraith House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2022

Thank you so much Vanessa... It was just great to meet you and your family.
We hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
Marilyn@Bogenraith House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2022

Catered for everything! Amazing hospitality felt like a home from home. The selection of your evening meal was out this world. If your looking for a place to relax then this is definitely the place to go! could not recommend this place enough and will be back again in the future

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N1464JEmicheleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marilyn Duncan, Owner at Bogenraith House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Thank you so, so much Michelle.... It was great to meet you guys and really hope to see you again.
Thanks again
Marilyn@Bogenraith House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews