We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Roadside Pub”
Review of Lanivet Inn

Lanivet Inn
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a community led village pub focusing on the things that make a good pub great: quality food made from fresh locally sourced produce, the best kept ales, music, games and a whole lot of fun.
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

The ideal lunch stop if you’re driving from Bodmin to Truro.
Comfortable pub, friendly staff. Well-kept West Country beers, including the splendid Jail Ale.
Tasty, well-cooked, nicely presented food. Weekday lunch menu offers 2 mains for £16 but the general mains are too good to miss. Very good desserts.

Thank GreyGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018

The two evenings we dined here the food was enjoyable. The pool table is free which was great for us.

Thank earthkind2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

My friend and I went on Mother’s Day for the set menu. The staff were wonderful and very attentive. Really good service our waitress was so polite and couldn’t do enough for us. The food however let the place down. I ordered roast lamb off the set menu and my friend ordered the roast chicken. The food was very basic, our starters were feta and melon salad - no dressing literally just cheese slapped onto rocket :( really dry!! I think it had been sat out because it didn’t taste fresh. Also watermelon and feta is not a good combo: honeydew melon would’ve been better surely? For main course my lamb was very tough and really fatty I couldn’t eat it. The whole thing was swamped in gravy! My friends chicken was over cooked and really dry. Presentation wasn’t good it was all just thrown on the plate. I realise this is a pub and not a fine dining restaurant but there was no love or care at all put into the presentation whatsoever. I think it would be nice if the meals had been served with gravy in little boats so you could pour your own gravy. The veg was cooked well, the roast potatoes were nice. Looking at the reviews I was surprised the food was such a poor standard because it seems to be a popular place. Perhaps they were having an off day with it being a busy Sunday?

Thank Nicoletakemeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at Lanivet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. All feedback good and bad is always important for us to continually work to improve our offer. I only wish you had let us know on the day, by doing this we could have seen the issues you had and corrected anything you were unhappy with.
As you will know we check how the food is three times during your visit, once during your meal, once when we clear your plates and once when you are paying. We do this in the hope that customers will inform us then and there if there are any problems, so we can then correct any issues and learn from any mistakes.
As a team we are very proud of the quality of fresh, locally sourced food that we serve. We are also very aware we cannot get things right every time, but only hope that people will let us know at the time allowing us the opportunity to put things right.
Mother’s Day is an extremely busy day for us, in fact a record day for us this year. The feed back we got from everyone was extremely good, so it was very disappointing to see this review on here, after the feedback we had received on the day.
Unfortunately, as you did not let us know at the time, there is very little I can do. Other than apologise you were un happy and assure you the feedback you have given does not reflect our normal standard.
Hopefully if you are in the area again, you will visit us again and see that this is not a true reflection of the quality of food we offer and the standards you would normally expect.
Many thanks,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

As a regular here I have enjoyed every meal I've had! There is a vast menu with plenty of choice and the food always tastes so fresh. I am yet to try dessert as I'm always too full! Portion size is very generous!

Thank MrsCW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at Lanivet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much for your great review. I am really glad you have always enjoyed your food here, I do recommend you try and leave some room for one of our homemade desserts next time as they are great!
Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Been twice for a lunch out. Always made welcome, staff most friendly and the food was really nice. First visit we both had lasagne and this week scampi & ham, eggs and chips. The chips really good.

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanivet Inn also viewed

 
Bodmin, Cornwall
 

Been to Lanivet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing