We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint Quirky and away from it all.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ley Cottage

Ley Cottage...a peaceful and tranquil location within easy reach of Cornwalls attractions.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ley Cottage...a peaceful and tranquil location within easy reach of Cornwalls attractions.
Outside is perfect for an evening barbecue The paved garden is beautiful and private with many plants and birds............
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Ley Cottage...a peaceful and tranquil location within easy reach of Cornwalls attractions.
Outside is perfect for an evening barbecue
The paved garden is beautiful and private with many plants and birds............
Original art and crafts fill this artist's cottage, making it a homely place to stay
Comfortable sofas and a wood burning stove, cosy and warm.
The kitchen has everything you need for cooking and baking
Oven, fridge, washing machine and microwave
And a table for two!
If you like peace and quiet, you'll love this cottage
The main bedroom has a king size bed and plenty of storage space
Full of antiques and art
Fresh bed linen and towels are provided
The bathroom is newly fitted and has a full size bath with shower over
The second bedroom is comfortable and light
with a tranquil atmosphere
and more antique furniture
Ley Cottage - Your rural retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
chrisdave...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Difficult Access”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The road to Ley from the main road is very narrow, steep and with no true passing places; every trip to or from the cottage was a bit 'hairy!' Additionally we had great difficulty in getting in to the parking place, which is not really big enough, the entrance gates do not open fully and there was a considerably hump which had to be driven over and scratched the underneath of the car every time.

The cottage was clean, extremely well equipped with cooking equipment etc. and both the bed and the settees were comfortable. The garden was secluded and pleasant, and it was lovely and quiet, and totally dark at night; which we liked. But this cottage is not for the tall. My husband has numerous additionally bumps to his head and elbows.

I have a friend who would have loved this cottage, considering it an Aladdin's cave but for us there was just too much of everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Bed and settees
Liked least: Access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for leaving a review for your stay at Ley Cottage. Although the road you mention is narrow in places, there are two other access roads to the cottage which are much easier to navigate, although not as direct. The sat nav will take the shortest route unfortunately! We do explain in the directions how to avoid the narrow road but will try to make it more obvious still...I am glad that you found Ley Cottage comfortable and clean. The cottage belongs to an artist and her collection of arts and paintings are usually very well received....she does love the cottage, which was her home, and it shows!
We haven't had a problem with the parking space before now, but I will certainly look into what improvements can be made....there is space for parking outside the cottage too although I appreciate that guests do prefer off road parking.
Ley Cottage is an old traditional cottage, so probably not suitable for the very tall as you observe....average height is fine!!
Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and I'm glad that in general you had a nice holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddylevi...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Quirky and away from it all.”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Ley Cottage. Really enjoyed our stay Every where you look around this house each day you find something new tucked away. Well equiped, in fact everything you could want. Only downside was we did not feel cold enough to light the wood burner. But if we had fuel was suplied. Tea and milk and superb fruit cake waiting for us. Don't expect 5 star, think comfortable warm and rustic in a an ideal get away from it all spot. Great value for money. Loved it and dog friendly. Peter & Cynthia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Ley Cottage and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay......All the objects in the cottage are my personal collection and so I am glad it is to your taste! I would be pleased to welcome you back to Ley Cottage any time.
Thank you again,
Polly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaimaZ46
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxed stat”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband I recently ventured outside of London and booked ourselves for a NYE week in Ley Cottage.
From the offset of booking the cottage, Polly and her sister were wonderful. They helped us both plan our time in Cornwall.
The cottage itself is lovely. It had the old touch, but we both felt self and very cozy! The kitchen is fully stocked, the beds are wonderful, it has a lovely bathtub and the living room has a wonderful fire which we lit up every night. I think we must have left the cottage once in our stay!
I highly recommend staying here. This place is a wonder during the winter, and no doubt the summer too. It appeals to both couples, and families. It is literally in the middle of nowhere, but even our city nerves melted away once we saw the charm of the place.
Thank you Polly (and Tabitha!)
Saima & Asim Khan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ley Cottage. It IS lovely and cosy in the winter months with the open fire and the candles! We'd love to have you to stay again.
Thank you,
Polly and Tabitha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, Welcoming,Comfortable,Well Equipped Cottage .”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful cottage , very comfortable in lovely location. Cant wait to go back!!! Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ley Cottage and would love to welcome you back any time!
Tabitha and Polly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace/woodburner
Liked least: The country lanes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again hopefully. Polly and Tabitha.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 600
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing