We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, Welcoming,Comfortable,Well Equipped Cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ley Cottage

Ley Cottage...a peaceful and tranquil location within easy reach of Cornwalls attractions.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ley Cottage...a peaceful and tranquil location within easy reach of Cornwalls attractions.
Outside is perfect for an evening barbecue The paved garden is beautiful and private with many plants and birds............
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Ley Cottage...a peaceful and tranquil location within easy reach of Cornwalls attractions.
Outside is perfect for an evening barbecue
The paved garden is beautiful and private with many plants and birds............
Original art and crafts fill this artist's cottage, making it a homely place to stay
Comfortable sofas and a wood burning stove, cosy and warm.
The kitchen has everything you need for cooking and baking
Oven, fridge, washing machine and microwave
And a table for two!
If you like peace and quiet, you'll love this cottage
The main bedroom has a king size bed and plenty of storage space
Full of antiques and art
Fresh bed linen and towels are provided
The bathroom is newly fitted and has a full size bath with shower over
The second bedroom is comfortable and light
with a tranquil atmosphere
and more antique furniture
Ley Cottage - Your rural retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Frances L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, Welcoming,Comfortable,Well Equipped Cottage .”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful cottage , very comfortable in lovely location. Cant wait to go back!!! Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ley Cottage and would love to welcome you back any time!
Tabitha and Polly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace/woodburner
Liked least: The country lanes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again hopefully. Polly and Tabitha.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cally G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely little place to explore from”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here for a week, and it was a great location to explore Cornwall from. It is a 'get away from it all' place, in a tiny village in the middle of no where. The cottage was comfortable for the price but could do with some updating as there were mould patches on the wall around the bed in my sons room and the cottage had a distinct musty damp smell that we could not get rid off, even after the windows being left open for 4 days continuously. However everything you could have needed in regards to a home was there, the owners were really lovely and there was toilet paper, tea, sugar, milk and a cake on arrival. The place was spotless too!!!! Not a thing out of place and cleanliness was of a high standard. The beds were very comfortable as was one of the two couches. The front garden was in need of a quick tidy up, plants were over grown and there was a stagnant little pond, garden chairs were covered in a green mildew but it was of a reasonable size and barely overlooked. With regards to the time of year we went (late July) it was value for money, This cottage was also dog friendly, dogs were not allowed upstairs which our dog found a little distressing as she sleeps with my son, we only found this out on arrival as there was a sign on the stairs saying no dogs upstairs, dogs were also not allowed to be left unattended at the property so for evening meals out the dog had to sit in the boot of the car. The stairs in the cottage were quite steep and the was no landing so would be a hazard for those with younger children or a mobility problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The smell of the cottage was quite off putting
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ley Cottage and found it comfortable and clean.
Although it seems harsh not to allow pets upstairs in the cottage, we have to bear in mind our future visitors comfort and, as we supply the bed linen, we wouldn't want pet hairs to spoil a holiday. In our experience dogs are anxious when left alone in a strange place and so to avoid distress (and possible damage) we ask guests to make sure their pet is not left unattended.
Ley Cottage is more than 150 years old and does come with character! We do advise that the cottage isn't suitable for less mobile visitors as the stairs are a little steep. None of our other visitors have mentioned a "musty" smell and we do endeavour to keep Ley Cottage "spotless", so we are sorry that you found this during your stay. We will be looking into it.
Once again, thank you for your review and your comments, we appreciate the feedback.
Polly and Tabitha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cosy living room!
Liked least: There are no pubs in easy walking distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jun 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments! I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and we would love to have you as a guest again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful rural location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday at Ley Cottage and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing