We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other traveller has booked this property
Rivermead Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rivermead Farm
Rivermead Farm Cottage Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Rivermead Farm
Rivermead Farm Cottage
Lounge
Dining area of Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen
1st Floor Double Bedroom
1st Floor Twin Bedroom
Ground Floor Twin Bedroom
'Loft' Bedroom
Stairs down from 'Loft' Bedroom
Kingfisher Pool at Rivermead Farm
Stunning 17 acre grounds
Rivermead Farm lake stocked with Brown Trout
Rivermead Farm Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shaun K
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just stayed here with my family. Wow what a wonderful place this is!! Overwhelmed as soon as we got here a very warm welcome and a beautiful welcome hamper too.We stayed in Otter Lodge over looking the river. The lodge itself was stunning inside. The showers are definitely user friendly to anybody who is disabled my Dad is partially blind and had no problems with anything. If your looking for an all action out drinking every night holiday then this isn't for you. If your looking for beautiful serene relaxing holiday then it definitely is. There is still plenty to do, fishing on the river is free a small golf course free, swing ball croquet as many board games as you can think of. Bbq and outside seating area lovely too. We will definitely be coming back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Thank you for the lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in Otter lodge and look forward to welcoming you back next October in both Otter and Owl lodge, hope the other family members, who weren’t with you this vist, will love it as much as you. Thank you also for leaving the lodge so tidy, we do appreciate it. See you next year! Marjorie & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afmmbob
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and perfect for our family visit”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Farm cottage is a great place to stay near Bodmin. Superbly well equipped, we couldn't fault it on anything. The welcome hamper was an especially nice touch. We would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
We thank you for taking the time to leave your review and are delighted to know you enjoyed your special time at Rivermead Farm. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emzikles
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The ideal getaway”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed in Oaktree - tasteful decoration and beautiful surroundings to wake up to. Love the fitness trail that goes around the grounds and by the river. Owners were really welcoming as well, the hamper was a much appreciated welcome touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
We are delighted to receive your 5* review, we are glad you enjoyed the fitness trail, it does help when trying to work off the delicious cream teas that are available almost everywhere in Cornwall. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rivermead Farm in the future. Kevin & Marjorie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annielaur...
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A luxurious tastefully appointed lodge in a lush green peaceful valley”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

As this was our second visit to Rivermead we knew we were going to a super location in the heart of Cornwall,a half hour at most from both coastlines.Our hosts did not disappoint with their welcome basket(we knew they would n't)no cheapos from Marjorie and Kevin,cornish butter ,large local eggs,clotted cream, scones I could go on it was a delight.We stayed in one of the new lodges this time and the furnishings and facilities were first class from the Portmeirion china to Viners cutlery plus the spectacular views across the valley and evening walks along the river.Absolutely everything has been thought of we hope to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed one of our new lodges, we too are thrilled with the finish and comfort. It was great seeing you back at Rivermead Farm and hope to see you again in the future. We do appreciate you taking the time to leave such a positive review, thank you! Glad the cream tea etc was still up to 'standard' Kevin & Marjorie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarface3...
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A CORNISH IDYLL...”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

After a very friendly exchange of emails to confirm booking details, we arrived to find a welcome 'hamper' of milk, butter, scones, clotted cream and strawberry jam. We had not travelled far to get to Rivermead, but that welcoming gesture, and the personalised welcome on the chalk-board above it, set the tone for the whole week. Really well appointed and comfortably furnished, with all mod cons in the kitchen (even the mugs are Dunoon ceramics!) we wanted for nothing in Rivermead Cottage. A family group of four, with a 93 year old lady who used the downstairs bedroom and bathroom (a REALLY useful feature of this cottage) we immediately felt right at home. With an 8 month old puppy (we had notified the owners of this and they agreed we could take Lotti, our German Wirehaired Pointer) the estate was a dream come true; straight out of the door and a short walk down to the river bank (of the River Fowey) then a half mile walk along it to the trout pond (stocked with brown trout, and a birdwatchers haven), before going up hill onto the wide manicured lawns and back through little spinneys with wild undergrowth in the bottom. Fantastic for a young dog, who really developed confidence in water and learned to swim properly. As a touring base it is excellent; we did not venture out every day (it was a wettish November and some attractions were closed or on limited hours) but went to Lanhydrock House, the Eden Project and the town of Fowey on 3 of our 6 days there. With a beautiful golden autumn this year, the remaining days were spent in the delightful, tranquil, grounds of Rivermead. Marjorie and Kevin, the owners, have thought of everything - even down to providing raised chairs, binoculars and bird species charts in the wooden 'birding' hut overlooking the pond! That level of forethought and 'customer care' is a rare find these days. In addition, Kevin is an ever-present smiling and friendly face for whom no problem is insuperable; what he cannot find or fix then, he will sort out ASAP. We were delighted with our stay, and have vowed to return again in 2017 to this realy charming, relaxing, hospitable and beautiful little Cornish idyll - and it's caring and consciencious owners. Only down-side (if it IS a down-side!) was that the wifi signal was a bit hit-and-miss and fairly weak; once we knew that, the iPads were abandoned - which probably added to the 'get away from it all' feel of our holiday there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The picturesque location.
Liked least: The weather!- but the owners cannot control that.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we did enjoy meeting your family and Lotti and are delighted that you have already enquired about next year. WiFi in this area can be a little problematic but we can also supply a mobile MiFi for guests experiencing Issues, we have found this does overcome any BT issues, so please ask next year if you have problems with a signal. Thanking you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing