We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchbreak visit”
Review of Jack Sevens

Jack Sevens
Ranked #11 of 38 things to do in Macclesfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A hidden gem down a small ginnell just off Chestergate in Macclesfield (next to Bank Clothing). Jack Sevens Cafe & Gallery (a re-furbished two storey silk mill) displays regular shows of contemporary art works from local and international artist. In addition the gallery has a gorgeous cafe and seated courtyard area serving a select range of hot and cold food with daily specials for breakfast and lunches. In addition we serve a large selection of artisan tea's with freshly ground barista coffee's and a selection of award winning home-made cakes. Downstairs is a small concession of selection design led gift-ware.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Went with a colleague. TBH finding it hard to rate. The food is superb. The venue is quirky with arts and sculptures in each room. The layout is slightly odd, you go through, what feels like the back of the cafe to get to the stairs for more seating.
The only reason for loosing a star is that service is slow.

Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad you think the food is superb. The cafe is slightly unusual in design...but glad you appreciated the art and sculptures.

All food is freshly prepared (we are not a chain) which is probably why you thought it was superb...At busy times you may wait 20 mins ...which we normally advise when you place an order.

Hope to see you again

Jack Sevens Cafe and Gallery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"art gallery"
in 5 reviews
"pancakes"
in 3 reviews
"earl grey"
in 3 reviews
"great art"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful artwork"
in 2 reviews
"type of place"
in 2 reviews
"light lunch"
in 4 reviews
"excellent coffee"
in 3 reviews
"quirky place"
in 2 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 4 reviews
"teacakes"
in 2 reviews
"hidden away"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"treacle"
in 2 reviews
"ravens"
in 11 reviews
"menu"
in 18 reviews
"cafe"
in 19 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Lunch with family members ... Service abysmal in view of the fact the place wasn’t busy. We couldn’t order a breakfast because they were too busy???? Very strange. Had to go look for staff after 20 minutes wait for coffees etc which eventually turned up with the food. In fairness the food was OK. But very badly let down let by the service.

Thank keh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed the food and drinks. Our cafe is slightly unusual in that there are several eating areas, therefore sometimes in one area it may appear we are not busy...whilst several customers are in others.

All our food is freshly prepared and therefore will take a little wait...it sounds like you waited 20 minutes for your food and drinks, which at lunch time may be the case.

Appreciate your comments but we are a small independent business, and not a fast food outlet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

This is most certainly a tale of two halves - the coffee, cakes & food are wonderful as are the younger members of staff, their attitude and attention to detail is impeccable!!!!!

However this is let down rather dramatically by the outrageously poor customer service ‘skills’ of the managers/owners. On this occasion, I popped in for a business meeting (just drinks) on a quiet weekday afternoon & was met with such distain & rudeness I was rather taken back. It wasn’t at all busy & the curt, sharp response was at best embarrassing, at least shocking! I assume this is just their nature having now read other reviews & their rather amusing responses, says it all really.

If you go in & manage to have the younger staff serve you, you’re on a winner, I for one will not be taking that chance again!

Thank Kazboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buddricho, Manager at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

We are at a complete loss has to what your complaint is?? you do not explain this but give a rating of one star?? The manager and staff are never rude to customers ...maybe you were having a bad day?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

I was very impressed with the brunch myself and my partner had today; when u asked about what dishes were dairy and gluten free staff were able to advise me and even offered to make a new dish up for me which was great. In the end i chose the pancakes with creme fraiche, honey and fruit and my partner he had the breakfast stack. Other times I have been with family members and the service has been a little slow and staff have been a bit abrupt but they have always served us with a smile. The food and drink choice is excellent and you have almost too much to choose from - the only thing missing is the chance to have a glass of white wine on those hot summer days!!

The concept of the gallery in a coffee shop works well and is an interesting one too.

Thank Starchick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for your kind review - we look forward to seeing you in the future...we are hoping to be able to offer wine from summer onwards. Jack Sevens Cafe & Gallery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Visited the Treacle fair and nowhere was open, our grandson needed a sit down and a drink, we spotted the cafe setting up and asked if they were open.....although they weren't really, a very pleasant man welcomed us in and provided drinks all round.....bless him. Lovely cappuccino, and soft drinks in a quirky little room....very happy to have found this place....and such a nice, helpful man....a real change from ''we're shut''.....

Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolpackcottage, Owner at Jack Sevens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review...David n Chris @ Jack Sevens Cafe & Gallery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Sevens also viewed

 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Jack Sevens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing