We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Week”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard cottage

View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Orchard Cottage entrance by lower floor Picture showing how the other cottage adjoins. Orchard cottage has a private balcony and privacy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
View from the orchard showing the large balcony from the lounge
Orchard Cottage entrance by lower floor
Picture showing how the other cottage adjoins. Orchard cottage has a private balcony and privacy
View from the balcony
One side with gravel inclining path onto the balcony
A stone with the other cottages painted on it.
Stone at the entrance to the wee clachan
Bathroom
Electric shower
view to orchard.garage beside
View from balcony
NEW. This amazing pool is within walking distance from Orchard Cottage. Exercise in any weather.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Glenn I
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Week”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We chose this cottage as our base for getting married at the nearby Field of Dreams rather than staying at a nearby hotel and it could not have been more perfect. Karon and Malcolm went out of their way to make us feel welcome, getting in a new BBQ for the balcony for us to have 1 or 2 people round the following day. Great views from the cottage, great area for travelling, great dogs, really really great week. I'm sure we will be back! Thanks for everything! Glenn and Louise

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Hi Glenn
That is so kind of you to take the trouble and Malcolm and I really appreciate it. So glad all went well. It was lovely to help towards your big day and we wish you both all the very best for your future together. Would love to see you again
Kind regards
Karon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Compact and Bijou!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very quaint and charming!
A bit hard to find at first but once we got there we loved it! Very well finished with everything you could need! Beautiful views of the countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you Heather. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I noticed in the visitors book you said you woukd return so I hope to meet you next time!
Karon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pronky
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A unique property,very tranquil and rural.”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a very peaceful three days here.Karon and Malcom the owners were extra kind and the cottage has been very cleverly built into the rocky ground with the upstairs terrace overlooking beautiful fields home to herds of contented cattle.
The only very minor criticism we had was that we found it a bit hard to find the cottage at first.
I have been self catering for many years and have never found a cleaner place nor such a well fitted out kitchen.
We would love to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Having to move on.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVONSHIR...
Plympton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A quiet and peaceful haven”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Orchard Cottage,whilst attending a Christmas wedding in nearby Newtownards.Arriving in the dark from Belfast ferry port,we were greeted with warmth by Karon and Malcolm.A compact cottage with all the amenities we needed for our stay, in fact a home from home .A decorated Christmas tree in the window was a lovely touch, as was the Christmas gifts from the owners.What a wonderful comfortable bed.Great views of the surrounding countryside can be had from the balcony ,unfortunately the weather wasn't conducive to sit outside. Would love to come back one day and stay a different time of the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the area and the non intrusiveness of the owner.
Liked least: The lanes to get to the cottage,difficult to find with no signs up,also Sat Nav was useless.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XsuzyX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Can not recommend this place enough. It's peaceful and scenic, the owners are friendly and extremely helpful! We didn't want to go home! Thank you both once again, truly a wonderful weekend break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing