We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage with great views in a peaceful...”
other travellers have booked this property
traditional outside- all modern comforts inside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
traditional outside- all modern comforts inside
plenty of parking space in front and behind house open plan layout, great for holidays
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
traditional outside- all modern comforts inside
plenty of parking space in front and behind house
open plan layout, great for holidays
bring the outside inside in the sunroom
bright sunroom with stunning views over the ythan valley
plenty of space in the master bedroom
master bedroom with      en-suite
the pheasant - another spacious twin room
picnic table- suitable for morning coffee.....
....or a locally distilled Aberdeen Gin with Tonic
relax in the lovely hot tub spa- robes and bubbly included.
the neighbours look forward to meeting you
view of village of Methlick from the cottage
adventure playground in the village- perfect for keeping the kids happy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ellon, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sgm13
Berkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with great views in a peaceful location!”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Brae Cottage is beautifully presented, cosy, clean and had everything we needed for our stay with our 5 year old son. Sarah was very welcoming and provided some groceries to get us started before we could get to the shops. There were fantastic views across the fields and down the valley; and it was a pleasant walk down into the village for a welcome meal at the local pub. The combination of a real fire in the evening and a sun room for bright days was perfect for the time of year!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your review. It really helps us to know what our guests need and value so we can keep on providing the best service we can- and of course we are fortunate to have such a great location. Best wishes, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laly1975
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and great grounds”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house was comfortable and well furnished, the house owner was welcoming and lovely. The sun room was beautiful and overlooked the amazing Scottish countryside. The location is a little remote for access to Abderdeen but fantastic for a restful rural holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Thankyou for taking the trouble to review the cottage. I am delighted you have such a positive memory of your stay and are pleased to share it with others.
For those who wish to go to the city we find aberdeen is easily reached within an hour and new roads are currently being built which will make this journey quicker for the future. We have sizeable towns such as Inverurie within 20 miles which provide good services and variety of shops both local and national. For those who want to get away from it all- you are right- Brae cottage is ideal! Thanks again, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariolind...
Erkelenz, Germany
2 reviews
“Beautiful holidays at Brae cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It was now our third stay at Brae cottage and it will not be the last one. Like before everything was outstanding starting with the welcome of the owner over the cottage itself, very well equipped, and the location. Form here you have the possibillity to visited a lot of nice places where Scotland is famous for e.g. Castles, Gardens,Distilleries or enjoy the silence and the view from the cottage Side.

Many thanks to Sarah and Neil

Family Mario Lindt.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Hello Mario, thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. It is always a pleasure to know we are getting things right for our visitors- and to see you return! best wishes, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareMont...
1 review
“Clean and comfortable in beautiful tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights with my 2 young children and 2 more family members. Beautiful views, with a nice walk down to the local pub which serves delicious food! The owners of the cottage were extremely helpful and friendly, we will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review, Clare, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and it is good to know which aspects you enjoyed most. We especially enjoy welcoming return guests and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laly1975
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely house in the beautiful Scottish highlands”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I visited during Christmas with my husband, two children and mother in law while visiting family in Ellon. Ahead of the visit, family visited the cottage and met our host Sarah. She was very helpful and welcoming - and provided additional children items (a cot, a highchair) when asked about items for young children.

The cottage was lovely and finished to a high standard. The layout - with the sun room away from the bedrooms - allowed the children to play and make normal child noise in the sun room while adults slept in the bedrooms - which was lovely. The space was perfect, and there was plenty of space for everyone. I wholeheartedly recommend this adorable and fantastic cottage to anyone with high standards visiting North East Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
So delighted to have such positive feedback. We will keep trying to improve what we offer inside the cottage, and we need the views of our guests to know how to do that.
Many thanks, and we hope to see you back again, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing