We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the town centre”
Review of Buchan Hotel

Buchan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buchan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ellon
Reviewed 19 September 2016

+ free car park
+ free wi-fi
+ refurbished room
+ table in the room
+ town centre location
+ very comfortable bed

- a noise from downstairs pub
- window faced at the roundabout corner
- no lift
- small bathroom
- too small room for 2 people
- the food needs improvment in the restaurant

Room Tip: do not choose a room above the pub or faced to the roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAROSLAV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Being in Aberdeen for the weekend decided to go for a Sunday lunch at the Buchan hotel Ellon . Having previously visited the hotel for an evening meal and enjoy the experience, gave the Sunday cavery a go.

Enjoyed the cavery selection , with beef , turkey, ham as the cavery choice. Beef in particular very good. Vegetables very fresh and hot and in plentiful supply and regularly refreshed.

Staff warm and welcoming with very efficient, no long wait for ordering.
Nice location right by the river with a very comfortable and bright,airy dining room.

Very reasonable costs for two or three course meal. Well worth a visit

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bobbybonga44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Been here a number of times now and have never been disappointed. Tonight was no exception. Great food and the staff are friendly, attentive and professional. We had a fussy eater in our party but it wasn't an issue as there is plenty on the menu to choose from.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Arlened40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Nothing good to say about this hotel. would never stay here again.
Dated and dark rooms and corridors. Window in the room wouldn't open, Bath towels the size of post stamp. no soap in the bathroom..
On top of that, noise from the bar and fighting in the early hours meant the worse nights sleep ever....

Next time i'll stay in the premier inn in Aberdeen, and save GBP 60.00

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosT7773CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Booked table for family high tea and we were not disappointed at all. There were plenty of choice on the high tea menu and kids offered kids menu. Our older child got a half portion of high tea menu. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed meals, toast and our selection of bite sized cakes and lovely warm scones. It was very busy so obviously a popular choice with locals and passers by. We had been there before but not for sometime. We did think the high tea price was maybe slightly higher than other places at £13.50 each but all thought was well worth the money. We would certainly go again. Recommend Chicken Maryland and the Beef Steak Pie. Yummy! Sorry cannot comment on the hotel rooms, etc as we only used the lounge bar.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AES41inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellon
18 km away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
0.1 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ellon
149 reviews
1 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Shallowplough
Shallowplough
#1 of 1 in Ellon
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Hotel

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Ellon AB41 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ellon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ellon
Price Range: $124 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buchan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Hotel Ellon, Scotland - Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing