We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
18
44
20
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
44
20
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teathe main roadstayed for one nightbeef steak pieold buildingstaff were friendlytoasttasty foodhotel is situatedfamily weddingwould stay here againturkeycarverymenusupperfreezerstroll
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Being in Aberdeen for the weekend decided to go for a Sunday lunch at the Buchan hotel Ellon . Having previously visited the hotel for an evening meal and enjoy the experience, gave the Sunday cavery a go.

Enjoyed the cavery selection , with beef , turkey, ham as the cavery choice. Beef in particular very good. Vegetables very fresh and hot and in plentiful supply and regularly refreshed.

Staff warm and welcoming with very efficient, no long wait for ordering.
Nice location right by the river with a very comfortable and bright,airy dining room.

Very reasonable costs for two or three course meal. Well worth a visit

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bobbybonga44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Been here a number of times now and have never been disappointed. Tonight was no exception. Great food and the staff are friendly, attentive and professional. We had a fussy eater in our party but it wasn't an issue as there is plenty on the menu to choose from.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Arlened40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Nothing good to say about this hotel. would never stay here again.
Dated and dark rooms and corridors. Window in the room wouldn't open, Bath towels the size of post stamp. no soap in the bathroom..
On top of that, noise from the bar and fighting in the early hours meant the worse nights sleep ever....

Next time i'll stay in the premier inn in Aberdeen, and save GBP 60.00

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosT7773CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Booked table for family high tea and we were not disappointed at all. There were plenty of choice on the high tea menu and kids offered kids menu. Our older child got a half portion of high tea menu. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed meals, toast and our selection of bite sized cakes and lovely warm scones. It was very busy so obviously a popular choice with locals and passers by. We had been there before but not for sometime. We did think the high tea price was maybe slightly higher than other places at £13.50 each but all thought was well worth the money. We would certainly go again. Recommend Chicken Maryland and the Beef Steak Pie. Yummy! Sorry cannot comment on the hotel rooms, etc as we only used the lounge bar.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AES41inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We recently found ourselves in Ellon at 9am on a Saturday and could not find anywhere (well we sat in 2 cafes and were ignored both times by the waiting staff who were too busy yapping....) to have breakfast. We asked a passer by who recommended The Buchan Hotel.

The food was lovely, served quickly and hot, although quiet expensive for an out of city breakfast in a hotel. The reason however I felt compelled to leave this review was because of the chap who dealt with us (I think his name was John) he was friendly, helpful, attentive and really went above and beyond to make two very tired and grumpy travellers happy. Thank you John, you're a star!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank futret81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews