We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Heswall, Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing break”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I booked this hotel for a birthday surprise for my husbands birthday. The hotel had excellent reviews and when we drove up it looked a lovely hotel. We arrived at 12:00 as we were on the all inclusive break. We were turned away and told to come back at 2:00. This spoilt our whole day as I had planned a 4 hour walk around the area of the hotel. We booked in at 2:00, we had asked if we could stay in the old part but we were given a room in the new part, but we knew it wasn't guaranteed. Our room however was lovely. The first night my husband had steak which was terrible. He couldn't eat it. We thought paying £6 extra for the steak it would be nice. We did complain and we were told the steaks hadn't been good lately. All my husband had that night was 6 chips and some cheese and biscuits, which wasn't good as he is diabetic. That night there was a plumbing problem and we had very little sleep because all we could hear was water from the tank above our ceiling. We had asked for an early morning call, which we didn't receive so we were rushed getting down for breakfast, Breakfast was good although our coffee was cold as we had to wait so long for milk. We also had to ask twice if we could have some butter for our toast. I can sometimes understand when a hotel is fully booked and staff are over worked, but we arrived on a Monday morning usually a very quiet time for hotels. We felt very unwelcome probably because we complained. We asked to see the duty manager but was told that he wasn't available. The hotel is lovely, the dining room exceptional, the area great for geocaching and walking. We have been on these all inclusive breaks many times and enjoyed them all except this one. Maybe because it was a monday. There were only a few on the all inclusive so there wasn't as much atmosphere as you would get at the weekend.

Room Tip: Not room 39 because, flush on the toilets don't work properly and the toilet keeps filling up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandiways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us - we have also received you direct email contact through Accor and have responded via that avenue.

Once again thank you for your comments

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    321
    151
    63
    51
See reviews for
115
531
18
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I went for a two day break to the hotel. We booked through travel zoo with full board and a four hour bar each evening. The hotel takes you to the past and parts dates from 12th century. It is surrounded by walks and a small lake. There is a mirriad of drawing rooms and the restaurant os beyond belief. My wife and I do eat out quite a lot and the food was superb. Ihad red mullet one night and sea bass on the other, the steaks that my wife had were to die for. Must go back again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Hello and thank you for such positive feedback regarding your visit. Please keep any eye out for more special offers and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in the Madely Court Hotel for two nights and had a great break. The hotel includes a lovely restaurant which we visited on both nights - the food was fantastic, especially the blue cheese bon bons (starter) and the creme brulee. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you visit the area, I recomend a trip to the lovely nearby village Ironbridge, only 10 or so minutes drive from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about staying in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahd148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Firstly, let me say that this s a lovely hotel, great position for exploring, great value on the al inclusive package. The staff in the restaurant were lovely, the food delicious but stay away from room 48 (unless they feedback that the plumbing is fixed).
this was our second visit to this hotel taking advantage of their all inclusive offer.The hotel itself is a lovely old building, On our last visit,about 9 months ago we were in the east wing and it was lovely. On this visit we were in room 48 which is an annexe building away from the main hotel. The annexe is an open building and the 3 rooms on the 1st floor have small enclosed lobby. When we went up to the room,the heating in the small lobby was not switched on so was very cold. The bedroom was a nice size, very large bed (comfortable) and a single so presumably a family room, I had booked a double. The room was clean except for the carpet which was extremely stained. The bathroom was a very good size and clean.....but the hot water supply was abysmal. It was impossible to have a shower as there is no power, it runs in slow motion, you either had a cold strong shower or a scalding dribble. The supply to the sink was not a lot better and when first the hot water is turned on it just spluttered in complaint. I reported this at reception but there was no improvement or further contact regarding this. Also it would be nice if when they clean the rooms they also gave it a hoover. As the hotel is so close to walking areas the carpets really should be hoovered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpingjacks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mercure Madeley Court.
We did have problems with the water pressure on the showers over the time of your stay but this problem has now been resolved.

once again thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked an evening meal and overnight stay with breakfast as a birthday treat for my husband, and it could not have been better!! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service could not be faulted, the surroundings are superb, the whole place is so clean and tidy, and relaxing, our room was warm and cosy, beautifully decorated, with a gorgeous view of the lake and a jacuzzi bath tub! Staff are extremely well presented and welcoming, everyone wished my husband a happy birthday which was a lovely special touch. Our evening meal was superb! Delicious and plenty of it, service was fantastic. Breakfast was also a relaxing affair and the full english was to die for! We went to the Madeley Court Hotel to relax and "get away from it all" and that's exactly what we did, We would recommend this place to anyone, anf will definately be going back, can't wait!!!!

Room Tip: Chapel room is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMines, General Manager at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hello and thank you for such positive comments regarding your stay with us.

We hope the birthday celebrations went well and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Noel Mines
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeley
3.4 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
884 reviews
23.8 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.1 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,120 reviews
4.2 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
5.8 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Property: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Address: Castlefields Way, Madeley TF7 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Madeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madeley
Price range (per night): $101 - $193
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel is one of few hotels steeped in so much history. It offers the ambiance of a beautiful 16th-century manor house with parts of the hotel dating as far back as the 13th century, together with all the facilities you'd expect of a modern hotel. You can relax in the stunning conservatory bar overlooking the lake, take a walk around the walled gardens or just settle down in the library. The hotel can be easily reached from junction 4 of the M54 and is only 4 miles from Telford Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeley Clarion
Clarion Madeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing