We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from North Yorkshire Moors Railway tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience North Yorkshire Moors Railway
from USD 55.90
More Info
from USD 50.50
More Info
from USD 61.80
More Info
from USD 59.80
More Info
Reviews (3,772)
Filter reviews
3,772 results
Traveller rating
2,578
808
221
99
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,578
808
221
99
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return journey engine sheds grosmont station pullman dining diesel train caught the train rover ticket beautiful countryside lovely trip fish and chips rolling stock ticket office run by volunteers yorkshire moors step back in time harry potter family ticket
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 3,772 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great experience. Excellent food and service with lots of Yorkshire charm. Lots of steam trains to keep enthusiasts happy

1  Thank susanbH6395SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the Pickering to Whitby trip. Tickets were £29 each return.
Managed to get window seats and the scenery was lovely with puffing steam flying past the windows.
There is a refreshment cart that you can buy tea coffee, wine and snacks
Pickering station, along with the others on the line, have been restored to their old glory. Lovely to see
The shop on Platform 1 had a good range of Train memorabilia and gifts.

Thank MrsC360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's a great review - thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have done the return trip from Pickering to Whitby several times but this time took some friends who are new to the area. They [and we] loved it. Beware though, the train can get very busy ! Not the cheapest way to travel but definitely a wonderful way to travel. Whitby is a lovely place to visit and also if time allows, for the Harry Potter or Heartbeat fans, it is worth getting off at Goathland where you can spend a couple of hours exploring the local area.

Thank LadyJ22Cambria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - it's always lovely to hear from our regular travellers. We'll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This little railway is just the ticket. The stations, signal boxes, rolling stock and locos are all lovingly cared for by a band of passionate volunteers. The icing on the cake is the Pullman that runs from Grosmont to Pickering and back. The Sunday lunch on it is superb, your starter and main is served on the way to Pickering and dessert and coffee on the way back to Grosmont.
What isn't made clear is that if you are staying at Pickering a return ticket to/from Grosmont is included in the price, just show your Pullman email/print off at the ticket office and they'll print them off for you. Excellent stuff.

1  Thank Cobnapint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for a great review - we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I wanted to travel to Whitby from Pickering on Sept. 5th and return the next day the 6th, we were told return tickets can only be bought for travel the same day so we bought 2 singles.
The journey on the 5th was quite underwhelming, not a lot of moorland scenery as the track ran a lot lower than the top of the moors so that much of the journey was among tree's and railway cuttings, quite understandable I suppose, but why is this advertised as a scenic route?
Because we could not buy a next day return for the train we elected to use the bus service to return to Pickering, this was a wonderful scenic route and at a third of the price of the train.
The train journey was nostalgic but the bus journey had the edge for both scenic views and lower cost.
On this occasion the train company shot themselves in the foot because of their restrictive Fares structure.

Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Pete,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback.

We are currently looking at how we can update our system to enable splitting a return journey over two days. Hopefully with some development work on our Epos system we may be able to offer this in the future.

If you would like to discuss this further please email laura.strangeway@nymr.co.uk.

Many thanks,
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews