We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out ”

North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The North Yorkshire Moors Railway is one of the world’s greatest heritage railway experiences with thrills and education at its heart. Climb on-board a steam or heritage diesel train on one of the earliest and most historic lines. Experience 24 miles of Yorkshire’s amazing scenery at this must-see visitor attraction. We will take you on a journey you can’t even imagine! Explore the Railway • Pickering Station is a must-see 1930’s themed station that will transport you back in time to the locomotive steam era. • A must-see is the celebrity station, Goathland, which became Hogsmeade Station in the first Harry Potter film. • Explore Grosmont Station which is home to the operating and engineering world of the NYMR. If you are lucky you might be able to catch a sneaky peak at the work taking place on our engines! • Visit Whitby with its narrow streets and bustling harbour overlooked by the striking ruins of Whitby Abbey. • Explore Levisham Station which is surrounded by the North York Moors.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Right from the nostalgic setting of Pickering station to the wooden panelled first class carriage (does cost an additional premium but worth it) on the return journey from Whitby everything about the trip on this wonderful railway was amazing. The staff were lovely and very knowledgeable happy to share facts and interesting info. The smells, sights and experience can’t be beaten and were the highlight of our trip. With a couple of hours to spend in delightful Whitby what could be better - would thoroughly recommend x

Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

That's a brilliant review - thank you so much. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day out with the NYMR and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"return journey"
in 228 reviews
"engine sheds"
in 92 reviews
"grosmont station"
in 57 reviews
"pullman dining"
in 102 reviews
"diesel train"
in 39 reviews
"caught the train"
in 38 reviews
"rover ticket"
in 83 reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 74 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 48 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 74 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 60 reviews
"ticket office"
in 56 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 48 reviews
"yorkshire moors"
in 36 reviews
"step back in time"
in 87 reviews
"harry potter"
in 84 reviews
"family ticket"
in 48 reviews
Filter

399 - 403 of 3,708 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We went from Pickering to Whitby and back - on the return we got off at goathland and walked back to Grosmont (that way it’s downhill. ..) - where we picked up the next train to complete the journey. The Walk takes about an hour follows the old horse drawn railway line. It’s a lovely trail (and muddy!). It’s pretty well signposted but worth having directions downloaded in case.
The Trains and stations really take you back in time - kids loved the journey as did we. The station cafes are great too.

2  Thank leapingimpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

That's a great review - thank you so much. It sounds as if you really made the best of your day out with the NYMR. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We travelled from Grosmont to Goathland recently and were fortunate to see 3 steam trains within a few minutes at Grosmont and another when we alighted at Goathland. The journey was great fun as usual with spectacular views and the staff friendly and helpful. We travelled towards the end of a Sunday afternoon, and the trains were a little late, (a frequent busy late afternoon problem). Good cup of tea at Grosmont tea room, and a lovely warm fire in the Ladies Waiting Room

Thank MadalynH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for a lovely review. It sounds as if you really had a great time with the NYMR.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stay nearby quite often & always visit here, whether to watch trains or just for a cuppa yorkshire tea

Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

It's lovely to hear from returning visitors. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We booked on the train from Pickering to Whitby over the Easter weekend and found the train to be full all the way with some people having to stand. The scenery you travel through is stunning and the steam trains they run are great really giving you an oldy worldy feel to tout day out. Our return train (last train from Whitby) was late but much quieter.

Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review - we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day out with the NYMR. It certainly was busy over the Easter weekend but at least your return trip was quieter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Yorkshire Moors Railway also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to North Yorkshire Moors Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing