We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from North Yorkshire Moors Railway tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience North Yorkshire Moors Railway
from USD 50.80
More Info
from USD 56.20
More Info
from USD 62.20
More Info
from USD 60.20
More Info
Reviews (3,764)
Filter reviews
3,764 results
Traveller rating
2,575
806
218
99
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,575
806
218
99
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return journey engine sheds grosmont station pullman dining diesel train caught the train rover ticket beautiful countryside lovely trip fish and chips rolling stock ticket office run by volunteers yorkshire moors step back in time harry potter family ticket
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 3,764 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Went from Pickering to Goathland on a steam train. Lovely staff, train on time and a great experience for all the family.
Enjoyed all that Goathland has to offer, including a walk down to the Spout.
Nice little cafe in the station. Seats made from converted train trucks.
It's great to watch and smell the trains going past.
Returned on a diesel with lovely old carriages.
The volunteers must work very hard to keep this going. Very pleased we made the journey.

2  Thank JulieLawson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

That's a lovely review - thank you so much. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We came to the NYMR for their annual Wartime Weekend which runs from Friday to Sunday. Lots of people take part, dressing in period costume and strolling around the town and stations along the line - including at Whitby. The stations go to town with displays and decorations to indicate that we were in the 1940s. Levisham Station even becomes Le Visham, a French territory occupied by the Germans.

Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you so much - we're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Railway in Wartime event and hope to see you again next year - if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We joined the train at Pickering, and took the return trip through the Esk Valley to Whitby. Its a fantastic line, the staff brilliant and friendly. Our collie loved the trip as well. Timings were slightly erratic and keeping these old locos running is a dedicated job from a wide number of volunteers and staff. Cant fault the experience, venue, and trains.

Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We're so pleased to hear that you and your collie enjoyed your trip with the NYMR and thank you for giving us such a good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

First time on a steam train. Travelling in a first class carriage, bliss... beautiful scenery and then we went to the best fish and chip shop in Whitby overlooking the sea..... brilliant day, very enjoyable experience and relaxing.

1  Thank EllieCorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for a great review. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful day out with the NYMR and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We did the return trip from Pickering to Whitby, the train was clean and comfortable, my grandson enjoyed every minute, at both ends the volunteers were helpful and the refreshments were inexpensive and well presented, overall a wonderful day, the scenery was outstanding, I would not hesitate to repeat the experience, thanks for a wonderful day

1  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

That's a lovely review - thank you so much. We're very pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your day out with the NYMR and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews