We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steam train trip on a rainy day”

North Yorkshire Moors Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 51.74*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
USD 57.19*
and up
North York Moors and Whitby Day Trip from York
More Info
USD 40.85*
and up
Full-Day North York Moors and Whitby in Winter from York
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The North Yorkshire Moors Railway is one of the world’s greatest heritage railway experiences with thrills and education at its heart. Climb on-board a steam or heritage diesel train on one of the earliest and most historic lines. Experience 24 miles of Yorkshire’s amazing scenery at this must-see visitor attraction. We will take you on a journey you can’t even imagine! Explore the Railway • Pickering Station is a must-see 1930’s themed station that will transport you back in time to the locomotive steam era. • A must-see is the celebrity station, Goathland, which became Hogsmeade Station in the first Harry Potter film. • Explore Grosmont Station which is home to the operating and engineering world of the NYMR. If you are lucky you might be able to catch a sneaky peak at the work taking place on our engines! • Visit Whitby with its narrow streets and bustling harbour overlooked by the striking ruins of Whitby Abbey. • Explore Levisham Station which is surrounded by the North York Moors.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 29 October 2017

The car park at Pickering is opposite side to the ticket office and tricky on crutches, so my husband dropped me by the station side and went to park the car. Access back to the station is by footbridge. The staff were very helpful getting me on and off the train which was quick tricky for me as it was wet underfoot. I managed to get on ok with a step, and got off using the ramp. Even though it was raining the journey was lovely to see the moors with several stops to Grosmont. I stayed on the train for the return journey to Pickering

1  Thank Jackiemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your review - we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your journey. We would always recommend that passengers with mobility issues are dropped off at the station if possible. The entrance to Pickering Station nearest the town doesn't have any steps. Passengers who can't manage the footbridge can go round the end of the line beyond the buffers but it's quite a long hop on crutches!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 3,265 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely trip to and from Grosmont on the steam train which was a lovely hour there and walk and drink in Grosmont before the hour back very comfortable well maintained. The shop and little tea room at Pickering station was lovely we had a lovely bit of cake and tea from the tea shop and my son brought some lovely little bits from the shop

1  Thank DanniA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

That's a great review - thank you very much. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I didn’t know what to expect when I booked this... however it was a really delightful experience for the adults and kids alike.
The train and station was all decked out in Halloween decorations Like pumpkins and cobwebs and such like.
The journey consisted of a series of little shows and stories in the carriage. They were funny, interactive and professionally done. It was Halloweeny and not scary, which was good as our little one would have cried if it had been scary. There were dancing and singing skeletons , a magician, a witch, a vampire. It was very age appropriate and the kids received a little Halloween gift bag at the end. It was a wonderful experience lasting over an hour and we all had lots of fun. Most kids and some adults dressed up- I wish I had dressed up! Well done NYMR!

Thank georgie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

That's a lovely review of our Halloween Train - thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

having visited the area many times, we always though about going on the train, with some friends coming with us we decided to book, well i am glad we did , we booked a return trip from Goathland to Pickering, it was a lovely nostalgic trip, we even paid extra for first class on the way back, it is worth the money

1  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip and hope you won't leave it so long next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Had a wonderful day today.Train ride a joy,Whitby lovely and the moors radiant. Would recommend the trip wholeheartedly.Four young children were kept happy for the whole journey.

1  Thank leonidouanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYMRPLC, Manager at North Yorkshire Moors Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your brilliant review. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a good time and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Yorkshire Moors Railway also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to North Yorkshire Moors Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing