We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Choice!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HelenandR...
Hedgerley, Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Cherry Tree Cottage for a week at the end of August. Pickering is a lovely town in itself and is the perfect location for exploring North Yorkshire, close enough to York, Whitby and some pretty villages and towns. The cottage is a short walk from the town. Parking in the drive is not for the nervous or spatially unaware, but was mastered easily enough with a bit of confidence. On road parking was easy enough to get as an alternative. The cottage is breathtaking on first view and furnished with everything that we needed for the week. We were a bit disappointed that the weather remained nice enough not to need the wood burner! It was the perfect choice for us and our dog (who was made welcome pretty much everywhere that we went) and we would definitely stay here again if returning "up north".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky nature of the cottage
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoghauler
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a cosy little cottage in Pickering. Comfy lounge with woodburner , although we didn't use it,no need because weather was good. Well equipped kitchen. Nice bathroom . Comfy bed once in it, especially if you sleep on the left. We did know this before we booked. There is off-road parking but anything bigger than a Honda Jazz, you will struggle to get in. Not much of a problem you can park in front go gates to unload and there was always plenty of free parking on the street. Plenty of places to eat in the Town. Can recommend both the Indian and the Chinese either side of you and the pub across the road does a tidy pint. Didn't try the food as they had recently taken over and we're not doing food. Turn right out the gate,20yrds, newsagent and then a Costcutter mini market, both good. Cross over road, go left,3-4 mins walk, little CoOp and a very good Chippy. Would stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jperkins8...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage, would recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My boyfriend and I have just got back from 3 nights at Cherry Tree Cottage in Pickering having booked through Sykes Cottages and it exceeded our expectations for the money we paid. The cottage was immaculate; very traditional, well equipped and cosy with a log burner, stacks of wood and brilliant central heating which was much needed!

It's located just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre so ideal for a stroll out in the evening to the local pubs and restaurants. The owner's instructions were great, there is a key safe to gain access to the cottage which was straightforward and off-the-road parking at the back for a small car. Lovely comfy bed and excellent shower. All in all a fantastic break and I'd definitely recommend this cottage to others looking to explore the North Yorkshire Moors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional feel, location and overall quirkiness
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, UK
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing