We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bigjack19...
doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

far better than the pictures show it is extremely spacious. it is very clean and comes with everything you would need for a great break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaGLan...
Lancaster
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty conversion but sadly not a comfortable stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I'll start with the positives then move on to the areas that, for us, let the property down but we think could very easily be rectified. The Hayloft is very spacious, clean, prettily furnished, and reasonably well equipped. The owners are friendly and were extremely quick and gracious in sorting a couple of items in the cottage. We appreciated the Prosecco left for us to see in the New Year and the generous starter pack of logs and kindling. The negatives were the small double bed, only 4 foot, which had not been explained in the cottage rental details. We were forever waking ourselves up because we were on the point of falling out of bed (and we're both slim!) A poor night's sleep was compounded by noisy central heating pipes that regularly knocked, tapped and creaked. Ironically the Hayloft's charming bedroom is large enough easily to accommodate a 6 foot bed, which surely would be a fabulous selling point for any property? The nice soft bath towels were also minimalist, the ends only just met when I wrapped myself in it and the essentials were just about covered! The sofa desperately needs to be resprung or reupholstered, it looked inviting but unfortunately was uncomfortable. I found the pillows to be hard but my husband was OK with them, and the owner swiftly found me a softer one (thank you Ian). The kitchen area would benefit from lighting, it is very dim and difficult to work in. Although there is room for one, there is no washing machine - the cottage info states that the nearest launderette is in Scarborough - which we felt was an oversight in a spot that is typically going to be booked by walkers, cyclists and dog owners. No clothes airer either, so we had to drape wet gear round the bathroom as best we could. The bathroom was massive and crying out for a beautiful walk-in shower instead of the rather underpowered electric shower over the corner bath. The bathroom suite was probably installed in the early 1980s, judging by the style and colour. My respectful suggestion would be that the owners (indeed any owners of a holiday cottage) live, sleep and cook in their cottage for a couple of days to understand better the positives and negatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty furnishings, the warmth of the property, secure parking
Liked least: The bed and noisy central heating pipes; the sofa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali_tabar...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great spot for exploring Yorkshire, cosy accommodation”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here with our 5-month old son, and had a lovely 10 days. The accommodation comprised one bedroom, an en-suite bathroom and a lounge/kitchen/diner. The bedroom was comfortably large enough for both of us and a travel cot, and the lounge was very spacious indeed. The kitchen was well-equipped and with all mod cons, and the bathroom did the job (though the shower could perhaps do with an upgrade). Overall, it was very comfortable - not 100% modern in certain respects, but by no means dated or worn.

The owners were lovely, and really helpful. The place itself had a very welcoming feel to it, not least because of the delicious cakes left for us on the first day! The village itself is really picturesque, and it is close to the busier but still pretty Pickering, and the glorious walking country of the North Yorks Moors. We were very lucky with the weather, so managed to get to the seaside a couple of times, and also fit in a few walks. We felt thoroughly relaxed and recharged at the end of our stay, and hopefully we will be back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibstock
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ramsgate
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing