We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Low Costa Mill Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited with an extended family group. We stayed in Heron View and other parts of our family had cottages on the same site which worked well. The best aspect of the complex are the facilities which should appeal to a wide range of ages interests. The grounds are beautifully kept. Everyone loved the swimming pool which was warm and just as shown in the photos. There is outdoor play equipment to suit a range of ages. My children are 9 and 6 years old and liked the wooden climbing fame, swings, scooters, the wooded area and the the open 'field' to run around in. As the complex is along a winding track It felt like a safe place to let children run about with a bit of freedom. There are also goats to watch and some friendly cats. Behind some of the cottages (gated off) there is a lovely pond which was nice and peaceful for a short gentle stroll. Heron view itself has a small (gated) garden with a stream that runs alongside. On site there is also a selection of games and children's books and lots of information about things to do in the area in the entrance foyer to the swimming pool. The cottage was well appointed with everything we needed. The owners seem to be keeping the cottages in good repair as our cottage had 'new' leather sofas (different to those on the web site). The complex is set in peaceful countryside, the beds were comfortable and the bedrooms all had blackout curtains which meant a good nights sleep! The owners were always on had to answer questions and help us.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank teajenny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Low Costa Mill Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

Very good and well equipped cottages. Children loved the pool, play area and the animals. Lots to do in the area. Owners very friendly and helpful. Fly fishing was fantastic - rainbow trout up to 1lb and brown trout up to 2lb, though a bit overgrown and weedy by mid-summer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G, Owner at Low Costa Mill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

So glad you all had a good time and enjoyed the cottages, pools and gardens. The beds of the river are maintained by the local fishing club and are a mix of open spots and natural reeds/weeds. I will feed back to the fishing club as I know they like to get the balance between challenging/natural and fish-able.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Had a brilliant family holiday, cottages are clean and well equipped. The site is very well maintained, has lots for kids to do and the pool is great. It is a lovely peaceful location but near lots of things to do for all ages. Would highly recommend and planning to return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kilncroftdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We have just returned from a lovely holiday and stay at low Costa mill cottages, this certainly is a piece of heaven, beautiful surroundings which are well maintained. We stayed in the harvester cottage which was lovely and definitely well situated, overlooking the park and right next to the pool. We had some difficulties with the kitchen tap but this was promptly dealt with by the owners and the very cheery plumber. The swimming pool is fab, clean and nice and warm, but due to not being lifeguarded (which we totally understand) an adult must always be present.
We wanted to add that the eggs we had were the best we have ever tasted yum!
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We have just spent a wonderful week here as a couple with our young son (3 and a half years old). Ideally placed for conveniences (shops, cash points, tourist attractions) whilst feeling like you're actually in the middle of nowhere. Wonderful wide open spaces with play equipment, tree house, giant outdoor games; a lovely woodland walk; and chickens roaming free, goats and horses to see, and a lovely babbling beck at the rear of the properties.

We stayed in Leat cottage which was spacious and comfortable. The beds were supportive and capacious. Most importantly for our son, there was ample floor space in the lounge for him to build expansive layouts with his wooden railway track! The kitchen was well equipped and all appliances worked well. We didn't have any problems with hot water as mentioned in other reviews - it was carefully explained to is roughly how much a tankful of water would "do", and how to get more hot water if we needed. And it was very hot!

We only had time to use the pool twice but found it clean and well presented each time. Our son is small for his age and tends to get cold quickly if pools aren't warm, but each time we were in the pool for around an hour and he didn't get at all cold.

Overall, we had an absolutely lovely, relaxing stay and our son loved it too. I'm sure we'll be back because there's so much to see and do around this area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BasilBrush2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
12.4 km away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
2.4 km away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
2.3 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
84 reviews
1.9 km away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
226 reviews
3.4 km away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Costa Mill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Costa Mill Cottages

Address: Low Costa Mill Costa Lane, Pickering YO18 8LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range: $161 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Costa Mill Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in ten acres of woodland & pasture, Low Costa Mill Holiday Cottages are set in a stunning, rural location,with the mill stream gently flowing along the boundary of the estate.Grouped around & adjacent to the Low Costa Mill farmhouse, a collection of seven cottages have been skillfully & sympathetically adapted from former farm & mill buildings. The cottages retain many original features, such as exposed beams & brickwork, these cottages make an ideal base for families, small groups & couples, or for anyone who appreciates the peace & tranquillity of the countryside. Dave and Tracy, the resident owners, occupy the farmhouse and are always on-hand for help and advice. We will provide any high chairs or cots required and will do our utmost to ensure your stay is enjoyable.With the feeling of being removed from a bustling modern lifestyle, the cottages are actually only 1.5 miles from the historic market town of Pickering and on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors.The cottages benefit from being set in 10 acres of gardens and woodlands. A large lawn provides an area for relaxing, playing games including giant snakes and ladders, hopscotch or draughts. A climbing frame, swings and garden toys should keep the children entertained allowing the adults to relax.No kids, or just need a break from your own? Then head past the stables and over Costa Beck to sit in the peace and quiet overlooking the tumbling beck.The on-site swimming pool is for the benefit of the cottage occupants only and provides many hours enjoyment for the kids. In fact combined with the climbing frame, garden games and woodland walk many of our guests spend the whole day without even thinking of leaving the site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Low Costa Mill Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing