We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beansheaf(Pickering)
USD 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 191
USD 172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Black Swan(Pickering)
USD 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lowther House(Pickering)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crossways Hotel(Pickering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
92
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodland walkswimming poolplay areathe cottagesfriendly catsheron cottagedalby forestflamingo landperfect family holidayseparate toddler poolsurrounding groundslaundry roomrun aroundprivate gardenexcellent weekendevery eveningboard games
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We have just spent a wonderful week here as a couple with our young son (3 and a half years old). Ideally placed for conveniences (shops, cash points, tourist attractions) whilst feeling like you're actually in the middle of nowhere. Wonderful wide open spaces with play equipment, tree house, giant outdoor games; a lovely woodland walk; and chickens roaming free, goats and horses to see, and a lovely babbling beck at the rear of the properties.

We stayed in Leat cottage which was spacious and comfortable. The beds were supportive and capacious. Most importantly for our son, there was ample floor space in the lounge for him to build expansive layouts with his wooden railway track! The kitchen was well equipped and all appliances worked well. We didn't have any problems with hot water as mentioned in other reviews - it was carefully explained to is roughly how much a tankful of water would "do", and how to get more hot water if we needed. And it was very hot!

We only had time to use the pool twice but found it clean and well presented each time. Our son is small for his age and tends to get cold quickly if pools aren't warm, but each time we were in the pool for around an hour and he didn't get at all cold.

Overall, we had an absolutely lovely, relaxing stay and our son loved it too. I'm sure we'll be back because there's so much to see and do around this area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BasilBrush2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Our third visit to these fantasic holiday cottages ..we stayed in heron cottage as there is 9 of us and once again a suberb family break ..The cottage is well equipped with everything you could possibly need ,immaculately clean and a great layout to take advantage of the view...This year a added bonus of a newly laid patio in the cottages private garden and a large table with enough seating for a all our party...My grandchildren love the pool and the outside space to enjoy family games ..Tracey and Dave are always on hand if needed and make you feel like returning family ...love it !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynda652015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We are a large extended family group who have had a family holiday every year for over 27 years. We book wherever we can be accomodated . This year 29 of us used 6 of the 7 cottages at Low Costa Mill for a week at May Hal term. The provision was excellent for all, with a lovely play area for the children, an indoor swimming pool, plenty of space to wander and quiet corners to sit. All the cottages were well equipped with free WiFi and there was a communal laundry room for those which didn't have a washing machine. The owners live on the site. They left us to our own devices but we're very responsive and helpful when we needed anything. It was a good find. We would love to use Costa Mill again, whether as a large group or individually and we certainly recommend it to others...and all this without even mentioning the surrounding area which is lovely. Sally Cook

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We are just back from a 4 night break at the lovely Low Costa Mill. We stayed in Leat cottage which had an excellent layout and all facilities you could need. We stayed with our two year old son and we were all made very welcome.

The setting is stunning and very peaceful. Our son was free to roam around and play with the large array of toys and equipment in the play area and the surrounding grounds. We did feel the equipment would have benefited from a power wash as some of it was quite dirty but this did not spoil our stay. The owners were friendly and available but not intrusive and the information and advice available in the pool area was absolutely excellent.

I have to say the pool really made our holiday. We spent every afternoon there and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The areas were all very clean and well looked after and there was even a separate toddler pool for my little boy to splash around in. We had the place to ourselves too which was a real,bonus.

We were able to visit Scarborough and Whitby and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays as a family we have had. We couldn't go without mentioning the very friendly cats who were lovely and added something special to our stay especially the black one who hopped into our car when we were off out one morning!

We couldn't recommend Low Costa Mill highly enough and definitely hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheRuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G, Owner at Low Costa Mill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

PowerWash? This is Yorkshire, a winters worth of rain should have seen them clean. Sadly we haven't had a winters worth of rain, ask the local farmers. Have added it to the jobs list, scheduled for this weekend.
The pool is great and a big hit with most of our guests, with just 7-cottages and a pool that is open some 15-hours a day it gives plenty of scope to have the pool to yourself.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again.
Regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Superb clean and charming cottage in a farm setting
Away from it all and with numerous animals to pet and feed. My daughters enjoyed the friendly cats.
Excellent swimming pool adjacent to our cottage (Harvesters)
Unlimited supply of firewood and farm fresh eggs.
Very helpful owners.
Superb lawn and play area for the kids, even had a magical kids walking trail and treehouse.
The exteriors of the house were so good, I will overlook all the small niggles with the interior.
The layout of the cottage was a bit weird, loo in the ground floor had no basin (was in the bedroom) and then came the kitchen and then the living and finally the dining in a splendid location overlooking the lawn and children's play area. The upper floor has two bedrooms and a bathroom with a tub but no hand shower. Kitchen was a bit small and could be better appointed.
Superb washing and drying facility in the adjacent common cottage.
As I said - all is forgotten because of the splendid overall feel of this property.
Two thumbs up and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this to anyone with a family.
Location nice for exploring the area - flamingo land is minutes away as our some other local attractions. Don't make the mistake of staying here for less than a week - there is so much to do and see.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Faheemagb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G, Owner at Low Costa Mill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Faheem,
Thank you for the detailed review, and I hope the family enjoyed the rest of the UK. The cottages are all unique and converted from old farm buildings, this sometimes creates challenges in terms of design but also creates some beautiful spots. Harvester's dining area overlooking the main lawn is very popular especially with families with younger children as they can roam free straight from the door. The kitchen could be bigger but does squeeze everything in including a dishwasher & microwave and has everything required by tourist board for 4*. We also provide slow cookers and such like on request. Glad you enjoyed on your stay.
Regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews