We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"lovely family holiday"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Low Costa Mill Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We have just returned from a lovely holiday and stay at low Costa mill cottages, this certainly is a piece of heaven, beautiful surroundings which are well maintained. We stayed in the harvester cottage which was lovely and definitely well situated, overlooking the park and right next to the pool. We had some difficulties with the kitchen tap but this was promptly dealt with by the owners and the very cheery plumber. The swimming pool is fab, clean and nice and warm, but due to not being lifeguarded (which we totally understand) an adult must always be present.
We wanted to add that the eggs we had were the best we have ever tasted yum!
Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SteveandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Low Costa Mill Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We have just spent a wonderful week here as a couple with our young son (3 and a half years old). Ideally placed for conveniences (shops, cash points, tourist attractions) whilst feeling like you're actually in the middle of nowhere. Wonderful wide open spaces with play equipment, tree house, giant outdoor games; a lovely woodland walk; and chickens roaming free, goats and horses to see, and a lovely babbling beck at the rear of the properties.

We stayed in Leat cottage which was spacious and comfortable. The beds were supportive and capacious. Most importantly for our son, there was ample floor space in the lounge for him to build expansive layouts with his wooden railway track! The kitchen was well equipped and all appliances worked well. We didn't have any problems with hot water as mentioned in other reviews - it was carefully explained to is roughly how much a tankful of water would "do", and how to get more hot water if we needed. And it was very hot!

We only had time to use the pool twice but found it clean and well presented each time. Our son is small for his age and tends to get cold quickly if pools aren't warm, but each time we were in the pool for around an hour and he didn't get at all cold.

Overall, we had an absolutely lovely, relaxing stay and our son loved it too. I'm sure we'll be back because there's so much to see and do around this area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BasilBrush2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Our third visit to these fantasic holiday cottages ..we stayed in heron cottage as there is 9 of us and once again a suberb family break ..The cottage is well equipped with everything you could possibly need ,immaculately clean and a great layout to take advantage of the view...This year a added bonus of a newly laid patio in the cottages private garden and a large table with enough seating for a all our party...My grandchildren love the pool and the outside space to enjoy family games ..Tracey and Dave are always on hand if needed and make you feel like returning family ...love it !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynda652015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We are a large extended family group who have had a family holiday every year for over 27 years. We book wherever we can be accomodated . This year 29 of us used 6 of the 7 cottages at Low Costa Mill for a week at May Hal term. The provision was excellent for all, with a lovely play area for the children, an indoor swimming pool, plenty of space to wander and quiet corners to sit. All the cottages were well equipped with free WiFi and there was a communal laundry room for those which didn't have a washing machine. The owners live on the site. They left us to our own devices but we're very responsive and helpful when we needed anything. It was a good find. We would love to use Costa Mill again, whether as a large group or individually and we certainly recommend it to others...and all this without even mentioning the surrounding area which is lovely. Sally Cook

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We are just back from a 4 night break at the lovely Low Costa Mill. We stayed in Leat cottage which had an excellent layout and all facilities you could need. We stayed with our two year old son and we were all made very welcome.

The setting is stunning and very peaceful. Our son was free to roam around and play with the large array of toys and equipment in the play area and the surrounding grounds. We did feel the equipment would have benefited from a power wash as some of it was quite dirty but this did not spoil our stay. The owners were friendly and available but not intrusive and the information and advice available in the pool area was absolutely excellent.

I have to say the pool really made our holiday. We spent every afternoon there and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The areas were all very clean and well looked after and there was even a separate toddler pool for my little boy to splash around in. We had the place to ourselves too which was a real,bonus.

We were able to visit Scarborough and Whitby and can honestly say it was one of the best holidays as a family we have had. We couldn't go without mentioning the very friendly cats who were lovely and added something special to our stay especially the black one who hopped into our car when we were off out one morning!

We couldn't recommend Low Costa Mill highly enough and definitely hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheRuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G, Owner at Low Costa Mill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

PowerWash? This is Yorkshire, a winters worth of rain should have seen them clean. Sadly we haven't had a winters worth of rain, ask the local farmers. Have added it to the jobs list, scheduled for this weekend.
The pool is great and a big hit with most of our guests, with just 7-cottages and a pool that is open some 15-hours a day it gives plenty of scope to have the pool to yourself.
Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again.
Regards
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
12.4 km away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
2.4 km away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
2.3 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
84 reviews
1.9 km away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
240 reviews
3.4 km away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Costa Mill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Costa Mill Cottages

Address: Low Costa Mill Costa Lane, Pickering YO18 8LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range: $162 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Costa Mill Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in ten acres of woodland & pasture, Low Costa Mill Holiday Cottages are set in a stunning, rural location,with the mill stream gently flowing along the boundary of the estate.Grouped around & adjacent to the Low Costa Mill farmhouse, a collection of seven cottages have been skillfully & sympathetically adapted from former farm & mill buildings. The cottages retain many original features, such as exposed beams & brickwork, these cottages make an ideal base for families, small groups & couples, or for anyone who appreciates the peace & tranquillity of the countryside. Dave and Tracy, the resident owners, occupy the farmhouse and are always on-hand for help and advice. We will provide any high chairs or cots required and will do our utmost to ensure your stay is enjoyable.With the feeling of being removed from a bustling modern lifestyle, the cottages are actually only 1.5 miles from the historic market town of Pickering and on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors.The cottages benefit from being set in 10 acres of gardens and woodlands. A large lawn provides an area for relaxing, playing games including giant snakes and ladders, hopscotch or draughts. A climbing frame, swings and garden toys should keep the children entertained allowing the adults to relax.No kids, or just need a break from your own? Then head past the stables and over Costa Beck to sit in the peace and quiet overlooking the tumbling beck.The on-site swimming pool is for the benefit of the cottage occupants only and provides many hours enjoyment for the kids. In fact combined with the climbing frame, garden games and woodland walk many of our guests spend the whole day without even thinking of leaving the site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Low Costa Mill Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing