We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
66
54
22
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
54
22
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poster bed badgers feeding dog friendly hotel other guests dog owners every evening choice at breakfast eggs benedict private beach caravan park peaceful location short walk brilliant location low tide friendly hosts fabulous views lovely breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

I will start at the beginning of this terrible story
We travelled from Bristol and the roads were very busy so we called the Hotel at 7.45 pm and asked them if we could still get something to eat when we were due to arrive at about 8.40 pm the chap said he would have to ask Vicky ( the owner) who shrieked the answer NO its too late . When we arrived a scruffy dirty looking man ( the other owner) looked at us and said YES !! we told him that we had a reservation he gave us our key ( room 6) and said its up there !
At the top of the stairs the Fire door was kept open via a brass hook and there was a fire extinguisher on the floor with instructions on how to use it next to it
The room (6) was a suite.I will start with the bad
Carpet stained ,White sofa dirty and stained , Cob webs all around the ceiling, Mirror fell of the wall when we touched it , The four poster bed moved so badly we thought it was going to collapse, Tv point hanging of the wall , Cob webs in the make shift wardrobe , A miss mash of odd furniture ,Lots of dust/hair debris around the skirting boards and I mean LOTS, Mould on the bathroom ceiling , mould around sinks and the bath and shower , Plastic cups in the bathroom cracked so they did not hold any liquid .
Noisy floor boards out side of the room
Good points . The bed was comfy and the view was great
Breakfast was downstairs and took over 40 minutes to be served even though there were only three other couples in . It was ok but not the best start to our day. One couple asked for devilled kidneys and was told that they could have them tomorrow if they wanted ?
There was a room of the bar / restaurant area and it was packed full of old rubbish and Stuff !!
Why did we stay here , a good question , We thought that they had taken full payment and it was late to go anywhere else so we just put up with it . Would we return Definitely NO . visit at your own peril

Room tip: Go somewhere else
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bristolian_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This is a place I stumbled upon years a go and keep coming back to - with daughter, with dog, on my own. It may need a little upgrade here and there but for me this is balanced out by the genuine atmosphere in which you can truly relax- you're not 'on show' here but everyone treats each other respectfully. One of my favourite bolt holes and secret beach near-by. Also the breakfasts!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We tried to book using an online hotel site but as we were a family of three and there were no family rooms available we were only offered 2 rooms. However, after a quick phone call to the hotel and a chat with the owner we were offered the suite with an extra bed for a great price!
We had been telling our six yr old about our previous stay here in 2008 when we were lucky enough to see the badgers which the owners feed every evening. At the time the trees in the woods hadn’t been removed and we were also lucky enough to wander through the hotel gardens down through the woods to the beach.
Sadly, in the last few years many trees have been removed due to disease so the walk is no longer possible from the garden. We still went to the beach, finding access to the path through the caravan park next door. The beach is well worth the walk and climb back up. It’s beautiful and pebbly, giving way to soft sand and plenty of space at low tide for a walk or run on the beach. It is possible at low tide to walk to Saundersfoot.
The hotel exterior looks tired and unloved but somehow with the location being woodland it somehow doesn’t matter.
The rooms are cosy and comfortable if dated. We stayed in the suite (room 6) which had a 4 poster bed. As stated in other reviews the posts are a bit wobbly! The settee was grubby and I’m sure the covers would wash but if dogs have been around it will deteriorate the furnishings. I couldn’t smell dogs at all. The bathroom was immaculate and plenty of nice towels.
The balcony would certainly be a bonus in nice weather with the advantage of sea views now that there are less trees.
We were lucky enough to see a fox and 4 badgers at dusk after left over toast was put out for them. Our daughter couldn’t believe it! With a ringside seat in the bar extension we enjoyed watching them eat for around an hour.
The breakfast is outstanding. The best choice I’ve seen at a hotel anywhere. Waffles with syrup, eggs benedict, really nice options you won’t find everywhere.
The owners are lovely people who really make you welcome.
We will return!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gobsmacked5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Very dog friendly but in need of refurbishment,paid extra for the suite because it has a veranda but it's a bit shabby,sofa needed replacing,was dirty,4 poster bed was wobbly when you touched the posts,skirting boards dusty.however lovely breakfast with lots of choice and friendly staff.but far out from anywhere although you can walk into misunderstood ok if you are fit.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank annereed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely 3 night stay here. Nothing really to complain about. Breakfast amazing, room ok, bar prices same as at home, Vicky & Roy very pleasant hosts with lots of local knowledge. Meeting other guests with dogs was a bonus (we don't have one, but love animals) We also met Jack, Roy & Vicky's white cat, who sat with us on the patio and enjoyed some fussing. Walked down to Saundersfoot every evening - took about 15-20 mins - taxi back (didn't fancy the steep climb!) Taxi was £3 so well worth it. Badger & fox watching was definitely the highlight of the weekend! Very homely feel, so if you want a place to stay with no personality it may not be for you, but we loved the quirkiness. As others have said, a little bit of tlc outside needed.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews