We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$180
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
BlondieD
Derbyshire, United Kingdom

A tale of two rooms

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 July 2023via mobile
Firstly - let’s start with the common areas before I get onto the rooms. All immaculate and well decorated - welcoming reception staff - plenty of parking and lovely bar / Dining area too.

Beautiful views on the drive up - we made the mistake of going up the single track to start with … soon realised there was a better route lol. It was a proper “this is Wales” view and it made me smile. Beautiful garden areas here too … can understand why it’s a wedding venue of choice for a lot of people.

Now - on to the rooms. During this stay, I booked a classic double room for my son and I for one night. My parents stayed in the superior double room - big difference in the rooms but minimal in terms of price. My advice is pay the extra. Not because the classic rooms are horrendous - they’re not. They’re clean and have everything you need but just a bit dated and in need of some upgrades. The superior was beautiful in comparison - larger room with a brand new en-suite and all the mod cons. Excellent value for money this room and would absolutely book again in an instant (and will for that matter).

Finally, breakfast was fantastic - the waitress did a wonderful job of keeping everything running smoothly. The full welsh breakfast is GF DF free apart from the black pudding so my mother was happy. A good selection ! Thoroughly enjoyed it and the view from the conservatory. One niggle - the walls could do with a paint in the breakfast area but it’s really me being picky !

All in all. Smiles all round and I will certainly return.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Upgrade if you can :) Superior is better
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
4.9 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
5.3 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Berry
Booking.com
    5.2 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Property building
    Booking.com
      6.5 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$207
      • Priceline
      6.7 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      Tripadvisor
      AU$180
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$180
      0.0 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Tripadvisor
      AU$230
      Fully refundable
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        AU$230
      10.6 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      PremierInn.com
      AU$78
      • Hotels.com
      • Algotels
      • Agoda.com
      12.1 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      Tripadvisor
      AU$256
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      12.1 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.5 km from Llechwen Hall Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Pontypridd
      Reviews (1,111)
      Filter reviews
      1,111 results
      Traveller rating
      579
      263
      134
      76
      59
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      579
      263
      134
      76
      59
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews coach house four poster lovely hotel the main hotel wedding venue afternoon tea lovely setting lounge area sandwiches lovely room sunday lunch superior room stunning views course meal wedding breakfast hidden gem comfy bed
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      33 - 38 of 1,111 reviews
      Reviewed 9 July 2023

      New part of the hotel is really good however if you venture into the older part of the building it is not so attractive. Mold in bathroom which could hae been quite essily removed . Old area also does have a damp/foul smell.overall I would stay in the new block but would certainly not stay in the old part.

      Date of stay: July 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank mark o
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 19 June 2023 via mobile

      Went for Sunday lunch for Fathers day. We were married here 7 years ago so it was lovely to come back. It's a beautiful setting and has been modernised since we got married.
      The Sunday lunch itself was delicious, we all had lamb which was fantastic however the service was so bad it kind of let the whole thing down really. We were a table of 4, the first to be seated at lunch and it took 40 minutes for our drinks to arrive and an hour for our food. Then over half an hour for deserts. The wrong meals were bought out initially and my husband was left waiting for his desert whilst the rest of us had ours. There was young staff everywhere but no one seemed to have a clue what they were doing and apparently only the manager could take the orders? Feel like it could have been so much better and could tell the other diners were frustrated too.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      1  Thank cooked31
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 15 June 2023

      Went to a wedding, up a country lane to get there but great views when you arrive. Lovely room and a great breakfast in the morning.
      Our friends son got married there in a lovely barn which one could only love for it`s decor.
      The food was lovely and well presented, nothing was too much trouble for the
      staff, lovely weekend had by all.

      Date of stay: May 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank MelvinNewportGwent
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 11 June 2023

      Quite disappointed with this hotel and actually left quite rueful. We were obviously aware that weddings are held here and it's big business for the hotel, but if you're not involved in said events, you almost feel 'shoehorned' in as an irrelevant guest.

      If you are just 'an ordinary couple' or family, I would not recommend staying here at all. The hotel is described as a country house hotel in a great hilltop location, but we couldn't really take advantage of that, it wasn't in any way relaxing and we'd have had the same break in a chain hotel in Cardiff.

      In a three day stay there, we were unfortunate to bump into two weddings. The hotel is basically taken over and you are severely limited as to what you can do. You can't enjoy the outside or the gardens because of the wedding marquee and associated games or equipment. We tried to sit in the lounge bar one evening, there's a sign instructing wedding guests to use their own bar, but it didn't matter, they repeatedly traipsed into the quiet lounge.

      On the last night, a very warm one, we couldn't even have the bedroom windows open because of the raucous noise coming from the marquee.

      I think somehow, when there are weddings on, they shouldn't take bookings for other 'normal' guests as there is nowhere you can go in the hotel or nothing to enjoy - there is little point being here.

      I will give a couple of positive mentions towards some of the members of staff and also the breakfasts here are very satisfying, gorgeous sausages and amazing scrambled eggs!

      Overall, if you do happen to be getting married then by all means go for it, but if you're just a regular traveller\tourist, look elsewhere.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Marie C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 May 2023

      I settled in for a lovely eight-night stay at this comfortable and relaxing small hotel / restaurant / events facility in south Wales. Large room and very good on-site food service (breakfast, lunch, dinner) in a bucolic hilltop setting in the south valleys. Lots of sheep in the surrounding fields, and I loved seeing and hearing them! The hotel got crowded and a bit noisier on the weekend nights when a large wedding event took place, but that's expected for an events venue like this. A couple of minor cleanliness issues in the room, but nothing of real concern. Staff was generally on-the-ball and supportive. Incredible setting and a very good overall experience. Recommended for a good south Wales experience. Will be back next year. -Pawlie.

      Date of stay: May 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Pawlie B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews