We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for exploring Scotland”
other travellers have booked this property
Very comfortable beds can make two singles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Very comfortable beds can make two singles
Large lounge seats 12 Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Very comfortable beds can make two singles
Large lounge seats 12
Bedroom
Bath and Shower room fully tiled
Extendible dinning table
Antique Berger suit
TV/DVD in bedroom
Well equipped kitchen large ceramic hob
wall mounted TV/DVD
Real coal fire
Hogmanay Celebrations at Stirling Castle
Shower WC Laundry Room
Comfortable Lounge 50' TV with sound bar
Very well equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom sleeps 4 comfortable
TVs in all the bedrooms
Famous Gillies Hill on your front door
looking out the lounge windows
Stirling from the Ochil Hills
Four spacious double bedrooms, all with TVs
Wallace Monument 2014
Within sight but not range of Stirling Castle
Property in ownership of our family since1929
All bedrooms have televisions
beds can be singles or superking size
The Village Pub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jetboy197...
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, ignore the 5 star reviews. This is 2-3 star”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived a day later than planned to be met with paint fumes and contractors still plumbing in toilet. The apartment is not clean, there were 2 out of 7 bulbs working in bathroom, leaking taps, out of date foods in kitchen cupboards, all the beds are single beds tied together to make a double. TV in lounge doesn't work, one bedrooms curtains were so thin that the street light outside was illuminating the room all night. The apartment is old which we liked, however it is in desperate need of renovation. The floors and doors creak so bad that you wake everybody up on your travels! There is no where in cambusbaron to eat out. You really need a car to get into Stirling (approx 8min drive to centre). That said parking is all on street and very limited. Our party was 4 adults & 1 child. Yes it is very spacious, but to say it sleeps 10 is a stretch. Beds are crammed into rooms but the sitting area only seats 6. We took several pictures of all the issues but the Landlord will not respond. This is not worth half the nightly rate and I'm puzzled as to why people are raving about it. The Scottish tourism board has rated it 3 star. Maybe 5 years ago. I rate it 2-3. Please use caution.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property
Liked least: The general condition, cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Cup half empty
I totally agree that you should be cautious when booking any holiday and always contact the owner directly.Any questions of a property’s suitability can be then answered and possible valuable holiday advice and local knowledge gleaned. Mobile phones are not always the best place to decide upon or book from your holiday.
My advice to this party of two couple’s one child and two sets of golf clubs would have been that two cars were more important than four bedrooms.

Surprisingly this reviewer does not seem to have any faith in the other Trip Adviser reviews

I received this as part of an e-mail nine days after arrival (not from the reviewer )

“I thought we had agreed on thousand pounds but you said twelve hundred when we arrived.

In short Bob, We feel we're paying 5 star prices for a 3 star accommodation.”

This was a 15 day booking still in high season and spanning three bookable weeks.
The property is quality assured annually (2nd February 2015) was given a 3/4 star overall rating and 4 star for cleanliness.

Maybe the “cup half empty” would have been “half full” if I had accepted the price this party “thought” they had booked it for?


In part I reply-
“Below is the our booking correspondence from February 1st 2015, Its difficult to imagine getting four bed roomed self catering accommodation anywhere for less than 80 pounds per night. The trip advisor recommendations are from this summer, unsolicited and from holiday makers like yourself.
We do make a big effort to describe the property accurately and deliver on that representation,(in your case) taking no deposit and no payment until you have seen the property.
It does seem late to be learning of your concerns (9 days after arrival) however if you wish to enjoy the rest of your holiday elsewhere I will be happy only to receive payment pro rata for the time you have stayed.”

“Can I please recommend you have the place thoroughly cleaned, lights fixed and leaking taps repaired before future rentals as I assure you trip advisor reviews will suffer.”

I am at the property most days and any small problem can be dealt with fast.
Tightening or changing light bulbs, pressing the reset on a TV source box.
This is a generously proportioned property, clean, comfortable, and valued by nearly all that have stayed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip S
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for exploring Scotland”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our group of 8 (4 kids and 4 adults) stayed at the Foresters Apartment for our 5 day exploration of Scotland. There was plenty of space for the children and extras like washer/dryer to make our stay comfortable.

We were able to easily tour Scotland (Stirling, Edinburgh, St. Andrews, Highlands) from this location and would highly recommend for anyone looking for an affordable and spacious home base central Scotland.

We also greatly enjoyed the pub below the apartment and the staff and regulars were extremely welcoming and friendly to our group and kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethanyKa...
Harrogate, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, affordable place to stay!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great, centrally located, safe, affordable place to stay. True to the photos, comfortable and clean. We had a party of seven and still had an extra bedroom. Friendly owner and easy check in, was even able to accommodate an early check in. The owner has a nice little pub on lower floor of apartment, no food there, but we were met by a group of friendly people who made us feel at home. There's a nice little convenient store across from it, along with a great butcher shop down the street who makes award winning meat pies that are a must try. It has a feel of community, everyone we met was friendly and helpful, much better than staying in a chain hotel in the city. Within 2 miles of Stirling and an easy drive to many interesting sights in Scotland. We could have actually made a week of sightseeing just in the Stirling area. Highly recommend this rental property and would definitely stay there again if possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
273sco
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Good location within walking distance of Stirling ( about 30 mins). Large spacious well equipped apartment with a friendly landlord.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlion29
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fantastic accomodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Rented this flat for a family get together and have to admit I wasn't intending on staying there myself so paid little attention to the details of the property apart from the price and the no. of rooms but my relatives raved about it and invited me back one night after a big family meal in town so I could enjoy a few beers with them and not have to drive back to Fife.
Fantastic comfortable flat and ideal for largish groups. We will probably repeat the experience in another year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 bathrooms, the local pub and the dinning room
Liked least: no private parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing