We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very little left of original castle”
Review of Stirling Castle

Stirling Castle
Ranked #6 of 74 things to do in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate of nations. Home to generations of Scottish monarchs including, Mary Queen of Scots, the Castle is an enduring and powerful reminder of our fascinating history.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Stirling Castle on 4th April 2018.

Our first issue with the place was that after driving stop/start up a cobbled hill, when we eventually reached the car park, we were told they don’t accept any card payments for parking, and that we would have to drive back into town and then queue again for an hour.

Well after ringing Scottish tourism information, they told us that we could park for free just round the corner in the old jail, as long as we were out by 5pm. Kudos to them for helping us out.

Me and my girlfriend visit a lot of old castles, palaces and stately homes. The day before we had visited Scone Palace. It’s the attraction of seeing an old structure frozen in time, and being able to see real history...

What they have done with Stirling castle is a real shame. The rooms are bare, with little or no furniture or paintings in them. And the walls, floors and ceilings are terrible.

Instead of renovating or restoring the walls with the original artwork and decor, they appear to have sanded down the walls, and just painted patterns on the wall. It looks more like a children’s attraction than a historic castle.

Overall it’s thoroughly disappointing, and I would recommend instead that people visit one of the many other castles in the area.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByHistoricScotland, Marketing Executive at Stirling Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi Alex E

We're sorry you didn't have the best experience when you visited the castle. When arriving at the car park there is the option to pay with credit card at the Clan & Craft shop along with ticket for the castle, our apologies that this wasn't made clearer.

I'm also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the castle. The Royal Palace was refurbished in 2011 and the designs and furnishings in the apartments have been recreated using original inventories and traditional techniques that reflect what it would have looked like when it was used by the 16th century royal court.

It does throw some people who are used to seeing centuries old, faded designs as it is so vibrant and unique. The castle was used by the military until the mid-60's and both the interior and exterior changed dramatically over this time.

I do hope you had the opportunity to go on one of our guided tours or experience our audio guide when you were at castle, as our visitors greatly enjoy this aspect of their visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 410 reviews
"unicorn cafe"
in 91 reviews
"stirling heads"
in 119 reviews
"unicorn tapestries"
in 64 reviews
"royal palace"
in 77 reviews
"free tour"
in 126 reviews
"period costume"
in 76 reviews
"regimental museum"
in 126 reviews
"scottish history"
in 323 reviews
"mary queen of scots"
in 98 reviews
"argyll and sutherland highlanders"
in 76 reviews
"explorer pass"
in 115 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 96 reviews
"car park"
in 228 reviews
"surrounding countryside"
in 77 reviews
"great history"
in 72 reviews
"lots of history"
in 78 reviews

764 - 768 of 8,005 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Always a fantastic place to visit . Ive been here many a time and there always seems to be something new to see. Weather was fantastic too which always makes it better too.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Visiting the castle was a great experience which catered for all ages! It was very interesting to learn about the various areas of the castle and it's influences, as well as understanding the historical context behind this.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank EmiliaCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic castle with lovely views. Beautiful rooms with lots to do for little ones and a lovely cafe called the unicorn cafe that my little girls loved.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LauraDouglas1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Originally born in Stirling and now living in England I have not visited the Castle for many years. I have many happy memories of the Castle and I am impressed at how much work has been done regarding restoring the buildings and the Royal Apartments. It was indeed a pleasure.

Do not forget to visit the Regimental Museum of the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders which survive on donations as they receive no monies from the entrance fees - it again is worth spending an hour or so in.

Some of my ancestors were born in the Castle when it was a Garrison and my maternal grandfather and father also served there, All in all a wonderful day with superb views for those photography buffs and the internal photography is wonderful.

Get there early to enjoy what is a marvellous day out for families. Wear sensible flat shoes due to the cobbles and steps.


Date of experience: March 2018
Thank glowinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stirling Castle also viewed


Been to Stirling Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing