We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1005 honest review.. Would use again if price was right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“1005 honest review.. Would use again if price was right”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked a 'special offer deal' through a travel website that offered a 4 star hotel and parking. The hotel name was not revealed until you booked and paid for the deal. As the hotel was less than 4 miles away with shuttle every 15 mins, we felt this was a very good deal We booked hotel and paking for 10 days on 11th February for 2 adults and a child at a cost of £69.. We paid £15 reurn for the shuttle - so £84 in all.
We arrived just in time as the Reception was empty and we checked in straight away. As there was a charge for WIFI, guests can use the computer and printer in reception. Within 30 minutes of us checking in, I went to Reception to use the Computer and the whole Reception area was packed. Yes this was the first day of half term - so expect Reception to be very busy during peak periods !! Room was a decent size with a double bed and sofa bed, which was fine for 13 year old son. Room and Bathroom were clean and warm. As the weather was awful - sleet and ice, we chose to eat in the hotel. It is recommended to book a table. We had a drink in the bar first which was extremely noisy due to the number of kids running around - which was disappointing.. But thenI blame the parents (!). You can eat in the bar which we were originally going to do, as the menu was cheaper - until we saw the amount of kids there (!). The restaurant was nice - kids under 14 ate for free - but the food choice was more for toddlers or young children.. Fish fingers, chicken nuggets, pizza, chips etc... So disappointing - why do hotels/restaurants not offer the adult menu at a discounted price ??!! Not all kids want to eat junk food ! We chose the set menu at £20 per person for 3 course meal and the food was good, although not a huge choice. More options on the main menu but not excessive and quite expensive. Driinks were exceptionally expensive.
Shuttle sevice to the airport was efficient on both journeys - although agan we were lucky with the times we were using the bus as I can imagine reception being very busy at certain times.. That said, the buses do run every 15 mins so there should be a quick turnaround.. On our return, we handed our card in at Reception and car keys were handed to us - very quick and easy.. Would certainly use this hotel again if we got a similar deal to this one..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cortez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    772
    430
    114
    81
See reviews for
387
861
129
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here the night before a flight. Less than a mile from LGW and there is a shuttle running between the airport and the hotel for a reasonable price. Fantastic scrambled eggs on the breakfast buffet, and if you eat lots of breakfast buffets you know that doesn't happen too often! Room good size with comfortable bed. Check-in and check-out very efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Twoexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were all really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found us to be good value also. I will be sure to let the breakfas chef know that you enjoyed her scrambled eggs too!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Luke Sturman
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Gatwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A couple of miles from the airport. Parking OK at £10 for 24 hours. Well set up for late night arrivals with quick and pleasant service and good ( if pricey) late night room service. Room a bit tired but much better than most London airport hotels and very comfy. Got a great deal of £56 a night via one if the discount booking sites - ie cheaper than the Travel Lodge

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Gatwick. We were all pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be of great value, and also enjoyed the comfort and service you enjoyed whilst here.

We are continually carrying out our maintenence programmes to ensure our rooms do not look tired but we will take on board your comments and review them once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Luke Sturman
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Gatwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalikavak, Turkey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Holiday Inn is typical of hotels that are positioned near airports and basically just a rip off.
Though I had booked through an agency the hotel didn't recognise my order for a standard room with breakfast and I had to pay an extra £10.95 for the breakfast. Now at £80 for one person to overnight I expect something nearer Hilton standard than Travel Lodge standard.At reception I noticed that as they were heavily booked they were now selling double rooms at £220 for travellers that hadn't prebooked !
The bathroom with shower curtain in the bath,half pressure shower,basic toiletries,worn carpets in corridor and rooms,the chipped paintwork, reminded me of British hotels in the 70's,you only needed Sisters Sledge playing through the sound system to make it complete.
To use the wifi an extra £5 an hour ....another rip off and £3 for the five minute bus ride to the airport. The restaurant prices were even more expensive than Stockholm airport where I was the day previously !!
The positives ......great attentive and friendly staff at reception, bar and restaurant.
Would I stay there again ?...................................NOPE !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benmogsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed one night before our flight out to US. On arrival there were bus loads of people trying to check in and only two women doing so. I asked if there was a local map so I could find out where Car Rental Return was as there were no signs up for it and there was no help at all. Elevators were crowded and too small for the volume of people needing them. Our room was cold as the heating had broken and it was the coldest night in the UK we had experienced in a long time. The hotel engineer came with a small fan heater, felt the heating fan up at the ceiling and said we should wait and it would come on. It did not and we had to find another room. The rooms I have to say were clean but the bathroom freezing as there wasn't a hint of heat in there, no heater rail, nothing. Very basic but again clean. Parking was a nightmare with so many people parked in small spaces at 10 English pounds a night requiring a key card to open and close the parking lot spaces. Buses trapped people outside the hotel who were trying to drive out with inconsiderate people also blocking the road out of the place by parking their cars and leaving them unattended while they went inside the hotel. We felt trapped once we had parked there and couldn't leave easily. The dining room was like being in a dungeon although the food was good quality but expensive trading on their ability to keep people there as there was no where else to go. The room rate was not bad, room was clean and after all the children in the corridors stopped running up and down for the night we finally had some good sleep. This hotel obviously serves many people travelling first thing in the morning and is extremely busy because of it. If you want peace and quiet there are other places in the area to go to.

Room Tip: If you don't like lots of children and want peace and quiet pay more for another place close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolfrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Firstly thank you for your frank and detailed feedback of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport. I have to say that we were all very disappointed that, your stay here was anything but a first class experience. Our team work incredibly hard to ensure that our first class reputation experienced by many of our guests, as is clearly evident from Trip Advisor, is maintained at all times. I whole heartedly apologise if you feel we have not delivered on this, this time.

You mentioned in your review that you experienced issues with the demand on our elevators, you will be pleased to hear that we have invested in three new lifts at the hotel. The downside of this is that for the last few months whilst they have been installed we have been down to two lifts working at a time. Whilst this is adequate at most times there are occasions where the third lift would be very helpful. Most of our guests have been very understanding regarding this, however I am of coarse sorry if you were inconvenienced. You will also be pleased to hear I am sure that the last lift is well on its way to being completed.

You also mentioned that we had a number of children at the property, who disturbed you. As an airport hotel, and a very family friendly one at that. I am sure you will appreciate that we have an influx of children, particularly around school holidays. We do all we can to accommodate our younger guests in the best way we can whilst maintaining our standards for our other guests. With the best will in the world however it is sometimes difficult to curb the excitement of the children when they are heading off on an adventure abroad. I am however sympathetic to your disturbance and would like to once again apologise for it.
We were also concerned to hear that you had an issue with your in room air conditioning system. Unfortunately despite all of the preventative work our maintenance team do we still occasionally experience breakdowns, I am sorry that you experienced this, and that our duty engineer was unable to rectify the fault for you, and felt the need to move your room.

We were also a little surprised and sorry to hear that you did not like the aesthetics of our restaurant as the general feedback we receive is good. We have a good reputation both amongst our guests and in the local are, where there are many quality restaurants.

Similarly you mentioned that the hotel is a busy one, due to our proximity to a major international airport we do experience peaks in demand when flights are arriving and departing, and despite always staffing to cope with this there may on occasions be short periods where the lobby area can become a little busy. We continue to review and improve this situation every day.

I was however very pleased that you found our rooms to be of a good standard and enjoyed your meal in our restaurant, and a good nights sleep.

We would love to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Gatwick, so that we can have the opportunity to change your opinion of us.

If you would like to take this opportunity, or I can be of any assistance to you please contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Luke Sturman
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.8 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.9 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.8 km away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.7 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price range (per night): $108 - $214
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, IHG, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing