We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Westmore, Northeast Kingdom, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

bdonaghey
Yarmouth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“At the mercy of the loudest group”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a cabin for 3 nights. This was a return trip for me after 30+ years. The cabins are rustic as I remembered. There is no comfortable seating in the cabin. The common space in our cabin had 2 single beds, one a thin foam pad on a platform and the other a loud squeaky mattress with springs very apparent. beds in bedrooms were 2 twins - not great for adult sized couples. The first night was peaceful and beautiful. Then the group of families showed up and we were all at their mercy. No more peace, no more hearing the loons. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat, I can't recommend this unless maybe you are off season and mid week. It is a beautiful location. Mount Pisgah is a wonderful hike.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of privacy & proximity of others
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Mr Mrs Donaghey, I am so sorry your stay was not as peaceful, as comfortable as you expected. It is true that families with young children bring a different dynamic to the place. I will consider your comments on beds and sitting area. I sure hope you will still keep good memories of Lake Willoughby. Sorry again. Renee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting
Liked least: Temperature control on shower was a little touchy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Schuyler...
Ansonia, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is an amazing getaway.”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First off let me say that the owner Renne does a more then spectacular job of making your stay everything you hoped it would be, plus more. The Cottage is well-kept and clean. Its fully equipped with everything you need including a fireplace, 2 beds, shower, dishes, utensils, stove, coffee maker, sink, futon, kitchen table, front patio, and many more little features. The view of the lake is amazing and you honestly could not be any closer to the water without stepping foot in it. Renne offers free firewood (which is awesome). The fireplace inside the cottages are huge and more then beautiful. Renne also has boats which are free to use on the lake (another cool feature). Overall our stay at Mountain Lake Cottages was better then we expected and we plan on returning again. Thanks again Renne!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindness of the owner.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June E
Newark, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome lake willoughby getaway”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two days at these quiet rustic cabins on beautiful Lake Willoughby. It has all the comforts of home and a great place to disconnect fromthedaily grind. We watched the fall colors unfold fromthe morning mist of the lake to an amazing Galaxy of stars from our porch at night! Renee is the ultimate host and made sure or stay was perfect from the time I made my reservation. She even brought hot homemade muffins to our door on Sunday morning!
We had cabin #8 and a perfect view of the lake! You won't be disappointed at this property. I can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease and hospitality of the owner Renee. And the location
Liked least: No tv but you can bring an iPad for movies if you must have something. Wifi worked great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue22222
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly peaceful and relaxing!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever taken. The owner, Renee, was very responsive to any request and even provided fresh muffins and bread on our first morning there. The sunsets on the lake are beautiful and can be watched from the comfy rocking chairs on our front porch, out on the water in our kayaks, or from the Adirondack chairs by the dock. There is a lot of camaraderie with the other vacationers and a wonderful bonfire for everyone to come together on Friday evening. We have been coming here for many years and plan to continue for many more!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.